Chaos Attraction

Skipping Auditioning

2022-11-14, 9:29 p.m.

I didn't sleep great last night and when I did, I dreamed I went to the Cabaret auditions, except they were 45 minutes away and with a different director and quite weird. Stupid dreams. Then my alarm didn't go off and I woke up at 7:55. Thankfully it was a work from home day so I could get away with that.

Today's work drama:

(a) Our lovely temp has to quit her stint early due to a dying international relative. I won't even be able to see her before she goes. What a bummer, she's a sweetie. Also she realized her passport expired, so YIKES.

(b) Protests are erupting today! Which normally I am quite chuffed about--I hear they shut down a bus stop--but then I heard that UPS in solidarity is likely to not deliver packages. That's gonna be A Problem. I asked work earlier today if that was going to be an issue and they were all "if anyone protests in the building again, we'll close the doors." All managers are out this afternoon (former boss/grandboss is having a procedure :( ) so who knows what'll go on there.

(c) I sat through what was supposed to be a hour (har) lecture on job hunting resources. It was more like 20 minutes and "are there any questions?" I hate when they plan a seminar hoping there will be lots of questions and literally nobody has any. It's so dumb.

(d) The VPN situation is still busted. Management is all "we don't know when the old VPN is going to go down, so get it done ASAP" except tech can't. Y'know, the usual. Heard from a tech guy who has no answers. My new coworker tried calling them and got a similar "we don't know why it hasn't loaded on its own and we have no idea how to fix it" response either. eye-roll


I looked up a script of Cabaret and character listings and am still not feeling in love with Cabaret (also, there's a lot of German in that). I made a pros and cons list about auditioning:

Pros: (a) Gives me something to do (b) They may really need people for this one (the one real argument for) (c) Scott may be in it (d) Easy rehearsal schedule on this one if I just sit around doing diddly a lot, definitely easy changing clothes schedule, which isn't bad considering con #1.

Cons: (a) Not that into the show, it's depressing, very German. (b) Probably kinda boring to be in (c) Scott may be in it (d) Gala night may be a pain in the ass.

Yeah...I am still not entirely over (c), clearly. But frankly, if I rule (c) out of anything, I don't love this show, I don't particularly feel like shooting for one of the frau's nor would I get one anyway, and I don't think I wanna be involved unless they need warm bodies. I...don't think I wanna bother auditioning, though I admit I am super tempted to go in person and just watch anyway and I'm dying to know how many auditioned in the first place. But no...I can check who gets callbacks late tonight/early tomorrow or whatever. So instead I'm home, eating pizza and watching a TEDx talk.

Finally heard from Cameron as to what went on with the director in Midsummer Night's Dream: She said rehearsals were a disaster: (a) never got any kind of rehearsal schedule (b) the director had no organization whatsoever (c) was late every day (d) apparently brought her small children, who she could not control (e) was very mean girl/rude to some cast members (f) told people to come to rehearsal and left them outside for hours in summer, not doing their scenes. "Chaos. She nearly had a mutiny on her hands." Cameron said she could have gone on forever, but not enough room left.

Good lord! She sounds even worse than the previous one! That one was scatty AF, but at least other people kept her organized, and she wasn't mean, and had a schedule. DA FUCK?!? Poor Winters theater. Whatever the hell will they do in the future, both venue-wise and director-wise?!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com