Chaos Attraction

A Jigger of Gin

2022-11-19, 9:35 p.m.

I WAS going to go to the Harvest Festival today. I planned to go early, no less. But I was TIRED TIRED TIRED. Like "I can't drag my ass out of the door or wear pants" level of tired. I gave up and went back to bed. I only got up circa 12:30 when Ashley called and I was all "oh, I forgot I was going to go over there," so I did manage to go over there for like an hour and a half. I passed her the octopus pattern I've been making and we were trying to figure it out together. Then I went back home and did singing lesson.

Morgan is mildly sick (not covid...so far...then again, she just had it so it probably wouldn't be that) and not really able to sing, so that's tricky for her. We did "Good Morning Baltimore," more of the beginning, and then she said we'd skip working on the end since she can't do it right now and maybe I'm not developed enough yet to do that either, so I just went over a few old ones. I told her I wanted to try doing those anyway just to see if I remembered how, more or less. I did "Fifty Percent" again and she said I did the vowels well, but she wished I'd done more chest voice while doing it.

I apparently...just...don't...get the chest thing?

Other than that, I watched a documentary called "My Old School," about a guy who went to high school....again. (I'm spoiling it, but uh, it's foreshadowed pretty heavily.) As a scheme to get back into Scottish medical school, he did another year at high school because the school wouldn't admit anyone over 30. He apparently DOES look "old" to them, but nobody super cares or notices, apparently, and none of the teachers who were around in the 70's remembered him, plus he got a perm and used a Canadian accent and claimed to be from Canada, apparently.

He called himself "Brandon Lee" (right after the actor had died), which I suspect he was doing to foil searches? Good idea, if that was a thing in the early 90's. Dude says he had no idea about Brandon Lee though, and picked his name off 90210. I find it amusing that there was a high schooler there who had THE SAME NAME as the guy's original name--Brian McKinnon, who comments early on that he has a common name--and then surprise, the name's the same.

I note that this show has the animators from Daria portraying the 90's, which is hilarious. Also Brandon/Brian refuses to be seen on camera, so they have Alan Cumming playing him on camera and mouthing along to B's dialogue. What a show.


Saturday show: went smooth like butter in act one, not in act 2, sadly. 1. I had a Shoe Incident (tap shoes wouldn't come off, boots wouldn't come on) and was late on an entrance, which annoys me. Don was a bit late and out from the wrong side, but at least he made it on. That whole section was buggy, sadly, partly because of me, BLEAH. 2. I got the doom buggy robe off. I got the wheelbarrow wrangled all the way to the far end of the stage. I had Stacy at the ready to open the curtains...and then I peek through the curtains and Tiny Tim's bed is blocking the entire way. Odds of getting someone to move the bed before I have to go out are slim to none. "I'm gonna have to go without the wheelbarrow," I say, rip the money basket out of there, and go out...and then bug up the timing of my song. Grrrrr, argh, hate that.

Other than that, all right, but still annoying. We had Jan stage managing tonight so things were perhaps a wee bit off. Thankfully James is on for the rest of them.

Everyone else mentioned being tired all day, so it wasn't just me. Same small audience, don't think I knew anyone in there anyway (I think Andee might have been on the side, but she didn't say hi), so whew there.

Quotes:

Scrooge Scott: "Shall I get you a saucer of milk?" Don: "Only with a jigger of gin in it."

Sage: "I wish my clothes would just hang themselves." Sage also noted that "I've been wearing my pants backwards half the time."

Dannette was talking about a New Year's Eve gala that dragged on forever because of people eating the snacks. "People would just NOT stop noshing on the chocolate fountain."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com