Chaos Attraction

James the Cabbage

2022-11-09, 9:20 p.m.

Today's meetings:

One of the people in the main group (not my personal group, I should probably say, we have two groups: mine and the public service team) got that job I considered applying for and hated. Since she used to be a member of that particular population, she'd be best for it, I kinda expected it'd be her, and it should be. BUT ONCE AGAIN THAT MEANS WE ARE SHORT STAFFED...but at least it's on the other side and not mine. I asked if we're getting another temp and I dunno on that answer. I would reasonably assume she ends up with that job permanently, so they better plan for that.

And once again, I was told no for getting something our office desperately needs, because new guy said it was "very, very expensive." I'd like to know how this is defined since the interim Big Boss didn't think it was that much. But can't say I'm even a tiny bit surprised, AGAIN.

And I got myself in mild trouble again and I can't even explain how my reporting a problem somehow gets me in trouble, and yet it does. Not writeup level trouble, but definitely a three manager pileup meeting. I'm so tired of everything.

Though weirdly enough, the elections weren't quite as horrible as expected? Still in limbo, of course, but not everything was totally goddamned awful. There's that, at least.

I spent the afternoon trying to figure out projects (I note I offered to man the Slack channel and handled emails, but again, I am out of projects halfway through the day now). Namely, printing out letters for the sign for the show, which did not work once I got home because the size was too big (sigh...I'm going to have to bring them to work to test this out repeatedly) and trying to figure out if I could make them into stencils (hell no) and if I can just cover them in paper and Mod Podge (most likely).

I also came up with a brilliant idea for the next ugly holiday sweater--making Scrooge's quote about boiling a man in his own pudding and putting a stake of holly through his heart--but that slogan is too long to knit and, as I figured out via graph paper, way too long to cross stitch either. Ugh. I may have to draw something and put it on a shirt and iron it on or something. I did that on the Gavle goat sweater, but even I thought that was a little weird.


Wednesday rehearsal: Steve got his snow machine and sent a video of it working earlier in the day. I asked who's gonna clean up the snow: James is. James claimed Kimmie faked a knee injury to get out of this, which I said was very smart. Alas, this ended up not being as cool as it looked. It's basically a soap machine, which looked great until people started choking and coughing on the soap bubbles (Omar suggested we get edible ones) and the back of the stage got very soggy. Jan: "We'll only run it for five seconds."

Scrooge Scott gave all the kids Christmas crackers, which was so sweet.

Kimmie fixed the shovel carrying. Happily, Noel no longer has to be involved in any lifting (she's thrilled) because it worked better when three people layered their shovels in a triangle. It actually worked to carry her around now and she looks less afraid than all the ladies on the carousel circle do.

Quotes (didn't get too many down, sadly, forgot my phone, had to use paper): Scrooge Scott on his wig: "I look like Lucius Malfoy on a bender."

Other Jennifer recounted a story about James being called "James the Cabbage." Me: "That could be like, his gang name. I did jury duty and I found out that gang members have pretty stupid names, like "Bug." He could be "James the Cabbage," because he split open someone's head like a cabbage." OJ (chuckling): "You're awful!" Me: "It's fun!"

Kimmie has been taking the prize turkey Scrooge buys for the Cratchits home to baste/repair/glue it. "I drove home with him in the car next to me. Tom and I have become very close."

Other than that...still having issues with remembering set changes and putting all the damn clothes on every single time. I said to Jean I'm trying, I'm just not good enough, and Morgan was saying she just can't get the entire caroler outfit* in like 30 seconds and make it out for the minuet (I barely manage, I said) and literally there is NO ONE LEFT TO HELP you dress. Jean said she could try to get back there after finishing with the bar. I finally asked Jean if she could adjust the buttons on the blouse so I don't have to button and unbutton the cuff every damn time to put them on, so hopefully that makes one thing slightly less bad. But seriously, half the time THERE IS NO PETTICOAT (every other outfit, the petticoat has to go back off and on, it seems) and I barely got accessories on several times. Jean also wants to scrap the bonnet/scarf/hat in one scene (to look poor, I guess?) and wear a cape instead, so fine, that's simpler. Morgan has one that looks like Belle's Santa one in the Christmas movie, I got a red one as well. At least my wig stays on, a few people are getting fed up with that and Noel is just getting new fake hair and scrapping hers.

Anyway, this is exhausting, and tomorrow night is photo night.

* note: bonnet, scarf, jacket, buttoned blouse, two skirts.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com