Chaos Attraction

Neighbors

2018-10-28, 7:51 p.m.

I didn't do much the rest of the weekend. I had Mom come up here to see my gallery show--she didn't want to come over here because she wanted to be with her boyfriend but I made her. I'm not super proud of that, but come on, I'm your one kid, you can come over here to see it before it closes. She seemed to enjoy it and she definitely liked talking to another volunteer I know who's a fan of my work that we ran into. So there's that.

I mostly attempted to go costume shopping on Saturday since I'm not entirely sure if I want to wear the Aggretsuko costume I've been working on. I'm not going to have the vest done in time (I give up) but I more or less have the rest of the outfit, it's just not that exciting except for the reversible hat. Except thanks to my tiny closet space, I can't find where most of my costumes have gotten to. Where the hell is my wig collection, for example? So I don't really have anything else except old costumes the office has seen, or Renaissance Faire, or Dickens Faire. Sigh. Anyway, I went to the thrift stores and Spirit Halloween and while I did get an awesome butterfly shawl for my own amusement, I didn't really find anything I wanted. Sigh.

I was exhausted all of Saturday (probably after being up all night long Wednesday) and instead of going to a karaoke contest in costume, I ended up going to bed at 8:30, which is fucking sad. And then I woke up at 2 a.m. and couldn't get back to sleep until around 4:30. This is doable on a weekend when I didn't have to leave the house until around noon, but still kinda sucks.

I was going to go to a hippie open house I haven't been to in a few years and then ended up bailing because Meg was in town today (and only today), so I went to see her and tell her all the work dramz and attempt to do divination on this sort of thing. She ended up telling me some stuff about her neighbors:

(a) The ones with the tenants who hate her birds took their house off the market (and even if they sell it, there may be legal stuff going on that means the tenants still won't leave?!), but she's not feeling bothered by them these days.

(b) She told me about her neighbor on the other side who nitpicked the shit out of her and her kids about noise for years on end growing up, to the point where the kids thought it was funny. Meg could do nothing right with this woman and at some point finally said that she could complain about like 20 things at this woman's house, but she didn't because she wanted to be a good neighbor. The neighbor stopped talking to her for three years after that, and then Meg moved up here to take care of her in-laws. The neighbor has now started talking to her (presumably nicely) since she returned.

I made a comment about how if she can't tolerate noise then maybe she should live out in the country. Apparently the lady went out to the country and...guess what, found it TOO NOISY because of all of the wildlife. Guess you can't go out and complain to the frogs and crickets, eh?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com