Chaos Attraction

Alaska Daily

2022-11-28, 10:36 p.m.

Mom: texted me to say she was going to the ER again with a numb hand which she's had since FRIDAY, turns out to be nothing more than "sit up instead of lying down," thank goodness.

No protests going on today? The bus terminal was unblocked. Strike still going into week three according to Reddit.

Steve updated the FB page to ask everyone to test on Thursday. I guess they don't care so much if we test before then. I may not bother today/Wednesday since I still feel fine and don't have reason to need to (i.e. symptoms) otherwise.

Work: I went into work today and lo, the missing package was still missing and nowhere to be found. Added bonus: ID company is shipping us another one today and two more are to come next month....y'know, to an address UPS refuses to deliver to. ONCE AGAIN I asked, can y'all in management please make other arrangements/HAVE THEM MAILED ELSEWHERE?!?!?

I heard back from the company and... GUESS WHAT, UPS LOST THE PACKAGE. Goddamned UPS. Also, I asked about this last week and got "there's nothing we can do, it's up to UPS!" ... TO LOSE IT. What the hell is the point of a tracking number if we can't track it? The printing company is going to ship us new ones, to the alternate address a block away. Management also agreed that for our next monthly order this week, they'll have it mailed to the alt address. But as for the other ones being sent here...Nope! We're just going to have them sent here and hope for the best! They MIGHT ship it!

....Words cannot express my rage at this level of FFS. Also, old boss was annoyed that we paid $17 to have the address changed and never got them (I said she should ask for a refund). But if that annoys you, WE CAN LITERALLY CHANGE THE ADDRESS BEFORE MAILING FOR FREE AND NOT HAVE TO DO THAT instead of having this problem come up again...three more times?!? THE HELL?!?

I do not get this logic. I seriously thought today, "if I saw you were about to walk into a pothole, would you want me to warn you or just be Optimistic! and hope you see the hole on your own?!"

Other than that: slogged through checking a year's worth of issues, am about 3/4 done but have the longest section to go. Had various meetings. Had a pleasant one with NewBoss over the giant list of stuff that we don't necessarily know.


Tonight I am watching "Alaska Daily," a show someone recommended to me. Hilary Swank is playing, well...an unpleasant hardass reporter who gets "canceled" after one of her sources turns out to be false. She gets recruited by a former editor of hers that's now in Alaska to investigate a pattern of missing/murdered indigenous women nobody cares about. Eileen is...unpleasant to watch, in the pilot, I have to say?

That said, she gets a LOT better. She's a great mentor/helper to her fellow reporters (I really enjoy the one where she's working with the intern) and helps them win. And as a former small town reporter, I wish life was like that! She teams up with the Alaskan version of her named Roz Friendly (the name cracks me up), who's also a total badass, to look into missing/dead indigenous women. Heck, this show takes an episode about the state fair and the intern being assigned to write about the prize cabbage into a story about a guy going off the edge and possibly being in a terrorist organization.

Okay, so it sounds like it'll be canceled immediately. But I'll enjoy it while it lasts. That's all you can do these days. I'm really enjoying it while it's here and highly recommend it if you got Hulu.

Also, I have discontinued my Frndly TV subscription and signed up for Hallmark Movies Now, with Mom paying for it. Yay Mom! Tomorrow starts HALLMARK MARATHON!!!!

And finally, I have been working on a new Christmas tree advent calendar. I actually finished the whole tree and star/garland. Now on to make 25 ornaments to put on it...and wait for it to block because I had to wet it down to flatten it out. I hate blocking in winter because it'll take a week to dry, but eh...had to be done.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com