Chaos Attraction

Fortunes, Farscape, and Food

2004-12-22, 12:05 p.m.

Here's the fortunes I got in my bag of cookies this year:

Random "what the hell is this?" ones:
* The lovely things of life are as necessary as the air by which you live.
* You love sports, horses and gambling, but not to excess.
* Cooperate with those who have both know-how and integrity.

(Um, yeah, that sports one? Bwahahahahahah, I don't think so.)

The "Pack yer bags" ones:
* Prepare for a short journey; you will be recalled by an unexpected
event.
* You will fly on business and for pleasure to many places.

Short journey, sure. Many places, no.

The "making the money, racking up the career stuff" ones:
* You will win success in whatever calling you adopt.
* You will be awarded some great honour.
* You are slated for advancement.
* You will have good luck and overcome many hardships.
* You will overcome the attacks of jealous associates.
* Money regarded as lost or thrown away will return to you as unexpected
profits.

All good, but who's jealous of me?

Whee! Social life!:

* You are going to have some new clothes.
* You will be a great social success.
* You will have many friends,
* You will be called upon to help a friend in trouble.
* A member of your family will soon do something that makes you proud.
* Your help will be needed in an embarrassing situation.

Argh:

* Too many by far, especially love adventures.
* You or a close friend will be married within a year.
* In love you could shine as a brilliant star.

I told Heather she's the one getting married. It's so obvious.


And speaking of... I've been busy the last few days. On Monday, Heather's old roommate Erin came for a visit and we were hanging out (hence yesterday's mention of her), and then Chris came over and was showing Erin and I what he'd gotten for Heather for Christmas. I have never heard of a guy spending that much money on a girl in my LIFE. Damn. I've gotten the occasional decent birthday gift from a guy (Dave gave me his DVD player and previous ex gave me a evening gown), but Christmas was always a washout. He was jumping up and down about all the stuff he was giving her. A cowboy guy, JUMPING UP AND DOWN, folks. One of these gifts involved a ring- not a diamond solitaire engagement type, but little diamonds were in it- and he gave that one to her early, even though it needs resizing.

Who, me, jealous?

Anyway, we all went out to dinner, which was fun. I don't think Heather and I have done the meal thing since....god, maybe July? Yikes.
And then last night I went out to dinner with Denise, and heard about various things with her, including why she doesn't want to date either, the guy friend with a crush on her that she can't get interested in (oh, I know that one), and her sister deciding she looked "too fat" in all of her clothes to make the movie they were supposed to go to later that night. Whenever Denise and I are together, we tend to end up on the topic of How Your Mum And Dad Fuck You Up, and how we'd really rather not pass on the bad things we learned to future children. No wonder we get along.


I ended up telling my cousin Matt that I won't be coming to his wedding. I couldn't really figure out how the hell I'd solve the problems it would cause me to go. Getting there and back is manageable, but how I'd get around in a strange part of the country in the dead of winter with no driving skills, and where I'd even stay, by myself, was giving me wiggins. Hell, dead of winter and snow gives me wiggins. Also making things awkward is that signups at the CC and EC are January 7th and 10th, and I'd have to miss both days to go to the wedding. Signing up for things after that would be....awkward. Assuming I could GET IN to anything late, mind you. But the real kibosh on the whole thing, since I'd been thinking I'd try to go regardless of the other problems, was the whole vacation days debacle. Ugh.

I feel guilty, as does Mom, who'd go in a heartbeat except she can't because of Dad. But I kinda knew that going to it wasn't going to happen anyway.


I can say now that my presents are Officially Done. I got the last book for Mom in the mail last night, and have declared myself done on the last gift I'm making. I'd keep going, but timewise I'm pretty much dead in the water. Hell, I'll still have to pack tonight for a week and a half, argh. I'll probably end up doing that until 2 a.m. or something, since I don't think I'll be home much tonight either.

I still haven't tried the whole meditation thing yet. I started collecting "sacred space" items per the book's instructions, but I am not going to be lighting a buttload of candles for this thing. I know everyone says, "Light candles, light candles!", but (a) the only place I have to do this in is my bedroom, (b) the only place I have to work on it in there is on my bed, there's no space anywhere else, and (c) I ain't tempting fate by lighting my bed on fire. I'd like to think I could give it a try before I leave, but realistically, that's not gonna happen.


Mainly I just keep running out of time between working on the last gift and trying to watch my Farscape DVD's while I still have time to. I finally started on Season 4 and...it really starts out sucktastic, doesn't it? Jesus. And what is with Grayza? (For non-viewers, Grayza is a military commandant, female, who got some gland implanted in her titties that makes men her moronic love slaves. She wanders around in uniform with her boobs half hanging out.) I was watching the interview with her portrayer on the second DVD and she was going on about how smart this character was and how she'd studied the show because the character was a product of Sebacean (her alien race- which is pretty much just like humans except with a rabid military, no pair-bonding, and no heat tolerance) culture. And I was going, "Um, not the way she's written, honey."
The cool thing about this show is that it's gender-stereotype-free for the most part, and women are equally strong warriors along with men. But no other Sebacean women on this show run around flashing titty and seducing every male within reach. No other women have had to fuck their way to the top the way say, human women might have to. One has to wonder how sucky of a military woman Grayza was before she got the tit-sweat implant (which drastically cuts down your life span, to boot) if she couldn't make it with her own brains and personality in a military that normally doesn't care what's between your legs or on your chest. It annoys me to be watching her be a hobag and being reminded that the human real world operates a lot more like that than this nice fictional place. It doesn't go with the rest of the show.
Then again, neither does Grayza's makeup. The Sebaceans are the only other species on the show that always looks like a normal human. The show runs the gamut of really foreign-looking aliens (including puppets, people who are blue or gray, and tons of prosthetics and computer stuff) to Star Trek-ish aliens who look like humans except for one or two weird quirks in their looks (i.e. slightly strange hair, or funny-colored eyes, or Phantom-type issues, or a slightly off makeup job on someone that looks otherwise human that throws in a few scales or something) and one or two biological weirdnesses. Which is fine, since I'm sure Farscape has to save some money from time to time, and puppets cost a buttload. But why the hell are they making a human-looking woman have unnatural blue eyes and strange shiny-yet-matte makeup when no other Peacekeeper soldiers wear makeup? (The Breakaway Colony Sebaceans, on the other hand, use way too much ugly orange makeup, but that's another story.) She looks like she's some sort of half-breed herself- and since that goes against plot (most Sebaceans are all about the pure blood), I know that's wrong, but she doesn't look like 100% straight Sebacean and she's supposed to! What the hell?

Um, yeah, I know this is a rant that doesn't make sense to most of y'all and it's about a show that's over anyway. I'm done now.


Continuing with the tree-hugging-hippie-crap again, I think I mentioned earlier that I went so far as to pay for a one year transition forecast on Monday. Considering that the last time I paid for something like that (a chart from the Surviving Saturn's Return chicks- it never showed up, even though they first told me they'd look for it twice, then I never heard back from them again after I tried contacting them a third time. So don't get one from them, folks. I liked their book, but online they are not reliable.), I was nervous giving it another try, and figured I'd get my money taken with no paperwork once again. I am happy to report that Astrology Source sent me my report this morning- 180 pages with a complimentary chart attached. I started to print out the report this morning, hit "print," then realized, "oh, crap, 120 pages?!?!" Luckily I got the thing to stop before printing out them all for the office to notice.
On the one hand, I must applaud their thoroughness. On the other hand, this is gonna be a long, slow read even for a speed-reader. I'm going to have to stick it into my Documents To Go on my Palm, but I wish I knew how to format RTF into an eBook format. Preferably by finding a program for Windows that does that for free (since I only want to convert the one thing). Hmmm. Well, if I have any time at all, I'll give downloading something and trying it a shot.
(And speaking of Palms, did I mention my Psychic Living book has now come out in eBook? And that I'm considering buying it in eBook format just so I'd have it easy to carry around with me? Sheesh.)
Reading it is a big wade- instead of saying something nice and overall like, "January should be a dull month, but February rocks because of blah blah influence", it does an analysis for pretty much every day. Frankly, I think I would have prefered more of an overview. Here's what the days around my birthday say, for example:

"Apr 18, 2005 (Apr 17, 2005 to May 11, 2005) Ven 7th H.
This is a very favorable time for meeting people, particularly potential friends or romantic partners. You are feeling especially open-hearted and will find that others are very receptive to your friendly overtures. You want companionship and affection very much at this time and will not want to go it alone.

Apr 23, 2005 11 AM(Apr 22, 2005 to Apr 24, 2005) Sun Oppos Asc
A significant personal encounter or confrontation occurs today. You cannot, and probably will not want to, be alone now. This is a time to reach out to people and to get others' input or counsel. Listen to your mate or a friend who can enlighten you at this time. Also, consulting a professional for health, business, or personal reasons will be very constructive and fruitful now.

Apr 23, 2005 (Apr 22, 2005 to May 23, 2005) Sun 7th H.
Partnerships, marriage, and your close one-to-one relationships engage much of your attention now and you are called upon to cooperate and perhaps to relinquish some of your own personal interests for the sake of harmony and mutual benefit. The emphasis is on "we" rather than "me". You will not wish to go it alone and will seek the companionship and counsel of others.
If you are having difficulties in some area of your life, now is the time to seek the advice of a counselor or consultant, someone with an objective point of view.

Apr 24, 2005 3 PM(Apr 23, 2005 to Apr 25, 2005) Sun Conj Sun
Today you want to stand out, to be the center of attention, and receive recognition. It is a time to appreciate who you are as a unique individual. This is the beginning of a new year for you, and you feel charged with new energy, vitality, and sense of purpose.

Apr 24, 2005 5 PM(Apr 23, 2005 to Apr 25, 2005) Sun Sqr Juno
Intimate relationships could come under increasing strain from clashes of will, jealousy, selfishness, or authority issues. You might feel at cross-purposes with your mate, one or both of you trying to prove your self-importance. Pay close attention to preserving the respect, dignity, and commitment in your marriage or partnership. Try to avoid acting overbearing toward your spouse or mate and instead attempt to be more tolerant of their individual needs at this time. It is best not to allow too much pride to get in the way of coming to an agreement or compromise with your partner.

Apr 24, 2005 (Apr 22, 2005 to Apr 26, 2005) Juno Trine Mars

You are very receptive to displays of physical and sexual contact with your marriage partner or in an intimate love relationship. There is a passionate, playful quality to your lovemaking, and the urge to connect with your mate is intensified. You put your energies into making your relationship stimulating and exciting. You know the appropriate balance between asserting your desires and providing a gentle touch. Your partner responds with equal impulses and sensuality toward you. If you have a quarrel with your mate at this time, you will display your anger but you will be quick to forgive.
If you are not in a committed love relationship or marriage, you may have an opportunity to meet someone through an important male in your life. Or you may find it easier than usual to take the initiative in exploring or pursuing a new love relationship."

In general, it makes me sound like I suddenly get very needy and need a boyfriend right nownownownownow for my birthday, and then we fight and make explosive whoopee or something on the day of. Eeesh.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com