Chaos Attraction

Ridiculous Work Optimism

2022-11-17, 9:32 p.m.

Morgan got Sally Bowles! I didn't get asked to do Cabaret--looks like they got the bare minimum of people from the auditioners. Four normal women, six "sexy dancers" (I know Sarah, Rachele, Arianna, not the other three). Dannette got Kost. I don't know the guys who got emcee or Ernst or Cliff. I don't know the people who got the older couple, but they are friends of Jan's and married to each other--once I saw they auditioned, I figured they'd get it as a pair. Mary Young is the only one NOT cast in it...that doesn't surprise me, she uh...seems pretty old for that one. 17 out of 18 who auditioned got in.

Eh...I'm fine with not doing it. I think I'll just watch Hallmark movies incessantly all fall instead. I guess I'll have to resort to the Netflix/Hulu ones.

Yemi has, of course, gotten sick after her trip. She said "cold" rather than covid, but, well, you know. I didn't ask if she'd tested for it specifically or not, but wanted to. She said she went to a nephew's birthday party after..and also EVEN THE CAT IS SICK. I thought she meant covid, but I guess it's more like the usual cat vomit level of sick. FUN TIMES. I note another coworker of mine is out all this week after, guess what, returning from a trip. And my new boss is supposed to return from Florida(!) tomorrow, but at least she's working from home tomorrow.

Work: so, remember how I said I found out UPS wasn't going to deliver here, and I told management about this, and they were all "well, we don't know if that's actually going to happen, so let's not do anything?" HAHAHAHAH I WAS RIGHT I WAS RIGHT I TOLD YOU I WAS RIGHT, Because I checked our tracking number today and oh, let's see, it's sitting somewhere and they seem to have no actual plans to deliver it, i.e. "Your package has arrived at a local UPS location and is still being processed for delivery. If you prefer to pick up your package as an eligible facility, select Delivery Options to make arrangements." Uh-HUH, I said, and emailed our shipper to look into it. I also asked on the general channel on work Slack if anyone else had this problem, someone said yes and forwarded me the mail she got from mail services saying this was going to happen! AHEM. I promptly forwarded this on to management, who finally conceded to have THIS package sent to the nearest UPS office 5 minutes away and to pay $17.50 to have that done (I rolled my eyes at that). I suggested we just have all packages sent to the UPS office for the time being and got shut down and told they will deal with each situation individually.

You know what? I know people want Happy! and Optimism! and to ignore all reality, but for fuck's sake, what does it hurt to have them temporarily change the mailing address to a few blocks over and we can just go back to normal with a bit of notification? I repeatedly said I can walk over there for 5 minutes and get packages. I also note that we probably put in a few orders a week with them on average thanks to batch printing, and we don't always know which ones have to get sent here and which do not from those. We're going to have to somehow find out and notify them and in my case, get management approval every effing time?! Come on.

I note that upon hitting refresh on the tracking number, it now says "Delay" and "The delivery date will be provided as soon as possible."

I did have a nice chat with the lady also having mail issues for awhile, telling her what craft fairs to go to. That worked out well because I now have a list of them to send on my mailing list tomorrow.

I did see protestors today marching around some buildings as well. I'm all in favor of the protests, but I fear nothing will come of them. There's nothing quite like a giant money-filled organization claiming they're too poor to boost salaries of anyone who isn't a big shot, isn't there. On a related note, I'm listening to the Patty Hearst episodes of the "American Scandal" podcast and they point out that the SLA's demand was that her daddy give $70 worth of supplies to every poor person...everywhere, I guess?" and the podcast's response to this was that even if the dad owned a mansion or whateverallelse, he STILL didn't have THAT much money. I fear the same will happen here, and I note the online Slack chats from people who had tried to negotiate were excruciating/got nowhere or next to nowhere, so. Later I actually hiked out to the barricade they put up (out of sports equipment) blocking off access to the busses and parking garage--but a whopping FOUR people were sitting there and otherwise it was deserted. Very weird.

And finally, to end the day on an irritating note, I got a frantic "MUST GET MY IG IN PAKISTAN IMMEDIATELY!!!!!" email in the last half hour of the day at work. I write back "here are your shipping options," he writes back to say mail it to the US, I'm putting it in the mail bin right before I leave, AND THEN HE WANTS A DAMN TRACKING NUMBER and it's 4:58 p.m. and I am NOT In the office tomorrow to deal with this. Ugh. I left it there and cc'd the coworker who will be in the office tomorrow because she's gonna have to deal with it. I hate mail.

After work I went over to Ashley's and crocheted while watching TV. I gave her a pattern for the octopus fidget I'm noodling with (brought it over to show) and she's excited to make her own.

I think I have figured out that Frndly TV doesn't actually show Hallmark any more because Hallmark did THEIR OWN EFFING STREAMING SERVICE SEPARATELY and now you have to pay $5.99 a month on top of THAT. Or just get your own Hallmark for $5.99, which I forwarded on to Mom since this is her subscription. We'll see what she says.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com