Chaos Attraction

Producers Audition

2021-11-14, 8:52 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Got Into The Producers - 2021-11-19
Anti-Vaxxer - 2021-11-18
Another Covid Scare (Sorta?) - 2021-11-17
No Callback - 2021-11-16
Finished The Housecleaning - 2021-11-15

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

A do-nothing-much day for me. Updated the journal for August and September since I haven't actually gotten around to posting entries much in 2021 and I want to be caught up before Holidailies starts. Mostly cleaned the bedroom some more and the kitchen. Went through clothes again. Made a laundry pile of sheets (god, I hate washing sheets, another thing I didn't do in 2020). Attempted to get the SHITTY SHITTY SHITTY laundry app for my building to work AND IT WILL NOT NO MATTER WHAT I DO, so I'm gonna be forced to go to the laundromat, but I might as well do that tomorrow since I don't have anything else to do. And get my fucking tires inflated again :(

I rewatched The Producers again for the guy parts and tried to figure out who I'd cast Scott as. I'd cast him as Max, but apparently that's a tenor part and the only baritone parts are Roger the gay director and Franz the Nazi. I don't think he'd have an issue with playing gay, but I dunno if he'd be into getting into a ballgown as Roger, exactly. (Well, probably not "into" but whether or not he'd have an issue with it?) Hm, I dunno on the casting, but not my business anyway, I suppose. I doubt he'll actually audition anyway, but if he did and got in without seeing it....well, this could be funny....

I had a giant pile of plastic bags from all my Safeway grocery deliveries that I didn't know what to do with. I felt bad throwing them out, but it was a lot. So I tried making plastic yarn (or "plarn") today, as it's called. That's something I've wanted to try for a long time, but it did not go well today. I think the bags I was using are too stiff/big or something and maybe the whole concept of "plarn" was for those flimsy plastic bags, but it was very, very stiff and hard to crochet a chain with, much less anything else. Bugger this. I gave up and threw them all out. I hate to waste them (especially since Jackie made SUCH A BIG DEAL about getting plastic bags back in the day), but seriously, it's too many to keep a stash of for...whatever.

Today's Hallmark: One December Night: once upon a time Bruce Campbell (as Steve Bedford) and Peter Gallagher (as Mike Sullivan, "the crazy one," love the casting on this) were a famous musical duo. They broke up in a snit 10 years ago and now Mike's daughter Quinn is recruited to "talk some sense into him. Steve's son Jason is Steve's manager. This leads to....THE PARENTS SWAP. "Let's swap parents! Our parents are nicer to each other than they are to us!"

The guys have a fight with giant candy canes and knock over a snowman. There's something called "Big Red." I assume it's Mike's house, or possibly the town they live in, or both, but BIG RED MUST BE SAVED. And then poor Steve reveals he's got Alzheimer's and I want to cry. Goddamn Movies and Mysteries channel has to do the "serious" movies, and I don't want to see an Alzheimer's plotline :(

I this is more of a bromance movie rather than fixing up the younger couple, who seem to have a nice longtime friendship more than sexy anything. Bruce and Peter are as usual, lovely and sweet and charming guys.


The Producers audition: one person flaked, so it was four guys, plus me, plus Other Jennifer (the blonde dentist one who handed out jewelry, I like her) from Mary Poppins. Fun fact: her husband is named Scott, which makes me LOLOLOL like mad. The guys look like they will be good and funny in the show, I note two of them were in All Together Now last night. I would enjoy being in a show with them.

Overall theater news: some kind of amendment was added to the county laws but "it is so ambiguous" and there's immunocompromised people in the theater, so the masks stay on still. The masks will be gray or pink, "depending on the Keep It Gay number." Jan will be stage managing, Andi is doing choreography, a (new to me) guy named Boris is on piano. They do have the BIG pretzel/whatever else costumes for "Springtime For Hitler" already on hand. Steve loves this show, has been called out for laughing at the show (me too, I said), and as a Jew, "any time I can make fun of Hitler, I'm happy!"

They don't know if there will be a New Year's Eve gala because their old caterer went out of business and the new one requires them to sell 120 tickets at minimum and with Covid, who knows there. There would be TWO tech weeks (December 26-30 and then January 2-6) if there's an NYE show, but they would also throw a New Year's Day party at Jean's. Also they don't hold pickup rehearsals because they "are usually a joke." I hear ya. Max recaps the first act after intermission, including the intermission, Steve says he'll walk out and give Max water and Max will grab a phone and take a selfie. Sounds great.

Regarding the contract they make you sign at the audition, per Jean, "If it's on there, it's already happened." (i.e. what NOT to do.)

The Titanic set is the most expensive one ever and raises 26 feet in the air. From what I saw tonight, there's a slightly raised stair on the back end and then some giant ropes and a giant weight on one side of the stage.

"Next victim....We won't bite until we know you." -Andi

One guy (Evan) hadn't seen the show or at least was confused as to what he signed up for, as he was looking for some musical that says musicals are bad. "I can get behind musicals are bad, that's my ideology!" (Hm, why are you auditioning for one? I don't mean that in a mean way, just legit curious.)

The dudes auditioning: Evan (snarky, has a lot of hair), Isaiah and Danny were in All Together Now (Danny was in "Gimme Gimme"), Edie was the other one. They all did very well. Danny was all "I do a lot of creepy funny characters," so I figure him for Carmen Ghia.

My audition for singing did not go so well. I don't think Boris really got what I was doing, he played it a bit slow and then I couldn't hear too well what he was doing with all the notes, sigh. He asked if I could hear it afterwards and I said not that well. So...that wasn't good. I will have to hope that my previous experience in Camelot means they give me a pass...or just having less people gives me a pass....

Then Andi led us through a brief dance number to "Keep It Gay," saying she wasn't going to choreograph until she got to know people. She did, however, put a giant wedgie into the song, which is something Steve has not seen ever.

Then we did cold reading of the "Hold Me, Touch Me" scene. Steve wanted it done REALLY "theater old lady" and I did my best. I did make them laugh at my delivery of "Cash." After that, the ladies were allowed to leave while the men read another part. Callback notifications up at 11 p.m. tomorrow for 8 p.m. callbacks Tuesday. Let's hope.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com