Chaos Attraction

Hopes Up, Hopes DASHED

2022-11-22, 9:41 p.m.

Work: I was greeted with a good news email that after TWENTY YEARS OF THIS BEING BROKEN, the character limits on long names had been fixed! I celebrated...and then actually tested it, AND OF COURSE IT DIDN'T WORK AGAIN. Goddamn, I'm so sick of GiantOrg and this shit. The managers were all, "WE never got that email," and "it's a lie, this isn't going to get fixed, we're not even going to bother to report this to anyone."

Of course the UPS package is still god knows where, too.

Yesterday while in the office I noticed that the shred bin is utterly full and nobody has come to take it away. To which I felt obligated to say "yeah, I'm sure someone has already complained about this and I'm being an asshole again, but um, seriously it's too full to stuff anything into any more." My coworker in office today ran into the same problem. Management was all "we have been emailing them every other week since October started," and were told that "several departments are wiped out between covid and the flu," and we're just going to have to bag all the security trash into paper bags indefinitely.

And I still have people asking me for list information. Finally the original asker was told to file a data request "because you can't possibly want or need all of the information on it" (I doubt this?), and when I said that one of the people who should be on the list for info isn't on it, grandboss was all "He shouldn't be on it and his business partner shouldn't be either." Me: "HUH? You said everyone in XYZ offices was on the list." Well, they shouldn't be, because vague security reasons! I DO NOT UNDERSTAND THIS LOGIC WORTH A DAMN.

Another fun fact: grandboss doesn't want to bother to get the booster because hey, if my sick kid couighed all over me and I still didn't get it...she refuses to get it (along with everyone else) until they actually set a deadline for the requirement. FFS, PEOPLE, IT'S ILLNESS SEASON.

And I got in trouble for yet another fuckup...only 8 fuckups over the last year at least, and new boss was nice about it. But still, I'm so tired of being a fuckup.

Nope, Redhead Sarah is of course not doing karaoke, too tired yet again. Never mind. I'm not going to suggest anything else here. I know I'm not supposed to be offended when people are tired and out of spoons, but when 99% of the time you can't do something, it sucks when there's a small chance and then guess what, that won't happen either. Like WHY BOTHER, why get your hopes up.

Did talk to Ashley (not going either), I told her about the advent thing I signed up for and she may (or may not) want to come along to go shop for that project Friday or Saturday. We'll see.

I bought my first Xmas presents--ordered calendars and nuts from Hawaii for Mom. It was $5 cheaper to ship to me than to her (whee), so there you go.

Other than that, I watched more Leverage (another episode out0, "Steve Martin and Martin Short: An Evening You Will Forget For The Rest Of Your Life,", and "Bathtubs over Broadway," It's about those industrial musicals they made in the 60's.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com