Chaos Attraction

Why The @#$% Are There So Many Kids At Disneyland?!

2022-11-05, 9:09 p.m.

I spent all day painting from 10 a.m. to 5:15 p.m. or so, except for lunch and paint drying. Steve let me in. I was wearing my new "Hasa Diga Covid" shirt and thus we happily discussed The Book Of Mormon multiple times, including filling Virginia in at lunch (I doubt it'd be her thing, but she politely listened along) on the plot, South Park's Mormon episode, how Steve bought "I have maggots in my scrotum" underwear that he flashed to whoever he was in the dressing room with.... I admit, I have never seen that on sale before. (Later, I told Ashley about the frog they sell there and sent a pic. She thought it was cute, I said I want to do better.)

Also, I really love this story: Steve was at Disneyland, in whopping amounts of pain and on allllll kinds of pain medication. He found himself yelling, "WHY THE FUCK ARE THERE SO MANY KIDS AT DISNEYLAND?!?" This was immediately followed by the sentence, "Did you know they have Disneyland police?" They didn't arrest him--they asked if he was okay, he said NO, they offered him water, he calmed down. Later he mentioned seeing a couple arguing and saying to them, "you know, you're not making this the happiest place on earth." They gave him death glares, Jan yelled "SHUT UP!" and he fled.

Other than that, Kimmie was there, limping along and working on set decoration--mainly the fireplace. Sage and parents and Other Jennifer and Maya came in and did other paintings of things--mostly tombstones, handles of shovels, other people were working on the Marley door and other stuff in the back. She said she was still able to put a door/window on the sets herself if we could just do all the background painting, so we painted the walls gray and stencil-painted in brick walls at the bottom all day. I'm glad we didn't have to figure out how to paint entire detailed backgrounds because doing all of that ALONE was the entire day. She said something about having me do signs, to which I'm all "with what time?" but hey, we have Friday off from work, so maybe then?

Oh, and Felicia (of course) has covid, because she went on a business trip for two days. TWO DAYS and got covid. I think that translates into "her 10th day is opening night," and they've already had a leading lady miss all of tech week and come back for opening night before (sigh), but ugh. Seriously, everyone I know who has gone on a trip (except Boris) of late has immediately gotten covid upon returning. I note my lunch buddy Rachel of course got that coming back from Europe, and my friend Yemi (who is rarely around anyone at all now) is going to Rhode Island next week for her brother's graduation...good luck with that :/

I did point out to Kimmie that hey, you know those little light weight shovels they have, that they just got on Thursday? They're supposed to LIFT FELICIA with them. "Do what now? With those shovels? Oh hell no." I pointed out they have not practiced this AT ALL and now won't even be able to until opening night, which is BAD. She was all "oh hell no, those are too light" and asked Jan about it and Jan was all "oh yeah,, totally gonna do it, we did it in 2018!" I wanted to facepalm, but probably would have just gotten paint all over myself. Kimmie was all "yeah, but we were using different shovels." I have no idea what's going to go on with this. But seriously they better not try to do the shovel lift for the first time the first night of the show.

The overall group hasn't been told about Felicia yet, just those of us at set building today, but Jean asked if Felicia could come for costume fitting. Um...nope. OY.

On a related show note, I heard Kimmie ask Jan who was getting mic-ed and Jan said "there's 18 microphones and 18 people, so....everyone." (Except little Alex, I'm presuming, even though frankly he needs it the most. I can barely hear him on the stage with him, but...he's seven, so.) Sooooooooooo... dammit, I don't want to be mic-ed. I know something weird will go off with me. Darn it. I was hoping I might squeeze out of this one. Well, who knows, maybe one mic will go off and they take mine off or something.

Anyway, after that I dragged myself to the grocery store--I didn't want to but it's the only free time I got--and have been stuffing my face ever since. So tired. I need to shower and remake the bed for winter (i.e. put on the furry sheets) and I am so tired. Am drinking and watching "God Forbid: The Sex Scandal That Brought Down A Dynasty" on Apple TV right now.

Right now it's that kind of weather that says, "It's not going to rain today, but it certainly will tomorrow!" Blech. Okay, so I'll be inside for literally most of this week, but the craft fair is outside (though under a roof), so that kinda sucks.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com