Chaos Attraction

Calling In Sick Today

2013-12-02, 7:12 p.m.

I called in sick to work this morning. I was... somewhat feeling better by that time, or at least I was able to sit up without too much agony even if I wasn't sure I could make it sitting upright for a 9 hour day at the time.. I.... probably could have sucked it up and gone in to work at that point, I suppose. But I didn't sleep all damn night despite going to bed at 9 p.m. (I think I'd been wide awake for 24 hours despite all the time I spent in bed yesterday, go figure) and was pretty well fuzzy while trying to call in, so...heck with it, I called in.

And then I actually fell asleep for several hours and woke up... pretty much fine again. I forgot about the healing powers of calling in sick and then going back to sleep and how that magically fixes everything wrong with you. The weird back fever I had yesterday was gone, and the residual twinging I had in my back at 7 a.m was even gone. I was able to actually get up and wash my face (something I wasn't up to yesterday) and clean the house like I normally do on Sundays. I felt functional enough to debate going back to work halfway through the day.... Which is how I always end up feeling kind of guilty for calling in sick: a few hours after I've done it, I'm back to being fine again. But you know what, never mind. I still needed to do other chores I would have gotten done yesterday like getting lunch fixins for the next few weeks.

Oh, and at 11:30 my appetite came back! I guess I'm all better now.... I ended up going to the grocery store and hitting the thrift stores--I had the idea to buy some plain green sweater and deck it out "ugly Christmas sweater" style, but I really just didn't find anything I wanted to bother to pay money for. So scratch that idea. There was also a scary homeless dude wandering through the Goodwill screaming at the top of his lungs about how his diabetic socks were stolen TWICE. Sigh. And after that, I went to the gym, so good for me. It was a nice, relaxing day.

Oh, and to answer today's "what is your favorite holiday song" prompt, I already did this a couple of years ago.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com