Chaos Attraction

Abs, Neck, Lungs, Uterus

2005-01-06, 8:25 a.m.

Oh man. I am still sore, and I am starting to wonder if I should take a day off from the gym. But I swore I'd go every day this week (the only week during the quarter that I CAN do that), so I'll suck it up and continue.

I went in late last night (went home for dinner first), and I don't think I'll be doing that again. I was less excited to go in once I'd gone home and gotten all comfortable. I'll have to go after work if I want to make sure I go in. Good thing there's classes at 6 p.m. Mondays/Tuesdays/Thursdays. I can do a half hour on a machine, go to class, do another half hour, and go home, easy.

Went to the abs class on Wednesday (different teacher), and I have to say that I'm glad I won't be going to that one again due to volunteering. Owie. She had us do a ton of stuff in which you had no neck support, and I felt like my neck was going to pull straight off my body. Honestly, no neck support while doing stomach activities is exactly WHY I did my damndest to avoid doing crunches/situps/etc. during PE class all those years in school. It hurts too damn much to do when you're pulling muscles in your neck! At least in the class the previous night and in my dance class, the teachers provide opportunities for neck support, not just "Okay, keep your neck up for 10 minutes straight!"

Other than that, I mostly stuck to the treadmill (taking it "easy"), other than an ill-fated 10 minutes on some sort of um, kind of a step machine? I don't know what you call it, but it's like you have skis on your feet, but you're moving your legs like you're riding a bike while standing. On the one hand, a great calorie burner: on the other hand, I didn't want to spend large amounts of time on that machine. Oof.

I have to say that going to the gym is very distracting from the "my life sucks, Dad's sick, Jess is going AWOL" factors in my life. When you come home too tired to do much, it's like, who cares?


In other news, Heather seems to have caught the flu, so guess who's going to catch it next? Whee! She was all, "You DON'T WANT THIS, but you're probably going to get it." Yay. I'm chomping what's left of my zinc stash, and have tracked down my friar's balsam and lozenges. If only I'd known, I would have gone stocking up in the drugstores during vacation.

I wonder if the gym time will help to bolster my immune system, or make it worse? Either way, not being home around the germs might help. My lungs are already buggered up enough, thanks.

Though oddly enough, since I've started working out, I haven't had a major coughing fit. I've felt The Tickle coming on a few times, and normally when that happens it means (a) in five minutes I'll really have to blow my nose, and (b) I'm going to inevitably cough like hell for the next 3-4 hours, no matter what drugs I take at this point. But I've had The Tickle come on during campus twice in the last few days (once as I was going to head to the gym- I wondered, should I just stay home and cough instead of trying to work out while coughing?), and it went away on it's own. Go figure.


Oh, anyone remember way back when in the spring when my jewelry got in a gallery in SoCal, and then I never heard anything back about it again? Turns out they closed. Well, doesn't that figure? Anyway, no money made off that encounter, but I should hopefully be getting my work back next week or some such, whenever I run into the guy who has it.


And finally, I haven't finished the sweater yet, but I've managed to acquire a new knitting project anyway: making a uterus for political protest. I was quite squicked out by those knitted uteruses (uteri?) when they first came out in Knitty, but I have to say it's a great idea to pitch uterus models on the court steps, or whatever they end up doing.

So far, it's going surprisingly easy. Good thing I learned how to make sleeves, because this is just on a smaller scale so far. Plus it's a lot more portable to carry around than my sweater, which now has 3 balls attached and is too big a project to carry out of my bedroom any more.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com