Chaos Attraction

We're All Just Named Jennifer Anyway

2022-11-01, 9:04 p.m.

No therapy today, therapist canceled to take a mental health day. Not surprised and since nothing new has happened in the last week, no big deal. Was about to suggest it myself really. It's raining today and I don't have to be out in it! Huzzah for it waiting to rain on a few days where I don't go out except for rehearsal!

Work: just did big projects for most of the day. However, I did have a new one on one with New Boss/Adventure Girl, which was absolutely lovely and sweet and I am pretty well reassured that we're not going to hopefully have the same depressing stuff that has gone on for the last three years here. She asked what I wanted in a manager and I essentially said "don't hammer things into the ground a la the movie Click and go on for an extra 25 minutes," which I do not think she would do anyway. I did warn her that (now great-)grandboss really liked to keep talking and hammering things in and it's possible she may want to join the punish-Jennifer meetings (new boss said it'd probably just be her and Old Boss if it was that kind of thing and she had to have someone else there). She said that some people on the staff survey had said there wasn't room for advancement and I told her all the shit that's gone down with me, including the interview a few months ago, and she offered to help me with resume/interviewing if something else comes up to apply for. Awwww. I told her the gist of the hell shit I've been through and frankly, I don't think she'd do that stuff (especially since she used to manage younger people and as far as I know everyone loved her doing that).

I did finally ask if she hated advising after doing it for only six months, and she said no, she really liked it, but (a) it's kind of a dead end career and that's all you do and (b) management there was very different/distant by comparison to hear, they never had team meetings, etc. She'd applied for a promotion there and then the job here came up and she went for it. I was also surprised to hear that she and her fiance broke up--"he wasn't the right one," and that she took her presumed wedding day off and reconfigured her plans to be a single woman, making money for herself. Good for her. I admit I kind of wondered after he took a job farther down the state, back in the day.

Anyway, that went super well, so fingers crossed!


Rehearsal: all of Act 2, just the one time, mostly taking time on stuff that has literally only been done once in however many weeks this has been going. Stuff like "um, what the hell are the lyrics at the very end of this again?" because we've hardly done them, and where people are supposed to stand. I wanted to be all "who cares, we're background people" at certain points, and just walking around doing imaginary shopping to fill up the stage is pretty boring, esp. with nothing to look at.

Kimmie hurt her knee sometime over the weekend. Apparently it's bad enough to knock her out of the show, because she has now been replaced by James (and Jan will stage manage on the two nights he can't do it). No concerns there, as James is quite competent. However, set stuff (I note she is also props master) hasn't been done yet. Apparently even though she can't put weight on the knee, she and Brian are somehow supposed to dress the bed and fireplace. But painting the set walls for the shops of London is now jettisoned... or is it?

Which is to say that Virginia and I (a) both paint and (b) are already bored AF of imaginary shopping and wandering around onstage with nothing to do/look at anyway, and volunteered to paint them (I note that Kimmie more or less wanted me to anyway). Jan was all "if you handle it yourselves and it's done by 2 p.m. Sunday, sure," more or less, nobody else will be around so who knows. We'll see if this actually happens/we can figure it out. There's presumably enough paint around, though we may need to check our homes or whatever to do shop scenes. I'm not sure how realistic this is, but I'm willing to give it a shot, anyway.

In other news, Virginia's boyfriend John was asking about getting a sweater out of me...for one of her cats. The one that would tolerate it, anyway. We'll see if more goes on with that, but I'd do it...

Quotes and notes:

Jan was having "some important YPT meeting" on Zoom when we came in. I was dying to know the hot goss, but later all she was all "everything's fine, they're ahead of schedule." Darn it.

When Boris started playing Shipoopi, Don: "Shipoopi is poopy." Me: amen to that. Boris: the new one on Broadway is all politically correct now. (Yeah, 'cause it needed it, I thought.)

Scrooge Scott played Trekkie Monster in Avenue Q (at Runaway Stage, I think) and said that at one point, people from an old folks' home were brought in, including one lady he called "Dracula's mother." That lady loved it. Alas, they did not do the sex scene. Scrooge Scott said he doesn't really like Music Man and prefers Avenue Q, Hairspray and Spamalot. I totally agree with his tastes.

James says he's bad at names (and then proceeded to remember most of us, including me, who he probably hasn't seen regularly since Camelot last year and I was in that for 2 weeks). Me: "It's ok, we're all just named Jennifer anyway." Later, James was all, "These names just all repeat, I love that."

Don, snarking: "I'm so glad we're off book."

Omar: "Bless this family, bless this theater, let's go home."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com