Chaos Attraction

Caroling IRL

2022-11-12, 9:26 p.m.

I didn't really sleep last night (ugh, why), but woke up (har) at 8:30 to get dressed in my caroler costume to go to Farmers Market to sing/promote the show with Sage/Soji/Marin/Other Jennifer/Maya/Felicia. Might I just say that it was very weird to have my costume in my house?! We got permission from Jean to do that as long as we didn't walk through grass, but it was WEIRD, plus I walked over there in that outfit. I did some "bad" things like wearing my sweatpants/other tops underneath for warmth and added a pocket belt so I had somewhere for the phone/keys. And I apparently lost my scarf there (!!!!) but Soji found it before I'd even noticed it was gone, so WHEW.

We were there for about an hour. I kind of wondered how it was going to go since the FM lady is notoriously rather...rigid...with regards to booths and the like from what I've heard over the years. The lady we talked to (dunno if that was The Lady, I suspect it was someone else) just said, "stay out of the paid market booths area, the community area is on the far side, stand in this box area." Soji was kind of annoyed we couldn't like, walk through the market singing, but I was all "let's not push it here, they're being nice" and we were doing it pretty last minute. We did send Other Jennifer and Maya through the playground area (only kid + parent allowed) a few times to hand out fliers. Felicia, Other Jennifer and the kids were much more into handing out fliers than I was, i.e. fairly aggressively, so I stood in the back and sang and that was fine by me! They handed out a lot. Soji's parents came by and did the filming of this for social media, which worked out. We mostly did the cheerful songs/bits of them that we could sing without Scrooge/Christmas Present/whoever. It was fun. Soji wants to do it again next week, not sure if I will though since Harvest Festival is coming back that week. I did see Rae/Bea/Debbie walk by briefly and waved. It's pretty funny that now I've actually gone caroling IRL instead of just in shows.

After that I went home, changed, drank a bunch of water, then went back to FM in normal clothes (i.e. the show sweatshirt) and I got some yarn and a pin from my favorite vendor who was back again. The vendor I used to buy masks at is still there, but they are mostly doing other things like pillows and scrunchies and the like now--and they had fabric fidget mazes where a marble is sewn in and you fidget it around the maze. I was all "I MUST GET THIS" and did, and when I got home, I looked this stuff up on Ravelry and found one, and then found a double knit maze SCARF, which I bought the pattern for and have got to make. Looks--har--a-maze-ing.

I watched more "The Crown" and downed chicken soup and apple juice so hopefully my voice sounded fine during singing lesson. She didn't sound like she thought it was off?

Singing lesson: did more "Good Morning Baltimore," which went fairly well? Her cat was doing adorable things during it, which I enjoyed. More belting practice.


Show #2: maybe about 30 people there tonight, kinda ouch. I recognized Soji's parents and Noel's family. Noel has told me about her fiber artist mother-in-law (who I've briefly talked to at parties, but not about that), so I went up to her afterwards and blabbered away, she was polite but puzzled :P Oh well. Did see Other Jennifer from The Producers, briefly, she said we pulled it off!

This was a bit of an accident-prone show, various technical difficulties were going on. Other Jennifer and Maya are allergic to one kind of tape and the other non-allergy tape disappeared (not sure if that got fixed). Felicia landed into a tombstone briefly, Noel tripped on something. I probably had the most notable one when my Fezziwig dress zipper completely broke right before going on--that thing wasn't happy anyway. I think it was about halfway up when I went on, and it was presumably getting worse, so I ran off a third of the way through at a spot where I could get away with it (after couples dancing) and made James pin the shit out of it while he made noises about it being REALLY broken and my underwear showing. (I note I have on a ton of spandex--tank top, bike shorts, nothing to worry about there.) He pinned it, I went out for the rest of the couples dancing, life went on, I'm a pro. Had to get up-pinned by Jean and Stacy after the number, but still made it in for the next one, so good for me. I hope Jean can fix it by tomorrow, or else I have to get a new dress, I suspect. (Also, hey, small audience to see that one.)

Quotes from backstage:

While up at the tech booth, I'm told "Rags and bones" is Steve's favorite part, per Sarah. Per Steve himself, "I heard that voice in my sleep last night."

Sarah was apologizing for touching me, and I said I didn't care as long as she didn't stick a finger in my butthole. (I probably should have explained that joke....don't google for "kancho") "I'll do my best."

Morgan mentioned the existence of "singing straws," as a possible present she might give people. I looked these up and they are ridiculously expensive.

Maya: "Alex, don't eat the chain!"

Soji found another scarf during the middle of the show and thought it was mine, saying, "That scarf keeps running away from you!" But later when I went to put it on again, I realized it was Dannette's, as we have similar caroler outfits but in slightly different colors. So, props to Soji for scarf finding today.

Me on the call time tonight: "It went from five minutes to three minutes in less than a second."

Doesn't seem like anyone was hanging out afterwards, nor that Ashley was going to karaoke, so I went home to collapse.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com