Chaos Attraction

Heart Fog

2020-11-04, 7:21 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Green Screen Issues 2 - 2020-11-09
Green Screen Issues - 2020-11-08
Holidate Review - 2020-11-07
Possible Legitimate Hope - 2020-11-06
Let's Not Jinx This Election Thing - 2020-11-05

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

My county is heading back to the purple tier! So much for anyone's plans to reopen the gyms and craft center or well, anything at all. *glares at neighbor's wall* Can't say I'm surprised, but still. Saw a similar article about Sacramento. Everyone's gonna backslide for college, winter, and the holidays, why bother trying.

Today I am feeling....neutral. I woke up in the middle of the night but managed to go back to sleep instead of checking the news, and the news said "No news yet." So right now, sitting in limbo, what else can you do. This is better than I expected, to be honest. So far I have remained sober, as I am saving my drink on for the inevitable hell, riots, fires, earthquakes, sharknados, whatever. Have eaten ice cream, though.

On California props, I am pretty disgusted that the Lyft/Uber thing won. I am unshocked about affirmative action. Kidneys got a no. Parolee voting is fine, teenager voting is not (why????), data privacy is looking good, replacing bail with a suspicious algorithm got a no.

How boring am I that I am listening to a video of European knitwear designers talking about sewing folk costumes? And laughing when I realized they are both wearing tiger clothes?


Work:

Yet another one of the international clientele emailed me today demanding that (a) his name is (international name) but (b) he was at Giant Org under (very generic American name, assume I found many with his exact name in the system) and can I prove that he is the same person to legal authorities. To which I was all um, nope, I cannot, I would have to take your word for it and I totally cannot, and if you need to prove that your name is (international) name, you need to officially change it and reorder all of your Important Documents with the new name. I mentioned this to my boss and she agreed. I will note that he claims that (international name) is his passport name, so this shouldn't be a problem, right? Just take a photo of your passport and send it on over?

Why the fuck this guy was in as American Name instead of International Name, I do not know, but it makes me mad. THERE'S A LEGAL NAME REQUIREMENT EXACTLY BECAUSE OF SHIT LIKE THIS. OTHER COUNTRIES WANT ALL NAMES TO PRECISELY MATCH AT ALL TIMES. IT WILL CAUSE YOU HELL IF YOU DO NOT DO THAT. ASK ME HOW I KNOW WHEN I DON'T TRAVEL ANYWHERE.

Dude of course refused to take no for an answer and he starts sending me all of his International Documents (note: not any of the ones we require for this stuff) verifying his name. To which I am all, uh, we do not deal with that stuff, HI I AM FORWARDING TO THE BOSS AGAIN FOR THIS ONE. I then went through all of his records and ahem, I have no ID's with International Name on file here. The most I could find was that he submitted a name change in 2015 but never actually proved it with any documents....ahem. I am noticing a theme here. My boss's response was that we're not confirming documents from elsewhere and to change his name. Delightful. Shockingly, he didn't write back after that, though if he's in Guess What Country, his email onslaught might wait until tomorrow. Of course, if he does change his name, it'll be tons of drama and hell for me because that will involve Yet Another Very Expensive Slowly Processing Emergency Order....joy. He wants all of this by Friday, of course, which I can't do in a million years and the last "rush" one took like most of a month to get processed.

But other than that, pretty quiet at work and I only had one Zoom meeting, go figure. I didn't have to spend too much brain space on work drama. I'm really enjoying this chill season and not being fried every day. I forgot that once in a while in the middle of the season it might not be insane.


I got a giant box of presumed green screen stuff today. It's several feet high. Per the instructions and quarantine protocol, it's sitting in the hallway not being touched. I do not look forward to having to figure out how to ship it back.

Rehearsal: This was the first day we were told to switch to Google Meet. Wheee, such fun. Not super feeling like I love it. It does NOT show your own head by default (I had to set it to show since I need it for acting). It doesn't show everyone by default even on Tiled setting, seems to time out at 16 (Zoom will offer a second page to look at, Google Meet does not) and we had about 22 in there. The sound was also quite laggy. It also doesn't have breakout rooms. Why is this one supposed to be better, again?

Spadoni the tech guy said he is going to open up 17 full windows for the cast, on three monitors. Halfway through he said this caused 17 different audio tracks, but he'll have it fixed by tomorrow.

Notes and quotes:

Paige does not need an actual microphone!
Mac: "I just need to have people know I have TWO BUCKETS!"
'Sheep bounced. Sheep out." -Someone on Natasha leaving early.
"WE ARE DOING THIS THING! WHEE! I just got horrible feedback, I apologize." -Paige
I love Paige ad-libbing "I HATE MY JOB!!!" when it doesn't dawn on any of the Arable/Zuckermans that Wilber is getting a special award. God, she's the best. The announcer is now my favorite character.
I will not be getting a baby bottle, but the lines will say the same. I'm still curious as to any other props I was supposed to have, but I guess there won't be any.
Sage and Trinity both have this serene look/sound to them, more evident when next to each other. As a baby spider, Trinity cleary takes after her.
"If you're going to be a bear, be a grizzly bear."-Sean to Lena

OH GOD IT IS SO NICE TO ESCAPE INTO A PLAY UNIVERSE FOR A FEW HOURS AND NOT HAVE TO THINK ABOUT THE REAL WORLD. Y'ALL HAVE NO IDEA HOW GOOD IT IS.

I'm back to watching Pick A Card again, apparently. Deck #2. "Your person is going through a lot of loss." Anxiety/depression, don't know where they are going, they have a cloud around them. "They do love you but they are dealing with other issues." "They don't have anything to look forward to." Certainly true. 'They find comfort in you from some of the feelings they're experiencing." King of Cups indicates soulmate but they are resistant to talk about their feelings or what is going on with them. There is an oracle card called "heart fog" about mixed signals and blocked emotions. YUP. The Divine Timing card comes up again. "By not giving into your fears...." "you can come into right alignment when the time is right. "When the time is right, this is going to be for you." "It's going to bring you into right alignment with each other."

That helps.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com