Chaos Attraction

All Together Now

2021-11-13, 8:49 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Anti-Vaxxer - 2021-11-18
Another Covid Scare (Sorta?) - 2021-11-17
No Callback - 2021-11-16
Finished The Housecleaning - 2021-11-15
Producers Audition - 2021-11-14

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Today I slept in, and then got my hair redyed even redder/blondeish/orangeish. This was followed by getting gas/car washed and going to Target for misc. items, mostly for a tiny box to create my own "empty box of fucks." I saw this on the Internet the other day and liked the idea but thought the cost for it was Quite A Lot, and Jess found a $5 box at Target, so I got it. I'd rather DIY than do a kit most of the time anyway.

Mom called to say that Cousin Bill's wife Selena broke her hip (aiee) and also, all her friends are Republicans who love Trump and she's sick of it. "There's more to life than just taxes," she said.

I'm watching a Hallmark movie, "Open by Christmas" and it's boring AF. The most drama in it is a mom whining that her 15-year-old son doesn't want to sit on Santa's lap and I ONLY HAVE THREE MORE YEARS WITH HIM!!!! and also her future mother-in-law is visiting. The mom isn't even the main character/plotline, that's Allison Sweeney trying to figure out who wrote her an anonymous love Christmas card in high school. She keeps hanging around with her parents' realtor, who COICINDENTALLY went to her high school but she doesn't remember him, which is awkward. Then it just fell out of her purse and awkwardness ensues. Y'ALL, A TEENAGE BOY JUST ASKED TO GO TO A CRAFT FAIR WITH HIS MOTHER. Was bribery involved?! Okay, he just felt guilty and really wants to snowboard. THEN AWKWARDNESS ENSUES when the future mother-in-law sees the card and thinks it's her son's handwriting. (I note he's the mom's fiance.) The guy insists that "someone else" had him write the info on the card. Of course he won't say who. "Nikki's been trying to figure this out for 3 weeks!" "It's been 22 years!" "This is something they need to figure out on their own," the guy says, while hinting at his friend. "Hey, Nikki, I'm sorry I can't tell you who wrote that card," he says, IN FRONT OF THE OTHER DUDE. Okay, suddenly this movie is a bit more interesting. "Your son may be losing his mind." "It's only a matter of time." Finally, card-dude gives her another card with his own name signed.


All Together Now show: welp, clearly his ah, "love light" (for lack of a better term?) was off tonight, though also maybe he's just tired because it's hundreds of people buying fabric over the weekend and so far it's been like their second biggest sale weekend ever, which he attributes to having a better location this go-round. So, not particularly ah, snuggly with the long hugs or hormones going off, but we did hug a few times. Everyone seemed to have a good time.

I did clarify with Robert and Janene they can't go any other weekends because she's got competitions for her students going on like every weekend until January and Robert says he's doing a lot of tutoring. So uh, just you and me next weekend then, Scott? Next Saturday. Alone together. Ahem. Hmmmm. So, got my wish there after all, apparently? Tentative finger crossing?

Also, Janene liked my socks, I had on the ones Scott gave me last year. "Thanks, I got them from him," I said (no reaction from Scott on that one) and then Robert busts out "Socks!" and I'm all, am I missing something here? and he's all "I got you both socks." ... Okay, that was random? I'm not sure what was going on there? Christmas gifts?

Things I note about the show: (a) The adults had on very clear masks with shiny chins that looked like they may not cover the nose. I'm not sure on the safety factor, but they looked almost normal. Presumably this needs to be mentioned at DMTC. The kids, though (there was one number with a bunch of teenagers) all had on black surgical ones. Not sure what was up with that difference? (b) They did "Matchmaker Matchmaker" by ALL PULLING OUT THEIR CELL PHONES, I cracked up. (c) "Gimme Gimme" was done by both a woman and a (presumably gay) man. (d) "Tomorrow" was done by an elderly lady, I heard her commenting along the lines of "huh, this worked after all" after the show. (e) I note that most of this cast was white and they had the one (obvious, I suppose--you never know these days) lady of color doing lead on "The Human Heart," as well they should have. No African-Americans in the show, but maybe none auditioned for all I know. (f) "Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious" was done with a guy and Jean as the leads, NOT JORI WHO JUST DID MARY POPPINS. I seriously wonder on this one--had she just had enough, were they changing it up, I dunno. (Jori did "Somewhere That's Green" from Little Shop as her solo instead. Still not a song I actually like, but couldn't help but snicker at some of the lines.) I will note that Jori did come in JUST to sing the "supercalifragilisticexpialidocious" BACKWARDS line....god knows she's got that down!

They cast about 14 people for the show, the ones in it I knew were Erik from work ("I finally saw a show of yours!" I said to him after), Jori from Camelot (didn't really talk to her after, oh well) and Jean from TnT. I did get to talk to Jean and Blonde Sarah, so that was great. Mostly I was trying to talk people into auditioning for The Producers and striking out with Blonde Sarah (considering it but may do a cabaret, that's easier, she said) and Robert (still hanging out with immunocompromised people and asking me a lot of questions about indoor karaoke these days...sorry, it's all unsafe now :( ).

Scott might be a possibility on that one, he kept being all "I haven't gotten around to watching it yet" and Robert was all "it's Mel Brooks, it's your sense of humor" and I was all "yeah, I would say to audition for that one blindly in your case," (he's all yeah, almost every show I've auditioned for I went in blind) and otherwise attempting to persuade him on that one since let's face it, it'll be low hanging fruit for him to get in. (Looking at the guy characters with baritones, it's either Roger or Franz. I think I'd hope for Roger for him. Too bad Max is a tenor, he's got the personality for that one and that's what I would cast him as.) Janene and I were both all "Yeah, we find it REALLY ANNOYING that like, any guy with a penis can get in and meanwhile we have all the competition." Then I had to tell him how musical theater auditions work (I presume that singing off sheet music is not an issue for him since he did choir), then offered to help him find songs/music, which I ended up doing once I got home. Hopefully one of those works, that's on him to figure out. I suggested "Luck Be A Lady," "The Seven Deadly Virtues" and "It's Hard To Be The Bard," but really think he should do the first one, I already know he can do Sinatra-style.

He's being all "we have nobody but me and my mom to work Sundays still" and god knows trying to get him to put together an audition in 24 hours would be a stretch, since he would pretty much have only Monday to figure it out since he's off then. To which I was all "oh yeah, I forgot I'm off Monday too if you want any help with anything." Probably not, of course. Don't I wish :P

I'm not gonna believe he does it until he actually does it, of course, and it seems pretty likely he wouldn't end up doing it and I have low to no expectations on this, but ahem, I'm trying to assist. Not sure if I want to root for him doing it or not--like odds are very low he would really and I see a lot of potential freakout points he might hit before actually signing up, and also if I have the conversation with him I'd like to have and if it doesn't go well, I may not want to be in a show with him after all :P Oh, who knows. I guess I can reassess that idea circa Friday IF he actually auditions or not.

In other news, Rae wants to put on some kind of Christmas fairy play show around Christmas with us and Ashley, and I heard from (Redhead) Sarah a bit since her date weekend was apparently off, wah. She asked about going to karaoke at 7:30 and the fog had rolled in hard and fast by the end of this show and I was all "uh, still wanna do it in fog?" and of course not.

Anyway, I told her about the actual just-the-two-of-us date happening and she sent me a bunch of heart-eye emojis and "girlish squeal of excitement" and said she was fucking thrilled for me. I said I'm considering having a direct conversation about dating in general with him and does she think that's too much or not, and she said he may prefer directness when communicating, and that she misses him and is happy to have his friendship. "He's a safe, kind, and gentlehearted fellow. He's one of the few good men I have had the pleasure of knowing. I'm excited about next week's adventure for y'all." Awwww.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com