Chaos Attraction

Festivus Sweater Grievances

2009-12-23, 8:04 a.m.


Happy Festivus! Here's my grievances for today! Normally, I wouldn't even mention this. But I'm out of pre-written entries, nothing else has happened yesterday...so here you go.

Truths Universally Acknowledged When It Comes To Sweater Knitting:
(a) You will, inevitably, sew one sleeve in wrong, no matter how much you thought you checked ahead of time. (This also applies to sewing fabric.)
(b) When asked to "pick up and knit," you will inevitably be short on stitches the first time you do it. And then have too many the second time you do it. Three times redoing the pick ups is a minimum rule.

I was up at 3:40 a.m. finishing Mom's Christmas sweater for the year, finally finishing it at 6:30 a.m. this morning. (Note pajamas.)

It came out TERRIBLY. The fronts came out longer than the back, even with accounting for heavy boobage and cabling. It hangs all kinds of funny at the shoulders. Maybe blocking (again) might help if I did it on the finished sweater, but I don't have the time to get it soaking wet and press it flat for three days NOW, since according to the instructions I had to do that with the separate pieces before sewing it together and that wasted 3 days of work time I could have had as is (i.e. wouldn't have been up at 4 a.m. on a work day).

Oh, adding to the fun, Mom was all, "oh, btw, I DID give your dad's side cousins their Christmas gifts last year, it was just your aunt and uncle I never bothered to give the gifts to, so you DO have to come up with something for them this year." I was all, "you NEVER said that," and she swears up and down that she did (she tends to leave names out of conversation, so I bet she THOUGHT she did...), so now I have to ass pull gifts on December 23. Yup, they're all getting soap now too.

Today I am leaving work at 2:15 p.m. (thank you, shorter hours), and I think I am going to go see Avatar before going home. It's just too socially awkward NOT to have seen it on opening weekend, it turns out.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com