Chaos Attraction

Long Day, Part 1: The Sickening.

2006-12-27, 10:52 p.m.

Very, very, very long day. The 26th was, that is.

Part 1: The Sickening.

It was determined last night that someone would give me a ride to the train station so I could leave at 10:10 a.m. That someone turned out to be my cousin Kristen, who was supposed to go into work by 10.

We left around 9:30.

On the freeway, she started quietly puking into her door side. While driving. And yet, she never swerved or crashed. You have to admire that level of skill.

Anyway, she didn't know what it was (food poisoning, she guessed), but figured she'd get over it and go off to work...well, after going home and changing clothes, first. As you can imagine, that didn't happen.

That didn't go so well. Between the puking and the street construction going on, we didn't get to the train station until oh, 10:07, at which point I was like, "Um, I'm not gonna make the 10:10, so let's not even try. You rest in the car, I'm gonna go buy a ticket for the next train and then go get you some napkins."

Yeah, I'm stoopid, but I never took Amtrak on the 26th before and didn't think it was going to be THAT busy in daylight. Hah hah hah.

Anyway, the next train wasn't for two hours, so I got the ticket, got napkins, got lunch at Starbucks, called Uncle Brad to come get Kristen, and waited with her until her parents showed up. Aunt Susie waited with me until the train came, just to make sure this time I got on it, and we had an interesting conversation about Mom and/or how I should go to grad school.

I found out later that apparently three other people at Kristen's work had come down with the puking flu. Now I'm terrified that I'm going to get it. Though to be fair, if one MUST get the puking flu, it'd be better if I did it while at Mom's house than at my own, and during vacation rather than a work day (tiny trash cans there that are taken out twice a week, and it's 2 flights of stairs to the nearest can). But still, I stocked up on the zinc and vitamin C and whatnot later, just in case.

I was very grateful that I was getting on at Sacramento instead of my usual the next stop over, because the train was pretty much all full at Sac alone. Very crazy. I saw some chick come back from the food car at some point and she asked, "Did the Second Coming occur yet?"

I did figure out something smart: call Mom at the stop 25 minutes ahead of my arrival instead of 15 minutes. She didn't figure out I pre-emptively called and actually was on time to get me (and kinda pouty that OMG, she'd have to PARK).

Okay, I'm going to have to save the rest of this for posting an entry later- odds are I won't have the time to do it OR write anything before late, late late tomorrow, so I'd better save what I've got pre-written.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com