Chaos Attraction

Secondhand Embarrassment

2022-11-27, 9:46 p.m.

Slept in again, did nothing but show things. We had a pretty full audience (and I was told a lot of empty seats HAD bought tickets..I don't know what's with that). And the show went smoothly as well, so that's a yay. I think Omar forgot a vest or something, I think the biggest issues were (a) the sound being briefly VERY loud during Link by Link (Marin thought, "Did I do something wrong?), and (b) Sage's Fezziwig dress breaking like mine did right before. They got pinned in and did the rest of the number. I'm told that Jean got those from Woodland, who got them from some donation, so we don't know how they got sewn.

Kimmie originally put some kind of hair gel into the wine glasses for the Fezziwig scene. I note this was about 3 weeks ago, Kimmie hasn't been here since tech week and now the gel has...turned into CHUNKS and nothing but CHUNKS. I expressed complaint to James (along with anyone else who saw them) and he cleaned them out. He said he couldn't replace the hair gel and I said "that's all right, as long as we don't have gross chunks in there."

Quotes:

James: "This is why everyone at Fezziwig's Ball is now dead....This is like cleaning up dog poop.... Does anyone need any more hair gel? I have a whole cupful."

Noel on Scrooge, after Sage says he's still pretty selfish by singing that everything has to do with him: "He was scared straight."

Sage on the morality of The Music Man: "If you follow around this random librarian, she'll marry you." This was followed by everyone saying there's a lot of disturbing things in a lot of shows.

Noel saying her line during sound check: "Shame on him! He said Christmas is a humbug!" Steve: "It is."

Don is ready for "four days of NOTHING."

There was an...interesting...letter written to the town newspaper by a friend of Victor's in which he made every single hum-pun he could possibly think of while writing about the show. I do not think Sage liked it: "I got secondhand embarrassment from the guy."

Other Jennifer, to Alex on his perpetual car racing: "It gets kind of annoying. So we're going to do it one more time and we're not going to do it any more." Also, "make sure you don't pick your nose." (He's totally doing it on stage.)

James to Noel before the show: "Do you want to file a sexual harassment report? Because as the poulterer, people keep checking out your breasts." He's also still disappointed the rubber chickens don't squeak.
Rubber chicken talk led to Noel telling Stacy about that violinist duo that does rubber chicken songs, which Stacy was playing on her phone...right before the show. I seriously wondered if anyone heard it. There is also some "Bohemian Rhapsody" version done with a rubber chicken...which I though," need to send to Scott," and then um, I shouldn't.

"Are you singing today? You're all wearing the same outfit." -Jean, walking by backstage.

Scrooge Scott at the start of act 2: "I have to fart." He said he'd wait until around the end during "There's a fire in his soul." I do not know if he held it that long. Also, "I have eaten so much of this wig."


Afterwards, we had a very large group of people go out to Woodstock's for dinner. Soji/Sage/Marin, Noel/Ben/Noah, Don, Virginia/John, Felicia, me, Sarah, Omar, Scrooge Scott, Danny, Victor, and very eventually Jan...who arrived last, having found out that one of the ushers (Mary Young) got covid today after having been here yesterday, probably talked to everyone directly (yes, me too, probably around a minute) AND then Jan went out for dinner with her and Dannette afterwards. So everyone has been exposed AGAIN and everyone has to start testing this week AGAIN, including tonight (so far so good), sigh...

Aw crap, I can't go to tap class this week again! BLEAH. Oh well, she was going to have a sub anyway.

In other news, anyone who ordered a pizza took over an hour to get it. Like Soji/Sage/Marin/Felicia got there before I did and I got my non-pizza order and had finished it LONG before they all got their pizzas, SHEESH.

Quotes from dinner:

Omar mentioned a game they play in their family called "Yum Yum." In which when everyone is full, they keep taking turns eating one bite at a time until someone throws up. I am not gonna play this game.

On a related note, Omar dressed up as a satyr at the Woodstock's Halloween party and won "Most Creative" and won a free one-topping pizza a month for a year.

Danny doesn't like eating things off other things. He meant like eating chicken off bones, but I was all "so you don't eat stuff off people's bodies, then?"

Felicia on not getting food: "We've decided to be Revolting Children from Matilda as a flash mob to get food." Danny wishes he could be Trunchbull.

Scrooge Scott told several jokes (after Sage left) involving sexual positions 77, 76, and 696, I believe. I am a dirty-minded girl and um, I think even I won't repeat those.

After Jan was about to ask where her pizza was, it showed up. We found out after that that if something shows up after you ask for it, you should then ask for a million dollars.

They have recruited ONE guy for Cabaret so far. Jan said the line will be, "And now, presenting the Cabaret waiter." Scrooge Scott: "So you're looking for a nice young Nazi." Danny: "I'm more of a Hitler. I've now played Hitler a few times." Stacy: "Dancing Hitler or singing Hitler?" Danny: "Singing Hitler."


And as of now, I have finally finished updating Diaryland up to today! With three days to go before Holidailes! Huzzah! Now back to yarn.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com