Chaos Attraction

Spring Fling Show

2022-04-23, 2:52 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Los Trabajawhores - 2022-04-28
The Pope's A Whore Too - 2022-04-27
I Stabbed A Bitch - 2022-04-26
Just Kill Me Already - 2022-04-25
Chaos Magnet Birthday - 2022-04-24

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

The show tonight has sold out, which is a first!

I skipped Picnic Day this year. I did watch the parade online and Rae and her mom were in it, hahahahah. I also watched the Doxie Derby, which is always a delight.

My usual online class got postponed by a week and I ended up doing another online class on eclipses, which was cool, but Question Time went on and on and people kept asking "quick questions," which went on into great personal details for minutes and I was all, quick questions, my ASS. One girl had a similar question to me back in the day--my ex who I still love is having an eclipse on his Venus soon, what does that mean for us getting back together? The teacher said "beats me" and I was all "he doesn't love you, is what happened to me."

After that, I went to set construction, where they finished building the giant revolving door (except for the ...actual door) and then painted most of the stage before running out of paint. I left before they finished, as Steve had to go get more paint. Staff today: Jared/Alisa/Jillian, Rhiannon, Arielle, both Sierras, Isaiah, Felicia.

Quotes:

Isaiah to me: "You were wearing an outfit so rainbow the other day I almost became gay." Me: "Thank you! It was Catch a Rainbow Day, but I didn't know that when I got dressed!"

Steve on Cabaret, paraphrased that they lower a Nazi flag and then have a BBQ.

After Steve found some tiny bent piece of metal and was making jokes that he used to be able to wear it around his neck (Jared: "Olive Oyl?"). This was followed by, "I would never think of making a joke about using this for my schmeckel."

Steve on the giant door: "I love building giant sets. Jan hates it. Stage managers hate me." Later, to Kimmie: "The last one was a piece of shit, who designed it--oh yeah, it was me."

Steve: "I never finish conversations, I get dis--squirrel."

Steve to Rhiannon, wanting to go see her husband after he's been out of town for a week: "Go see your husband, who doesn't know who you are any more."

Alisa on song lyrics nobody quite knows: "Steve and I butcher it every night."

Steve filmed the door and put it on Facebook, then heard himself narrating it: "Is that me? I hate my voice. Do I really sound like that?" (Yes....)

Steve gets an idea to add LED lights to the door. Brunette Sierra: "I love how Jillian knows how to be scared when Steve gets an idea."

Brunette Sierra: "I'm surprised I haven't sat in the paint yet." Alisa: "Day's not over."


The Spring Fling show went well--was sold out, I kept my mask on except when performing, most people...y'know, had 'em off again, sigh. Well, what can you do these days. Jan and Steve brought Dannette and Mary Young along. (I am kind of concerned that Jan asked me if I know Dannette. Um, literally we were in the last show together.) I saw Jean from TnT/Producers briefly. (Formerly) Redhead Sarah apparently came in late, like at the beginning of my show, and said she wasn't sure if Janene and I were rival parents or girlfriends, because I had "big bisexual energy." (Told Scott this later and he laughed his head off. Hm, I dunno, I had on denim and tie-dye...?). I saw someone I used to know from knitting group pre-pandemic, but she didn't seem to recognize me so I didn't say anything. I saw some old Winters folks--Jeff, Greg (he and Ana finally got married January 1, by Nancy's husband), Germaine, Carol. I saw a fellow, Zach, I used to know from karaoke and it was nice to see him again. So long!

I saw Scott's parents and his best friend and his wife from a distance, but I didn't go over there. Scott was making rounds, frequently with Cameron like they are a couple, so I just avoided the whole thing. Let him be a fake couple with her, I guess. I did walk by him early on and was trying to avoid him, but he wanted a hug and asked how set construction went. And later on he told me "Good job" after my show, so there was that....

Bridget and Janene and I were doing a rehearsal before the show and Bridget missed a line and we missed a good chunk of the show, which I noticed but didn't say anything about until it was over, then I whipped out my flash cards so we could check the lines. Nancy saw me walk by with those and was all, "You don't need those, do you?" and I was all, well, um....yeah...so we checked the lines and redid them again in the hallway. I'm glad the blooper happened not during the actual show.

Quotes from the night:

Rodney to Janene after her monologue: "Not as good as the fart play, but pretty good." Janene in response: "Now for something completely different."

Rodney, after making a reference to Shakespeare's birthday and that perhaps Germaine was around at that time during his intro: "Now I have to apologize to Germaine for calling her old."

Ana on her performance: "I felt like it was our best rehearsal ever."

Nancy on hearing things in the back: "Even I heard the chlamydia in the back."

Cameron: "Break other people's legs."

We had a good time mingling afterwards (well, Bridget didn't, I guess...not her thing). It was great to see (Formerly) Redhead Sarah again, now that we've traded hair colors. She said at her work they have "Tie-Dye Saturday" and can get a free cookie if you walk in wearing it that day, so there's a thing to keep in mind. I had several conversations about people wanting to go back to karaoke if it's outside again.

Cameron went home with a migraine (I guess...at least it only came on at the end of the show-ish?) so Scott was with me the rest of the night. Ahem. Robert brings chicken tamales in his play and apparently he got actual tamales for the show to bring to the party afterwards, albeit they were cheese ones because the restaurant was all "We don't have 21 chicken tamales." They apologized to Scott about that and he said it was okay, as he probably wouldn't have been able to eat anything from there anyway due to cross- contamination. I then told him I was bringing dairy-free cupcakes tomorrow and I think he said something like, "that's nice, thank you" about it.

Nancy threw a cast party afterwards. He was with me walking to the party, we sat together, drank 7up together (har) and petted the dog and talked about Evita together. So there's that.... At the party, the whole "don't say MacBeth in a theater" thing came up and Scott said that he said it as a newbie in high school--while he was in a wheelchair with a broken ankle. "They made me just spin it around three times."

I did hear from Scott that they want to try doing Midsummer Night's Dream but have no venue, and everyone else essentially said, same issue on venues, as the city manager doesn't seem to like 'em and shut down a lady who was trying to start one up. Well, we'll see, I guess.

Anyway, he decided to leave at 11:45 and asked me if I was going and I was all "I drank a lot of caffeine today, I'm fine, I'll stick around" (not trying to like, follow you or anything...), and people were still there. I ended up hanging around another 20 minutes and THEN the sleepy kicked in...

Mistake, because I got pulled over by a cop for blowing two stop signs. Bad job, me. I think I vaguely thought I stopped, and he was still on alert from having to work Picnic Day, poor guy. Oh well, he was super nice, I hadn't been drinking (he didn't even drunk test me! I figured he should. I guess I was just obviously sleepy?). Like "oh, huh, it's taking my ID a while to get out of this sleeve, oh well!" and "I was at set rehearsal...set rehearsal...that's not the word...set construction, then I had another show tonight" about it. I note by this point it was my birthday/after midnight and I was all "oh, here are my 2 ID's, I got the new one months ago." GUESS IT'S A GOOD THING I GOT THAT RENEWED EARLY, HUH? I was SUPER CHILL and just not even fazed by it, really. So he gave me a written warning and that was all. Coulda been worse.

I was very tired when I got home and I think I didn't lose consciousness anyway, darn it.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com