Chaos Attraction

Tentative Agreement?

2022-11-29, 9:16 p.m.

Work: Still doing tedious stuff at work. We shall not get into that.

Shipping news: the reordered package was shipped today....AND WILL NOT SHOW UP UNTIL NEXT WEEK. Da fuck?! I thought it was supposed to be rushed, which means 24 hours. The hell? Now everyone's going to complain at us AGAIN.

Strike news: some kind of tentative agreement has been reached. I'm not entirely clear what any of it means (I emailed my striking friend to ask). There appear to be agreements for the postdocs (i.e. friend), I am unclear if anyone got enough of a pay raise to afford housing here or not though? It looks like pretty good (?) raises for them, I guess? Doesn't sound like there's any word on the TA's/grad students, though. I am terrible at numbers so it sounds vaguely good to me, but hell if I know.

I saw some comments online from some people saying, "I didn't think we'd hit a third week, I thought we'd be done by now" and I was all LOLOLOLOL to this. Strikes usually go around 3-6 weeks here from what I recall. I did look up the last strike and I guess "officially" it might have lasted longer, but from my recollection it pretty much petered out due to pandemic.

On a related note, someone said our pay raises would be on the next paycheck, and I straight up Did Not Understand the explanation as to how to look this up. I felt so stoopid. It was all "sign up at this website" and I'm all, I am not creating another fucking login and password to use some website ONCE, thanks. And our HR website is a giant fucking toilet and was no help. (Per conversation with New Boss yesterday: "I asked our old boss, since she went to HR, and she was all, don't even get me started.") I did find out that I got around $100 less on my last paycheck than the other ones, which confuses me greatly. I didn't see anything on the pay stub that explained that, particularly? Unfortunately our pay varies from check to check now based on some kind of ....percentage stuff...???..., which is irritating and confusing and I can't figure it out. I miss monthlies that were the same every month.

Audition news: I found an audition for Saturday afternoon for some one act plays in Sacramento. I know two of the playwrights (one who's done Shiny Unicorn shows, another one I knew IRL pre-pandemic), and I have the free time to do them since I won't be going anywhere now. I'm only into one of the play ideas, but eh...I could just do it for fun.

The one issue here is that this is the theater that Steve got handicapped for life at when their bleachers broke. For obvious reasons, he hates them (they never asked how he was doing or anything, it's justified). Admittedly this would be more of a "for fun" audition and I don't super care if I get in or not since only one of the shows sounds up my alley (it's a superhero one), but having to admit in public/on my resume I did a show there might super not make him happy and I feel bad about that. Also, I might wanna go to craft fairs instead that day? Still pondering this....

Oh, never mind, Dawn wants to go to another craft fair at the same time and said it's supposed to be 100% raining that day, which means I sure AF want to skip driving to Sac. i feel less guilty now. Also, their tech week was during other auditions, so.

Ashley called and said she and her dad got sick. She tested on Saturday (last time I saw her, she was fine) and now has symptoms of whatever today. Hasn't bothered to test yet. I was all "welp, already got exposed Saturday ANYWAY, so.... no difference here, I guess."

Therapy: I actually had a therapy appointment today, given the mama drama. My therapist was quite aghast at my mom's getting out of the house with a broken shoulder and Roger STILL not knowing. I said I really don't know what's going to go on for Christmas since I don't think she can (or should, GOD NO) go into Hoarder House, much less clean off the bed. (My therapist suggested I just go in and do things and I was all, she'd lose her mind if I moved anything.) Even with this level of damage, she probably still won't change, so what's the point. I guess maybe I just drive down for Christmas Day and go back here to sleep or something? Eh...not going to plan that one out right now. Told her work was going better, theater blah blah, and I relapsed by talking to Scott twice this week. She didn't consider it a relapse (compared it to quitting smoking, which she would certainly know about more than I would) , and did it make me happy to see him (yeah) and is he special to me. I said yeah, but I don't WANT him to be...and the point is to make him not special here. Sigh.

After work I continued to work on the advent calendar, and did a Stitches online hangout, which was fun, if more into cooking and covid chat than I was into at times. I did enjoy people swearing, and someone saying, "I got a lot of searches for crack pipes because I'm in recovery...." and "It's a term of endearment in Ireland to call a woman cunt, btw." Also, "I think we can all agree that macrame got taken a bit too far at some point, but I think it's time to bring it back."

Much to my disappointment, the Hallmark Movies Now doesn't put up ANY current movies. They are restricting them to actual cable, apparently. Da fuck?! I quit the subscription immediately. So mad.

And finally, I made three ornaments for the advent calendar and--they all came out too big for the tree, darn it. They're not supposed to whack into the other ornaments. I'm going to have to scrap these (or put them on a regular tree) and make them all out of smaller yarn, apparently. Grrrr.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com