Chaos Attraction

Steve Noises

2022-11-08, 9:18 p.m.

Canceled therapy today--frankly, I want the hour of lunch and nothing traumatizing has happened of late, she said ok.

Rehearsal:

Felicia was back (presumably she tested negative), had a mask on when she came in and somehow lost it halfway through the show. I guess she didn't tell people ahead of time because Dannette had set up the Zoom and Kimmie was all "I don't want to see myself on camera!" about it. (Me: "I know the feeling.")

I hung out with her off and on, told her what stuff she missed. They at least discussed the whole shovel thing last night at intermission and I Very Briefly saw them trying to work stuff out with Kimmie, but I don't really know what went on with that (see below for why).

The bed apparently cracked all over the place, causing that to be thrown out and them having to immediately find a replacement on Craiglist. Which I guess has happened, but they now have to set up the bed (again), so we rehearsed with a bench.

The poulterer's cart has been decorated with a fake giant bird and...two rubber chickens. This led to a conversation about rubber chickens with Noel (playing that part), me telling her about the middle school teacher I had who was obsessed with them, and her telling me about a duo called "Two Set Violin" who do things with rubber chickens.

Wardrobe issues: Soji's wig flying off onstage, my petticoat (THAT DAMN PETTICOAT) creeping off me while dancing, which Jean thought was hi-larious (me: "AT LEAST I HAD IT ON."), the mic cord coming unstuck on my back and creeping out, Morgan's heels coming off both her own boots AND the loaner boots, my monk's robe disappearing (apparently it somehow ended up in Dannette's stuff) and I ended up missing all of "Dancing On Your Grave" (except the Old Joe bit, I had the outfit for THAT), thankfully Other Jennifer found it so it wasn't me who lost it. Also, all our wigs really, really hate constant costume changes and are trying to fall apart/come undone as best they can during this. I had to put in a shit load of pins since the hairspray didn't hold that level of anything. This Is Not Fun.

I am feeling quite resentful of the two outfits I have to wear the most having the most accessories and frankly, I don't have time for them ALL (is it going to devastate the world if I don't have the petticoat or the scarf?), and there really isn't room for EVERYONE to change in the wings. Not a lot of room to put your costumes or especially all the accessories with them, and pre-laying them out only does so much. BLECH. As Morgan pointed out, we're 18 people doing stuff a cast of 35, with dressers, would be doing, without dressers. This is asking a bit too much, to say the least, under the circumstances. ("Worse than Evita," you say? Kinda yeah.) So I was cranky. Jan's happy with the show in general, but we are feeling stressy and overloaded.

At least I don't have to do one of my set changes any more (Steve the Beadle volunteered to do the gravestones), and Omar has been moved to the one that's the hardest for two 5 foot whatever people to move with me, so there's that. I barely remembered two of them, Victor wandered off after our scene (I don't blame him, we all do it during tech week) and I totally forgot the tombstones because I was too busy looking for the robe and thinking what trouble I was going to get into for losing it. Meanwhile, Other Jennifer lost a mobcap, but they didn't care too much about that, like "eh, there's more of those."

Morgan is all hyped to play Sally Bowles in Cabaret and audition on Sunday. I think she'd better get it! However, she's all concerned that very few people have said online that they're going to go. Some people pointed out that doesn't really mean anything attendance-wise (which, true), but there was a bit of discussion about how I could play the old lonely landlady, or the um, old prostitute. I said um, I don't think I'd get cast in a name role here under normal circumstances (this show would not be what I consider normal circumstances), so probably not... That said, I did tell Jan a few weeks ago if she's desperate for people to let me know, and I proceeded to dream about doing Cabaret last night. (Feh.)

Quotes I got written down before show/during intermission:

Don on the Boy Scouts: "This is the American version of Hitler Youth."
Steve to Virginia (playing the judge who sentences Dad Scrooge to jail): "You're a lousy judge, you're mean."
Kimmie: "The theater fairy comes down on Friday and everything is fine."
Scrooge Scott: "I have visions of Stacy flying 30 feet up." Various Peter Pan jokes ensued, Morgan said flying onstage is her biggest fear. (I dunno about a fear, but I heard during Mary Poppins that the crotch hookups hurt like hell.)
Noel on her kid's train obsession as a child: "You take a toddler to the train museum, they end up crying."
Steve: "I'm afraid to ask what the chandelier is for." He was told it was for Fezziwig's and he wasn't happy at finding out he'd have to light it.

Morgan: "Do we ever know what Steve is yelling?" Felicia: "It's just Steve noises."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com