Chaos Attraction

Pointless Work Classes

2022-11-15, 9:30 p.m.

Callbacks list: Morgan, Arianna, Dannette, Rachele, Shorthaired Sarah, Mary Young, I note no Scott. Guess he didn't do it. No Omar either? I thought he was going to audition for everything.

I note several older actors in this one (Mary, Gil/Lenore, who I don't know but know are friends of Jan's in Woodland, Dannette), must be going for the older couple. I don't know any of the dudes on this list, really, if they are going for emcee or what. Six people who probably qualify for "sexy dancers" on that list, but also up for Sally. Thirteen people on this...I wonder who they had that auditioned that didn't call back. I thought Amy was going to do it? Hell if I know with this list.

Good luck to Morgan, though. Asked her how many auditioned and she said 18 people--12 the first day and 6 the next one. Ouch.


Work: protests are blocking the bus stop again and boss/grandboss/whatever isn't worried when I said we may no longer be getting any UPS deliveries. SIGH.

Mutually agreed to skip therapy again since I have no major dramas and I kinda doubt she's in the shape to deal anyway.

I did a couple of career development classes online today. The first one was on CliftonStrengths, but apparently it was for beginners or people who never did it before? Because it was stuff like "Write a sentence with your nondominant hand. Now write it with your dominant hand. See, isn't it easier to do what you're good at?!" Um, duh? At one point, no joke, she claimed that pushing the button in the elevator more times than necessary is a talent. DA FUCK?!?!? She wanted to do a bunch of "chat with your group and network," and I discovered that there is an option to say "not now" when told to go into a breakout room, so I did not! Hahahaah, fuck chatting with my group and group learning. I had zero interest in giving my name, what I like about my job, and something positive people say about me. (Especially at work.) It felt like a kindergarten lesson version of this. Maybe that's all they can do if you haven't done the assessment--obviously I've done it--but it was pretty dumb. Oh well, killed 50 minutes of work time.

Second one was job hunting as an internal candidate at Giant Org. Frankly, I only found out one piece of new info on that topic--you can save a job search on the horrible HR website--but hey, at least I learned something! There was mandatory Chat With Your Group I could not get out of, I said I didn't really want to discuss my reasons for job searching, then the other guy said well, he has similar. So there you go. Mostly the lady was SUPER PUMPED AND ENTHUSIASTIC ABOUT GROWING AND HELPING PEOPLE and...man, I'm not. I've been fucking traumatized by this place and I just. don't. care. any more about growing, or my career, or have any interest in anything other than surviving.

After work, Ashley and I went to karaoke again, all night long. Two little kid birthday parties were going on there and it was the most people I've ever seen in there. (Which made me feel better since the last bunch of times I've been in, they've been near empty.) The cutest things were one little birthday girl and her friends--maybe around age seven--singing "Bad Blood," and then when the next girl didn't know what to sing, Jim was all "I have two daughters, I know what they like" and put on "Love Story," of course. Later, Larry got interrupted for someone else's birthday and he rolled with it like a champ, singing "La Bamba" with another kid. Nobody knew the lyrics, but then again, "nobody knows the lyrics to this song!" Very cute. Also cute was the little boy basically eating the microphone. I may go hang out with her again Thursday night after singing.

Oh, yes, and I heard from Robert: Redhead Sarah is interested in going to the Winters elf show, and have I asked Scott about going? I said no. I also said if you want to try him, feel free because he's more likely to respond to you. That might have been a bit snappy, but even if I didn't feel shitty about him, that would have been true. Like all their conversation is during their gaming group anyway so might as well.

I did briefly fantasize about telling Robert everything after that... but I didn't. (Was leaving the house anyway.) I kinda want to, but what's the point.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com