Chaos Attraction

I Haven't A Bah In Me

2022-10-31, 9:33 p.m.

Work: as New Boss said today, my day started out with a trick. Which is to say, I got to work and realized that shit, I didn't have my keys on me. I wear my work keys (various types, cards, tokens, actual keys) all in a pouch, which I remembered putting around my neck before I left, BUT today I have on a wig, a costume purse, my glasses, a coat, a backpack, and all this heavy shit on (and the skirt is large, and I did not notice a difference. I waited around until New Boss let me in, put all my crap down, and had to walk back home. Of course they're not dropped in the street, they are back on the table--why?! I actually gave up, got my car and paid to park at work because I was all I CANNOT DO THIS SLOG AGAIN IN THIS OUTFIT IN THE COLD.

At least people liked my costume pics!

Other than that, I slogged through the final dregs of International Paperwork Crap, made a list of all the problems everyone found and went over them with management and then sent the rest elsewhere, and I ordered more Important Documents. During lunch, I went through the Shiny Unicorns monologue submissions and knitted, so good for me there. And then in the afternoon, the last chick who screamed at me at work was calling AGAIN, demanding a supervisor, and one of my coworkers immediately summoned me on the Internet to make me take the call. And I was all I CAN'T DO THIS AGAIN, IF SHE DIDN'T GET IT YET AGAIN I CANNOT DEAL WITH THIS I WILL CRY and told New Boss this. New Boss said she was fine with it, just send me the email chains so I know what's going on, which I did. Apparently Ms. Screamy STILL didn't get the Important Document (even though I note it's in the email chain that I said she probably should pay for a tracking number, she didn't and of course it didn't show up, because they never goddamned do whenever someone really throws a fit) and was in a rage because Giant Org was calling and hitting her up for donations. New Boss talked her into getting a tracking number, I canceled the reorder and added Ms. Screamy to it, hopefully all will be well. Should uh, be an interesting private talk with New Boss tomorrow about this one.

After work, Mom called me. One of her shitty high school friends sent an extremely nasty Paul Pelosi meme celebrating him being beaten up, and all the high school group chat LOVED IT! Because they are all goddamned MAGA. Mom said after reading that she wants to delete all of their messages and, "I am never going to a high school reunion again." I note that Mom LOVES those and is on the committee. I said, "you're on the committee," and she said she quit, saying she was too busy. Now she's debating whether or not to do a quiet fade on these people or to tell them off by saying if they're church ladies, they're really acting like this?!?! I told her to write a letter and not send it because it's probably not worth the war. Also, she and Roger are taking this constitution class out of some lady's home and that crowd is all MAGA and she claims the teacher says "she doesn't know what to think" about the last bunch of years. To which I was all "clearly she is lying and hedging if she's pretending she has NO IDEA how to think," and apparently the lady told her to read some insane MAGA crap (or so it was when Mom looked it up, I will not mention what this was so as to not get those people's eyes). Thankfully tonight is the last night. She said the lady wants to have lunch with her and Roger and Roger said HELL NO to this. God bless both of them for being sensible on this topic and not going MAGA even though they were Republicans their entire lives. Thank gawd.

After THAT, I went over to Ashley's for an hour-ish and hung out with her and her friend Cindy, who calls herself "conservative" but also thought this whole meme story was horrendous and people shouldn't act like that. She said she considered herself homeless from her party and I said that's what Roger said too. Obviously I got on great with Cindy and we were all yarning away on the floor in between trick or treaters. I also helped Ashley figure out a color pattern for her blanket--she finished all the squares for it in three days! Rae briefly came by trick-or-treating as Voldemort (not my favorite costume of hers, but oh well), good to see her, Debbie took some photographs of everyone.


After that, I went to rehearsal, doing all of Act 1. We only went through all of it once and then rehashed some bits of dance numbers to improve them. Thankfully this goes pretty smoothly (so far, without costume changes or sets anyway).

Quotes:

Steve was saying something about having to go to the bathroom to Jan and then realized he had an audience. To which we were all eh, no biggie, you say that all the time. He was all, thanks for pointing that out. I said hey, you literally ask if someone else can go to the bathroom for you.

It was Boris's birthday today! "I don't know why I didn't put this down as a conflict," he said, mostly feeling bad because his kids are finally old enough to trick-or-treat.

Scrooge Scott mentioned being in City of Angels, or "Shitty of Angels." I asked what went wrong and he was all DON'T ASK. (Note to self: perhaps ask Dannette later?)

Dannette said that when Jean comes back from thrift store shopping, sometimes she throws her a dress she's found. "I have my own personal shopper."

Scrooge Scott, after forgetting to say "bah." "I haven't a bah in me."

Other Jennifer and the family were out tonight, so Steve had to read their lines. This was kind of hilarious, especially with the girls.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com