Chaos Attraction

Christmas Vacation's Not As Fun As It Used To Be

2004-12-10, 9:09 p.m.

Kind of a slow day today. I started out in a good mood and it kind of petered out.

I finally heard back from the counseling people at work (they offer some kind of 1 or 2-shot free counseling deal for employees), and I have made an appointment for next Thursday. I don't know how that's going to go, but we'll see.

I also got "official" notification that my office will be closed for a full on week-and-a-half. How did I get this news, you ask? I got passed a "here's how to change your voice mail to say you'll be gone" message. Too bad I don't actually HAVE voice mail :P

So now here's the debate: do I tell my mother I am absolutely free and clear to spend a week and a half with her, helping her take care of Dad, or lie and claim I have to go back to work on the 28th or so? And can I even get away with that without her finding out from someone the truth?

*sigh*

Realistically, I know I'm going to have to tell her the truth and go home. She desperately needs me and I can't be a selfish bitch about it at this point. I can't, I can't, no matter how much I don't want to. I have no good excuse not to go home for the entire time other than to be a selfish brat. I need to buckle down and accept my destiny.

Oh well, I have this one weekend out of the entire month to have things be quiet and peaceful before my family stuff kicks in. I'll have to enjoy it while I can.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com