Chaos Attraction

Buggered Solo

2022-11-25, 9:43 p.m.

Slept in. Watched the Guardians of the Galaxy Holiday Special, which was great. Went to the Crocker craft fair, where I bought myself a sticker about being weird and...well, I found one booth that was a big score for me this year: an AMAZING quilling booth where they offered quilled jewelry, something I've been wanting but most people put them on cards only. I bought myself a dragonfly necklace and two pairs of earrings (one theoretically for Mom). Then I was a good girl and headed home instead of trying to figure out where to shop more--well, I considered it, but ended up going home and catching up on my temperature gauge cross stitch, then going back to the Christmas tree advent calendar.

I have been waiting to see if anyone's sick, and it was just announced that Morgan is very sick (not covid) and to come in to redo the dance numbers again. That shouldn't be too hard since we reconfigured to bring her in for most of them...oh,. other than the minuet solo she did with John, uh-oh. Maybe have Soji do it? Other than I don't know if anyone else can do the fishmonger lines--I presume they'll skip that, those are pretty complicated and the only one who's done them is Other Jennifer, who gave up that bit to watch Alex.

Other than that, I'm sad to hear she's (more?) sick--she seemed okay Wednesday over Zoom, anyway.


Friday show: didn't do that much reconfiguring of the dance numbers, other than making sure the allemande was evenly numbered (yanking out Mrs. Fezziwig now) and having Soji substitute in for Morgan in the twirling dance numbers and as the fishmonger ("just make up a bunch of stuff about fish," we all said, which went well.) We don't know what's going on with her other than she said over text she was very sick and it had been coming on all day. I hope it's a 24 hour bug. Filming is tomorrow, which is good that it wasn't today.

The bed got fixed that night, with some kind of three-wheel "roller skate" setup, I'm told.

Scrooge Scott told me he has an Instagram account with 2 photos on it that he updated 8 years ago--and has 50 followers. Why?!?!? What is with people?!

My solo got all fucked up and I'm very bummed I did that. It took so long for the other people in the scene to get through their lines that they finished halfway through my music, and I had no idea what to do and fumbled through the whole damn thing and the number was totally off. I did ask Jan after the show if we can go over it tomorrow and she said yes, which, good. Scrooge Scott said they need to get through it all faster, agreed. Okay, so not a whole lot of people I knew in the audience, but commenting on it happened and I was bummed. (Note: Jessica from B&tB and her boyfriend, in an adorable Baby Yoda sweater I don't own yet and wish I could have photographed.). I hate to have befouled it so much. I didn't want to gripe at people but I kinda do...sigh. Like, this is my one solo EVER, I didn't want to fuck it up! GRRRRRRRR.

After that I had to do my cleaning shift (bathroom, nuff said). I was amused that I Swiffered it and then met up with John (doing the men's) and was all "here's the Swiffer if you want it" and he said he'd rather mop, and then I showed him the mopping setup and he was all. ".... I'd rather use the Swiffer." Smart man.

Then we went to IHOP--Jan/Steve/Dannette/Stacy/Don/Scrooge Scott/me--and I got the breakfast burrito and was a lot happier with that. Had more fun stage-y conversation, and Dannette talked about the time she accidentally cooked spaghetti with Kahlua (in a red bottle, homemade) at age 12. Got home right before midnight.

Quotes: Scrooge Scott to Marin: "I like how your eyes pop out." Marin: "I have to use my only talent."

Noel to Steve during sound track: "I have a special song for you," and then did the "Hello Muddah, Hello Faddah" camp song.

Steve on being thrown into a part at the last minute: "I just make crap up."

Steve to me during sound check: "If I ran into you in a dark alley, I'd be scared of you."

Sage on Thanksgiving: "I had to make a rule at Thanksgiving that we don't sing Christmas Carol songs."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com