Chaos Attraction

End of Someone Else's Era.

2010-12-11, 6:37 p.m.

I don't have much time to write-- after a dull day, Mom decided she wanted to do Victorian Christmas after all and is about to arrive here soon-- but I wanted to get something up anyway.

This saddened and horrified me. I worked there a long, long time ago and I can't believe that guy got canned. (Nor can I believe my other editors there at the time did, but I heard about those awhile back.)

I got to go to one party years ago and it was awesome. I am sad to hear it's probably the end of an era, and that people sound like they're getting canned for the holidays.

Sigh.

All things considered, my old boss did me a favor by laying me off in the last recession. Because man, I'm glad I don't work in that industry now and had the time to get established (such as it is) elsewhere. It just kills me that the news business is dying. Everywhere, not just in my small burg.

My career counselor, the last time I saw her, said I should go for writing jobs. Why? They're dying off. What's the point?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com