Chaos Attraction

Anti-Vaxxer

2021-11-18, 10:15 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Therapist Talk - 2021-11-23
Thgin Gninepo - 2021-11-22
The Ship Has Sunk, I Don't Just Mean Titanic - 2021-11-21
Craft Fair Failure - 2021-11-20
Got Into The Producers - 2021-11-19

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

In-office day:

Talked to Grandboss today, who:
(a) showed a photo of the volcano--it's probably at least 4 foot high and up against the wall. I made jokes about you could decorate it like a Christmas tree, since she wants to add lights.
(b) told me about the "I Ate A Bug Club" (I said "You need T-shirts") and showed me a video of her grandson eating a DIY chocolate-covered grasshopper. He couldn't get down the head and eventually spit it out.
(c) also said she's unvaccinated. I thought she said she had gotten it, but um....nope, somehow she got an exemption. Said she'll be wearing masks for the rest of her life.
I....can't even....

The all-staff meeting today: (a) Per the requirement that everyone come in person in the middle of the day and that means they would be spending some time between 8 and 5 driving from their various towns: no, they can't all just work in the office for the day, so they're going to have to work before 8 a.m. to make up for the time. Blech. Not my problem, but geez. (b) In the "reasons why I am no longer bothered to not be working in scheduling any more" department, their manager described their work as, "We're driving with a flat tire and trying to change the tire while driving." She also said they are throwing out the entire applicant pool and starting over again--da fuck? (c) The portals have gone from 1300 questions to 182. Awesome!

Otherwise I mostly dealt with mail again. The giant pile of Important Documents surprise showed up today and I hadn't gotten the mailing labels sent to me yet, but thankfully my guy got them sent to me after about an hour, so I started in on that in the last hour of the day. One irritating thing: there's two sets of two people with the exact same first and last name wanting special mailing. Kill me now.

In other news, two days before a date (or "date," I dunno) and I HAVE AN ENORMOUS FUCKING MASKNE ZIT this week that did NOT shrink after days of putting zit stuff on it, it finally exploded last night and has been behaving in such an unpleasant matter that I had to put a Band-Aid on it before masking up today or else that mask would have been ruined. I kept it on around people all day so they didn't see this horror and when I got home, I swear it's taking up a third of my chin. Good god. One good thing about masks: nobody sees my fucking maskne and clearly it's not gonna be an issue on this date anyway.

I told Yemi the date was on and just us at lunch and she was all "Did you pick out an outfit?" Of course I have, hah hah. She's all "guys are clueless," and no argument here. I said I'm not sure if it's a date if he doesn't know it's a date, since I've been on accidental dates* before and that's embarrassing and sucks. Yemi said that's happened to her too. She also made some comment about kissing him and I said I categorically can't do that, between (a) masks and Covid and oh yeah, I got exposed the other day and (b) his dairy allergy and if I were him I'd lose it if someone surprise kissed me. That part shocked her. Um, no, I wouldn't be allowed to eat any around him if we're going to make out....for four hours according to the Internet.

* i.e. I didn't think it was a date, the guy did and made a move on me at the end of the night, surprise freakout...

Mom also called during lunch (I muted the Yarn Club zoom for like a half hour) and she informed me that her old neighbor Jim lost his bounty hunter license because his staff manhandled people too much. Now he's starting a marijuana farm (being legal for once) with a ton of security. Guns and dogs, I take it? Mom was all, "remember how he got out of the hospital at Christmas to go repossess someone in San Jose?" I was all "no, but I remember how he basically said he knew trained killers if anyone's abusing a child," and we both remember how his girlfriend talked about cow tipping.

I came home to find out via FB that Steve (directing The Producers) is having a CT scan today after finding a lump and a cyst. That's....deeply concerning. (And, I presume, putting off who gets picked for what in the show tomorrow. Though I assume if Steve is unable to direct, Jan will probably do it since she was going to stage manage anyway.) That poor guy is a weird health problem magnet. :(

On the good news side, Rae tested negative on all tests! WHEW!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com