Chaos Attraction

No Callback

2021-11-16, 8:58 p.m.

I did not get a callback for The Producers. Scott did. Other Jennifer did. Blonde Sarah (who claimed she wasn't gonna do it?) signed up at the last minute and got one, her mom Jean did not. Only four women got called back at all (Dannette and some other chick I don't know). Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaah. I would like to hope that that's only callbacks for named parts (not that there are many of them for The Producers--I like the show but the parts for ladies with names kinda suck), which I don't really want anyway. They have a disclaimer on the website that just because you didn't get a callback doesn't mean you're ruled out, and this might be a legit reason to not call me back but let me in as ensemble (as opposed to auditioning for Puffs where they said that and it was a giant lie) later and this place tends to have big casts, but....I'm trying to accept right now that it's a no. No getting hopes up.

I am also annoyed that I signed up like a month ago and all the last minute signups are the ones who got in. But they are all more talented than I am, so what do I expect.

In other news, I got a phone call from Rae at 8 a.m. saying she'd missed the bus and her mother's at work (in Fremont) today and could I give her a ride? After getting managerial permission, I headed over there and she was all "I don't have to be there until 10, it's a work day/late start, can we get Starbucks first?" I suspected this was a bit fishy and asked multiple times on the time thing and that's what I got, so I shrugged and was all "okay then, I do have the gift cards on me, what the heck." To quote her directly, "I need coffee more than I need school." I cracked up and said that's most people.

Anyway, upon walking her to adult school, I checked with the staff and yes, it's 8:30. I was all "Uh-HUH, if this happens again I'm just taking you over here." Her mom texted me to say Rae shouldn't have done that (she doesn't know what Rae is going to do! Well, who does? She's a bit wild child) and I was all it's fine for a one-off and I know you were at work, I don't know what was going on with her dad though. I did let her know about the 10 a.m. thing though :P

Work was calm and chill, nothing more to say about it. After work, I got drunk and made myself a chocolate wine float and watched Lucifer with the gang again and also finished off a Hallmark movie. I'm also fucking done updating this website and it is now at current timing, so I can stop copying and pasting incessantly and I won't be too in the hole once Holidailies starts.

Robert asked how it went and suggested working backstage, but I don't know about that one and they may have people for that already. Also, let's face it, if Saturday goes bad I will probably want to avoid him for awhile. Maybe it's all for the best.


Today's Hallmark: "My Christmas Family Tree." THERE IS A CUTE PUPPY!!!!
Vanessa does a DNA test and has ONE match, a paternal one. (One match?! I have like 800 cousin matches on mine...) Vanessa looks up her dad and sends him an awkward email, which he reads WHILE ON A STEPLADDER and promptly falls off of it. Who reads their email off their phone while on a stepladder?!
"Where have you been all my like? That was a joke." And yet, a legit question, which he admits. Her mom died awhile back when Vanessa was 9. "Oh, Trish, you mean Patti...." She now works in foster care placements. He was in the Army and shipped out, he didn't know she was pregnant, didn't get a letter if she sent one, he couldn't find her 2 years later once he got out and then met his future wife. He invites her for the holidays (duh). A family friend can pick her up (I bet he's a hottie?) and the little dog too.
Vanessa meets the fam. The wife is friendly, the kids feel awkward.

Sample conversation with Vanessa and her little bro:
"I've always wanted a brother."
"I've always wanted a brother two, because I already have two sisters sand they can be annoying."
"....Right."

Dad starts to wonder at the Trish/Patty name differential. Good point. Vanessa's pictures of her mom were destroyed in a flood years ago. And then Vanessa gets a phone message--she was mixed up with another Vanessa Hall*'s results. AWKWARD. Suddenly this has become a sad version of "A Very Merry Mix-Up, Biological Edition."
* I note that unlike the name Eleanor Shellstrop, this sounds plausible that there would be 2 of them. I had to look up someone with a fairly common first and fairly common last today and I'd believe it.

After this revelation, Vanessa doesn't know what to do and she can't get to talk to anyone at the DNA company to confirm for sure. Her bestie is all "don't tell them until after Christmas!" and Vanessa is quite rightly "I can't do that," but then gets thrown into "meet ALL the entire family!!!!" things and sad awkwardness ensues and escalates. "First family photo with Vanessa!" That's where Vanessa snaps and confesses.

Then her best friend shows up: "Let me guess, you're the real daughter!" Um, nope. Vanessa feels like she has to flee and everyone is sad now. NOT A MERRY MIX-UP. "I don't want another Vanessa!" the kids now say. I note that the mom seriously just keeps trying to distract people by offering food every time an awkward topic comes up.

"Frankenstein and myrrh" is the gift that Vanessa got for Christopher. NICE.

Everyone wants to keep (False )Vanessa anyway and I'm thinking this may kinda turn into Switched At Birth. But then the dad somehow finds a lookalike picture of the original Patricia Hall and it looks just like Aimee Teegarden. "She IS my daughter! Who wants to go to the Big Apple?" and they all carol outside her building. Um, not that I don't enjoy this, but how are they getting around the DNA test thing now? I guess we're just gonna...ignore that?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com