Chaos Attraction

Scaryoke

2021-10-30, 7:41 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Mom's Ridiculous Shoe Issue - 2021-11-04
Melinda's Advice - 2021-11-03
Crafting Shopping Trip - 2021-11-02
Rum Fights - 2021-11-01
Zombie Skydiving - 2021-10-31

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Today: went to the big Sacramento Goodwill with all the costumes--didn't buy anything but I had fun trying things on. Then I went to Barnes and Noble with a 10% off coupon and bought 3 books and a Baby Yoda calendar, taking my bill from $71 to $55 or so, ta-dah.

I bought "What Would Frida Do?" because I am a Frida fangirl, and then these two books. I clearly was going shopping for books today for something to help me figure out the Scott situation. Namely: "Make Your Move," on women making moves on men, and "You Only Fall in Love Three Times: The Secret Search for Our Twin Flame." Because I wanted a book on "how do I deal with a complicated (yet magical) relationship of sorts?"

I heard from tons of people, especially between 9:50-10:30: * Jess, wishing me happy Sawhain. * Loretta, happy to see me again Tuesday and says she's out doing more these days * Rae and her mom, on the way to Disneyland * Jackie, not having a good day as usual * Sarah, asking if I want to do karaoke at Miss Darla's on Fridays sometimes when she's coming back from dropping off her kids for joint custody. I told her what went on last night and she said I should research dating an autistic person and that direct communication works best. Then she said she has realized that I'm always the one initiating here and not her (I said sometimes she does!) and it's taken her a lot to realize that "to relate with you, you prefer someone else initiate plan making so you feel valued and wanted. It's like your love language, you gotta feel seen and heard, and people have to choose you 100% for you to believe you like them." Awwwwwwwwww.

Tonight I went to Scaryoke at DMTC. Ashley and Jim never showed up, as they went to UOB and sent a pic (I was told later Ashley had a heart incident while at work so they decided to do only one thing tonight). Maybe 20ish people were there, a lot of people from Mary Poppins. The karaoke setup there was one of those CD karaoke machines and two mikes, the latter of which did not seem so loud and both karaoke DJ's I talked to later would have found this painful to watch. There was a catalog to go through, which had a lot of musical songs, and desserts/drinks. On the one hand, the setup was rudimentary. On the other hand, people would happily hop in and start dancing backup with you on songs (when I did "Waterloo" specifically) and that was a joy and something all karaoke shows should have, really.

Notable things: (a) Someone else also dressed up as a rainbow butterfly--had the GIANT set of wings--and while I was all "Cool!" about it, I fear she was not. Bummer. (b) Two of the Mary Poppins ladies dressed up as the Haines sisters from "White Christmas" and did the "Sisters" song from the movie, which cracked me up no end once I realized that was what they were. (c) Several people were dressed up from The Walking Dead, and there was a set of cows. (d) The Time Warp was done, and then posted on the Internet--oddly enough I heard about this from Rance a few hours later!

I went over to UOB after Scaryoke started winding down (around 10:45) and by the time I got there, Jim and Ashley were leaving, though she aske me to come over and hand out candy tomorrow. Much to my own surprise, I decided to hang out there alone and it was totally fine! My weirdo magnet must have been off, or there were no creeps in the bar, I dunno, but I was left alone except for the occasional enthusiasm from other patrons going on. I did spot Buzz (a guy I met at karaoke earlier). Well, specifically I saw a guy dressed as Austin Powers who liked what I was singing, but then he took off his costume and I was all OHHHH THAT'S WHY HE LOOKED FAMILIAR.

I sang songs from Hamilton--Satisfied, Helpless, and the Schuyler Sisters. I rocked them. ESPECIALLY Satisfied, which I belted like heck. I did the last song of the night and did "Uptown Funk" and people were very happy to bounce along to tha tone.

Also, you know what dressup in this town is like? People either wearing cow costumes (saw 3 last night, even I've done it) or dressing up as ah, "lymphoma." Two happy science geeks had somehow decorated their shirts to resemble...I don't know what, but they had signs to explain and they were having a good time.

It was an AWESOME Halloween!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com