Chaos Attraction

Holiday Music Playlist

2009-12-19, 9:23 a.m.


So, most years during Holidailies I go on about my penchant for wacky-ass Christmas songs that you won't be hearing over the PA in the mall. (What can I say? Some people bake cakes to get them in the holiday mood, I make wacky mixes.)

This year I was kind of hampered in my mix taping since I have been having computer issues. My iTunes collection is on my spare drive, but I can't monkey with it while all the computers are running Linux, I'm not getting my new Windows laptop until Christmas. So, what to do?

Well, about a month ago I discovered the joys of playlist.com, which lets you play tons of songs on their players, and their selection is really good. So I have gone to work on making a very large Christmas (and any other dang holidays I can find, which is hard) playlist. And guess what! I can share it with y'all!

How sad is it that 5,676 songs come up when you search for Christmas, and I ah, looked through all of them to make this? Oh yes. And came out with 129 in the end that I deemed worthy of my particular brand of mix.

On a random note, there are a LOT of songs that talk about Christmas in various locations. Do a search on "Christmas in" if you're curious. I didn't end up leaving that many in the mix because they weren't weird enough for my tastes, but I had no idea that was such a strong theme in songwriting.

(Note: some songs in the mix are dirty. Do not play list loudly around small children.)

I'll also point out my new-to-me favorites (numbers are where to find them in the playlist):

#1: "I Want An Alien For Christmas" by Fountains of Wayne: This is one you'll actually hear on the radio this year, but I like it. Who doesn't want a 3-foot tall little green guy?
#20: "Spaceman Came Traveling." Well, THAT's a different take on the experience.
#46: "Stop Giving Me Crap For Christmas" by Bobby Gaylor. Who doesn't agree with that? Nice list rant.
#71: A Chainsaw For Christmas: Zombina and the Skeletones. This is a fun one about a Goth girl.
#72: "Xerox Christmas Letter" by Ray Stevens: Starts out with the perfect family's letter, ends in trailer park drama! I love trailer park drama at Christmas!
#77: "Christmas Time For My Penis" by The Vandals: The Vandals are evidently very twisted. I left this one on (I deleted a lot of the particularly foul/sexually explicit songs I dug up. Afroman, your Christmas album is disturbing)) just for kicks, though.
#79: "JD's For Christmas." I've got a JD's ad in my usual Christmas collection, but I hadn't heard this one before. It features the "Christmas queer" who will do your shopping for your wife. I wouldn't be so thrilled with the q-word being dropped, but it kinda has a point.
#91: "Mom and Daddy, Please Don't Steal For Me This Christmas" by Suzannah. Some songs just leave you kinda breathless for one reason or another. Um, yeah, this is one of 'em.
#92: "For Christmas I Got Pityriasis Rosea" by The Research. Okay, where the heck are you ever going to hear a song like this unless I dig it up for you? Who would think to write it (other than a science nerd, I'm presuming)?
#94: "Have Yourself A Filthy Little Christmas" by Unknown. Oh, you sassy, pissed-off Brits! Attitudinal, but fun.
#100: "I'm Gonna Spend My Christmas With A Dalek" by The Go-Go's. This sounds dangerous to me. Guys? Daleks are not hippos or elephants. If you bring one into your living room, IT WILL SHOOT YOU. You cannot make it happy except for when you DIE. Oh, logic.
#102: "Down With The Christmas" (parody of Down With The Sickness) by The Paybacks. This is a surprisingly good fit for a parody. Good job!
#105: "Barnyard Christmas" by the Bell Sisters. Here's the requisite "kitsch I somehow missed" entry. Odd but not that bad, for something that sounds like it was on Ed Sullivan.
#106: "Blinky And Sparkle Save Christmas." Oh my, is that DIRTY. Hoo boy.
#107: "You Ain't Getting Shit For Christmas" by Red Peters. This is one of those Drastic Change of Tone things that can be such fun. It starts out all sappy and then when the kids bail on showing up for Christmas, smashing and drinking starts. Awesome!
#109: "Christmas At Denny's" by Randy Stonehill. Yup, it's a depressing country song. But it fits. Sometimes I throw in the occasional "normal" (that'd be the selections from Love Actually) or "bummer" song, here's the latter.
#110: "Cold Blooded Christmas" by Jon Lajoie. OMFG. Bad, bad, horrible bad. Hoo boy. Posted here for shock factor.
#115: "A Poor Boy's 12 Days Of Christmas" by Dysfunctional Family Band. Pretty much a country song version of nothing but trouble, but there's an unexpected happy ending...
#116: "Santa's Eating The Christmas Tree", by Dysfunctional Family Band. 'Nuff said.
#121: "Christmas Megamix" by Cheekyboy. VERY good mix.
#123: "His Favorite Christmas Story" by Capital Lights: The story of a trucker who never forgot a nameless girl he danced with in 1937. Pretty upbeat given the subject matter, actually.
#126: "All I Want For Christmas Is A Brother" by Brielle. She means a JONAS brother.
#127: "Cybernetic Ghost of Christmas Past from the Future" by Aqua Teen Hunger Force: Oh, just listen to it, I do not know what to say about that one.


Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones



previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com