Chaos Attraction

No Mom At Thanksgiving

2022-11-24, 9:43 p.m.

Got a text from Roger at 4:30 a.m. saying they got home from the hospital at 3:30 a.m. (clearly he was still up). Right shoulder is reset but sling needed for awhile, will see an orthopedic guy next week, said she was doing okay. "Don't call early today!!!" he said.
Which, obviously, fine, but um....am I still invited to my cousin's house? To which I don't have an address (look, I remember the street but not the house number, it's been years) and DEFINITELY don't have the gate code for her gated community? UMMMMMMMMM.... can't ask Mom now, she had that info. Shit.

Jess texted to wish me a peaceful thanksgiving. LOL. Had some snark on THAT topic. Texted some people about what was going on during the parade (texted Felicia about Rockettes and texted Robert about them singing 99 Luftpballons in German). Got invited to a craft fair Sunday morning but I don't think I can do that in time, alas (it's a half hour away and I'd have to be back and fed by 12:30).

Mom called at 10:30--"I can only stay in bed so long." I asked if I was still invited, apparently so. (Meanwhile, Evan has already gone elsewhere.) She called to check, gave me the house info, and said don't arrive until 1 after they're done with the Turkey Trot. Fine by me, I can finish watching the parade then.

The parade was great. Started out with Lea Michele (of course) and finished with "Queen Of Christmas" Mariah Carey in a tiara (of course). I enjoyed getting to watch it uninterrupted, sadly missed the dog show due to driving. I'm told the French bulldog won.

At Alicia's, all of the animals there loved me: my aunt and uncle's dog Maddy (once she stopped barking, anyway), house dogs Cain (i.e. the giant golden who thinks he's a tiny lap dog) and their new dog Toby ("like Dug in Up," Alicia said), and their very soft black cat Buster. I was literally weighed down by animals for probably the first 45 minutes of getting there and petting. Very sweet and soft. Cain in particular likes to hold you down with a paw, sprawl on his back, snuggle up against you, etc. And yes, Mom, I did talk to them for like an hour and a half before pulling out the yarn (at which point we were watching Home Alone 2 followed by World Cup, so). The kids were pretty much upstairs/playing on screens (and occasionally yelling), so they weren't around as much.

Dinner was delicious, especially the stuffing and the roasted Brussel sprouts. Dylan got a turkey leg and was very proud of himself, then he got the other one and his parents were all "Hey, nobody else got to eat one and you didn't even finish the first one!" Then Buster jumped up on the table and they were trying to photograph it before he moved (no such luck). I tried to get photos of Cain and Buster snuggling on me, but that did not go well as they kept on moving. The kids were asked about the first Thanksgiving and Aiden was all "I don't remember," and I was all, " Didn't they go over it in school? and he was all "That was in first grade! I'm in fourth!" So Dylan covered that particular topic, pulled out his handmade turkey, etc. (I note Travis showed me the cooking recipe Dylan wrote up in school and it said that the turkey would have dog hair. My pants certainly would agree to that.)

They gave me leftovers to take home AND some delicious wine that I would have drunk more of had I not had to drive home. Yum.

Anyway, I had a very pleasant evening, though I apparently didn't ask enough nitpicking questions or take pictures for Mom for the post-meal phone call. Mom had burger for Thanksgiving :P

Scott did text me a happy Thanksgiving while I was driving (and then later, covered by dogs). I hadn't exactly decided whether or not I was going to respond back (i.e. behave myself), but finally just said "you too," and then later I remembered "oh yeah, I still want that picture off his aunt's phone" and asked about it. He said thanks for reminding him, said aunt was going to be over in a few hours...I presume he probably forgot again after that, though. I did cave and tell him about Mom, he said he was sorry to hear it. So yeah...caved in at the holidays there, sigh.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com