Chaos Attraction

Young Frankenstein Audition

2023-01-15, 11:32 a.m.

Another pissing rain day... I dropped one of my knitting projects outside in the STREET late last night and did not notice until I went to leave today. The actual knitting ended up under a CAR and the yarn was ALL in the street. I'm going to have to let it dry for a few days and cut off all the stained bits at the very least. The actual project itself may not be totally ruined, and if it is, I have more balls of yarn for it--it was the top layer of the Isabela skirt, and I ordered more yarn for it online, so I could start it over again. So, could be worse, but still sucks.

Show went well again, whew. It is Steve's last day on it-- he's getting his 41st surgery on Thursday (his back again) and will be out with a walker/in pain. He may be back to watch the last weekend/make stir fry, we'll see. I ordered him a get well card off Etsy ("At least you're not wearing a cone" with a dog on it, with a message inside about how with #42 he hopefully gets the answer to life, the universe and everything), so we'll see if it comes in any reasonable amount of time. It's coming from South Dakota, so hopefully not that bad?

Moments from the pre-show:

Taylor and Omar were singing "Cabaret: Muppets Version." Kermit doing "Meeskite" in particular was choice.

Steve's quotes to the cast about his being out and Montana taking over: "They're taking my spine out and putting in Jell-O." "Montana will be telling dirty jokes and being totally inappropriate." (Definitely not. Montana is very quiet.)

Steve notes that it's his 41st surgery and "I am seriously making a punch card and bringing it to them asking for a free sub." Then he has to have #42 sometime on his neck.

Omar was napping in the upstairs hallway for most of the time before the show. At one point Kimmie asked where he was. "He's fine, he's napping," I said.

Comm-entary:

Steve was telling Kimmie he liked the pillows she'd provided in the pit and they were talking about pillowcases and he said he sweats a lot, Kimmie said most men do at night, he said his turn brown from sweat. Kimmie: "Gross."

A bit of random drumming went off during a bit of Schneider's lines--it kind of fit the rhythm but was a bit "where'd this come from?". Kimmie: "I didn't know we had drums in the middle of that."

yawn Kimmie: "Who yawned? Are we keeping you up?" Steve: "Me. Yes."

While waiting for ladies to get out of the bathroom at intermission, Steve started singing "Two Ladies," but with peeing references.

Someone said "ow" in the audience after Sally gets slapped. I admit it's loud, but also Chris appears to be doing a stage slap, so I don't think she's actually getting slapped on this one (unlike Beauty and the Beast, in which Ryan told Julia to slap him). You can tell if it's a stage slap if you see the slapper grabbing someone's shoulders first--then they're crossing over and slapping their own hand when they take it off the shoulder.


Tonight I went to the Young Frankenstein auditions. I tried to pick the night that was least pissing rain and of course, absolutely picked the worst one pissing rain--let's just say I'm glad there were very few cars on the road going home that night and I was going almost Mom-slow.

The statistics:
* 32 people in the auditions--that's a lot of people in very tiny space and waiting room.
* People I knew: Danny, Jean, Rachele, Other Jennifer G (Producers).
* The people auditioning for it were very nice and friendly, good people.
* One guy was 6'7 and obviously auditioning for The Monster.

I've only ever been to one other Woodland audition before (Bye Bye Birdie circa April 2022) and it was mostly about the same: takes them forever to process everyone and get started (I note they had a new "you have to fill out the online system" thing that several people complained about not working), and then they did the dance audition first with everyone, for probably about an hour. From what I'd read online I thought it was just a tap audition, so I did not bring non-tap dance shoes and had to do it in socks (sigh, oh well, so did many others).

I really enjoyed the combination, it was very fast paced but all stuff I knew how to do and be snappy at it. I do like this choreographer (Staci) and she seems very nice, same one as the previous show. I wasn't particularly dying/out of breath/feeling shitty over it either, huzzah. I think mine went pretty well. I note that Danny and Jean (the people who well, told me politely I wasn't good enough to get in here) were probably a bit iffier at it? Danny was pretty tired, Jean was doing it comedy caveman-style and I think that was probably deliberate, down to the landing on the wrong foot two times. That is her schtick, as she would indicate. It was a WIDE variety of adults auditioning for this one--older ladies and gents, doing dance numbers with varying success. I think the latter groups were having a rockier time of it compared to well, the likes of me. Go figure.

Then she asked for the tappers--that was 19 people. I will note one lady had had ONE lesson and was just practicing with her kid, and the guy next to me started doing classes around the same time as I did. ("Less than 10?" she asked him.) I had figured we'd just learn some combination again, but no, she was like do some flaps and then do some step of your choice, and then she'd ask people to do another one. Some folks were quite flashy (esp. Jennifer G). Obviously you can probably guess how I did at that, but I did warn her I was a noob. Eh, whatever.... like I said, practice audition.

So then it was...8:30ish...before they started on the singing auditions. Ashley asked how it went and I was all, "IT'S STILL GOING." I got there around 6:45, it supposedly started at 7, a guy who came at 6:15 said he came in at number 6... so you get how it went order wise. I got out around 9:25. My song went fine--the pianist hadn't ever heard of it before and was pretty stumped and then asked me to do it over again, but really, she was okay, she more or less had it down. I think I am going to ask Morgan if I should be doing louder/more showy numbers, though? The other three in my group did really loud acted-out ones and here I was being cute and sedate. I couldn't watch anyone other than theirs, but I did hear some opera notes coming out, and some girl did "You Stupid Bitch" from Crazy Ex-Girlfriend.

The usual: if you're called back for a part, we let you know, otherwise it's ensemble, they have no effing idea when they make the decision...obviously I'm moving on from there and focusing on the Avenue Q one next.

Scenes from the waiting room:
(a) A few people said it was smart to bring yarn. Love those people.

(b) Jennifer G had a little fancy Celtic flask (with water) and got a few comments like "Jennifer's doing shots! Go girl!" and "The last time we got quiet, we were talking about Jennifer's drinking." It's just water. Me: "Don't ruin the joke!"

(c) I'm not sure WHAT the previous context of this was, but Jean said, "I put pictures of these hot men in my phone...."

(d) One of the older ladies was all, "I'd rather do ensemble than have a name part and not do very much in the show." She noted that in My Fair Lady, Freddy only has two scenes. Me: "Was he in ensemble otherwise?" "No, he just did TWO SCENES." Weird! Usually if you have a name part in only a few scenes you do the rest of the show too. I guess maybe it's just this one guy....?

Well, anyway, a good late time was had by all, note to self, leave even earlier (I had planned on leaving an hour before, then thought, "Well, if they have this new online system since last time, for all I know they may do people in order of who signed up on the online system, maybe I don't have to show an hour early..." I came in 15 minutes early, got #18 (or 16 or something? Nobody seemed to have #'s 1 and 2?) and got out after 2.5 hours, so make of that what you will.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com