Chaos Attraction

Dirty Things With Chairs

2022-10-24, 9:21 p.m.

I have a new manager today! So therefore we have scheduled a THREE MANAGER meeting again for Wednesday morning! Gotta get that started right away!

After work, I went over to Ashley's for almost an hour to hang out with her before dinner. She's waiting around to go back into the hospital (Stanford) for heart surgery that she's been needing to get for a few years now. She's not thrilled she can't go anywhere/to karaoke/to the Halloween dance, etc. and it'll be a pretty dull fall, but on the other hand, got excited at the idea of making crocheted square pants. So I'm happy for her on that level. I love that she makes up her own stuff so early in her yarn career--it took me awhile to start making shit from scratch, albeit I did start to get weird about it from very early on.

STILL working on the skirt--I thought I'd finish it there, but maybe tomorrow.


Rehearsal: JUST the tappers, doing the tap section of "Abundance and Charity." It went great. It's pretty easy, Danny choreographed it very well. I broke in the new high heeled tap shoes, which went pretty well, albeit they feel a little tight in the toes on the right foot...I dunno, is that foot somehow bigger? Oh well. I didn't come out limping or with blisters so I call it a win. I don't think I like tapping in heels so much (wobbly), but what can you do. I'm really enjoying it, yay (which helps after another shitty workday).

Quotes (I didn't get much time to do this but I tried!)

Danny: "I think this is going to look cute AF."

Me to Omar (dancing in the middle while everyone does train chugging): "You're the caboose." Omar: "I'm the caboose!"

Morgan made a comment about knowing how to flirt with the audience in Evita as the Mistress. She also mentioned that Hugo got recruited to audition for Spelling Bee as either Mitch or Chip (he of the "unfortunate erection."), so he may not be in Cabaret this go-round.

Steve: "If baseball players screw up 75% of the time, they get millions."

Noel: "When we did Sound of Music, we had a nun puppet." Steve: "A PUNCHING NUN PUPPET."

Steve: "I smell everything."

Danny (on getting Boris playing again): "We're going to throw Boris under the bus."

Noel called us "traveling hos" when we were hopping to "ho ho ho ho."

Dannette, after some people suggested confetti cannons: "We did Footloose in YPT and we had confetti cannons. I AM STILL FINDING THEM IN THE LIGHTS. Still to this day and it's been 12 years." Morgan said she found Babette feathers for years.

There was also a lot of conversation about the Cabaret show of 1999, which Steve directed and Noel was in. "I did dirty things with chairs."

Apparently whoever played Sally Bowles was very good, but also very mentally... out there. * She overdosed herself on antibiotics on New Year's Eve when they do the NYE show and called to say she couldn't come at 6:30 when the show's at 8. Steve said, "Are you in the hospital? Can you stand up? THEN GET DOWN HERE." She did the show. * She got the bright idea to gift Steve with a Nazi flag prop and have the cast sign it. It had to be pointed out to her by Noel (who did not get on with her) that (a) you don't gift props, (b) YOU DON'T GIVE A JEW A NAZI FLAG. She had to go around telling people not to sign it. * Her husband played Herr Schultz and when he was told to not be enthusiastic about gay men dancing, Steve made a certain index-fingers-together hand gesture during this. The guy did it and "We had to stop the rehearsal because I couldn't stop laughing." When someone wondered if he'd come back for this one, Noel said he was dead and Sally's moved away.

After this, I went home and my mom was all "use Duck Duck Go to look at your cousin's Linked In," and she basically thinks my cousin is fudging their resume or something? (Hence why I'm not saying who it was.) Looking it over, I doubt they're fudging anything--they have had a lot of jobs, at least some of which I could certainly identify/remember that they did over the years. I presume people who write on Linked In try to make themselves sound impressive. They did write it very impressively, I certainly felt like a loser reading it, also realizing that I absolutely don't give a shit about my career. However, this relative has...a history of making up shit periodically. Mom was all "sixteen years of experience in X?" and I was all "they started young?" But yeah...I guess I'm not sure where I'd see sixteen years of that specifically. I asked what she thought was being lied about and got no answer (of course).

This, like Jackie being annoyed at my mom for not gifting her for her birthday (she pouted when she didn't get gifs, then told me today she got a card but no gifts, Mom told her she's working on it), is all territory that I do not want to be involved in whatsoever.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com