Chaos Attraction

They Cook You Onstage

2022-11-02, 9:07 p.m.

Hugo announced that he got the part of Chip in the Spelling Bee show. I wrote back, "Enjoy your unfortunate erection!"

It was supposed to rain again today, it did not. In other tedious news, my blog host continues to be having issues (i.e. can't post pics). I feel really sorry for the poor bastard having to continue to issue apologies on Twitter about delay after delay after delay.

Work: had a bunch of meetings in the morning, ran out of projects and even emails mid-afternoon. Most notable part of the day was: remember the girl yelling the other day? New Boss accidentally found her missing Important Document and I guess whoever found the thing previously just filed it and didn't email her or tell anyone. Canceled the reorder. New Boss would like to learn how to ship it out, and I would like to show her how, but we had to wait on her getting access first. Also, we had more mail issues but I can't sort out the whole mess until Friday. Bleah.

With nothing else to do today other than waiting on her getting access (didn't happen), I started writing "The Petticoat Affair: The Musical." I am really enjoying it even though it's completely pointless to do and I'd need someone to formally write lyrics instead of me writing "Here's the sort of stuff I want the lyrics to cover." Was reading a bit about Rachel Jackson again and once again, I feel so bad for the poor woman! I'm going to theme her through the entire thing since her story keeps coming up posthumously in this one.

Scott posted a video of a cat in a Lumiere costume and it was adorable and I felt guilty at the idea of not making him one (okay, a Lumiere, not a cat costume...THOUGH I KINDA WANNA). Not that he knows that. On a related note, his mom sent out a newsletter today announcing that she's temporarily discontinuing "Free Sew" nights because people are complaining that the regulars are being middle school cliquey and shutting newbies out, so she's going to re-engineer it in 2023 to be less so. I wrote her an email saying good job on that, hope you don't get too much crap for it. She said she was getting crap., but at least it was different crap!

Ashley called to say she got a much smaller/portable oxygen tank, purse-sized. Rae named it "Panda." Ashley felt bad about losing her previously larger one, "Freddie," who went to high school and 9er's games with her.

I'm watching the end of "The Windsors" right now (in preparation for The Crown, lol?!) and my last name just came on the show. Gave me a start!


Rehearsal: before the show started, Steve was talking about serial killers--Boston Stranger, Son of Sam (I gather he and Jan were around during that last one) and Don made a crack that they were too busy staring at each other to notice. Me: "You made talking about serial killers romantic." Don pointed out that a lot of people were getting laid when Pompeii went off.

Noel loaned me a Victorian literature text and I think I read through all(?) of A Christmas Carol because it was in there. I admit I kinda skimmed it for time, but hey, this play is really based off the book and has same lines. I note that Old Joe and the whole scavenger section seems a whole lot less creepy/more polite in the book.

Kimmie was briefly there, with a walker. At one point she said re: James, "I need something to chuck at him, please." Later Noel asked if there was anything she could do for her. "Give me my knee back?"

James to Sage on their name being in the show: "Do you realize that they cook you on the stage? Onions and raisins and sage." Sage: "Well, my family is pretty poor and hungry."

Maya kissed her crutch (got that for the first time tonight) and said, "This is going to be my best friend for now."

Omar got his sandwich board. "Oh no, another box costume!"

Scrooge was said as "Smythe entrance" at one point. Me: "The discount version of Scrooge."

Morgan: "I've probably sold fish to everyone in town." We snickered at this. Also, how DO you say turbot?

Jan: "It's a rehearsal, no one screws up!"

James was saying, "I hate Chicago (airport) because you get in on one end of the airport, then have to go to the other end of it in five minutes." Me: "Isn't that every airport?"

James on a friend who ended up getting a divorce and was all "why didn't you tell me?" James: "You wouldn't listen to me! You were madly in love, and she was crazy!" Steve and Noel talked about some cursed wedding they went to with bad weather and nothing to eat but malt balls....????

James on being out tomorrow: "Nobody needs lines tomorrow!"


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com