Chaos Attraction

Over Dirt

2022-03-02, 6:20 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
The Bad Place Again - 2022-03-07
Bye Bye Birdie Audition - 2022-03-06
Garbage Queen - 2022-03-05
Stitches West - 2022-03-04
Show Besties - 2022-07-03

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Another in-office day. I forgot my work keys and had to slog back home and get them again with heavy laptop. Sigh. Then got moved into my old office that isn't set up. Spent the day doing tedious things.

Ashley texted. Karaoke at the bar is OVER, as her dad has been kicked out of there entirely. She would not say why, other than she wants to do so in person on Saturday. OY. I presume this means he did something to get kicked out :( I'm so bummed out, and now I really feel guilty that I haven't gone since December. She notes that the Tuesday gig is still going on, though. I don't know on going back, or at least I was hoping to wait until karaoke was outside again, but it doesn't sound like the Pizza Express gig is like that. Sigh.

Got home to find notice that some news crew is going to be filming us/rehearsal/doing interviews tonight. Eeeeek. Oh well, I'm not a lead and I have a mask on, nothing to worry about, I suppose.


Rehearsal: no interviews, I'm not EVEN sure that "the news" was even there actually, I saw some random guy film about 1-2 minutes of the act 1 finale and that was IT. No wonder TV news sucks. Steve kept muttering, "I hope they don't show it after Ukraine." I was thinking "either of course they show it after Ukraine, or they don't show it until the end of the hour, or not at all."

James, who you may recall from the first night of rehearsal was NOT gonna mention to the parents that he was doing this (I'm not entirely sure if he's out to his parents after that remark?), was kinda concerned that his parents watch Fox News. However, they're in Modesto so I dunno if Sac news would even be shown there?

Rehearsal actually went really well tonight. I actually GOT THE DANCE NUMBERS DOWN FINALLY, THANK GAWD, got all the props off and on, all quick costume changes done. Steve was all "would have been happy to have this be opening night, except for the small crowd."

I do not like performing in sunglasses in the cop number. Can't see for shit, and then mask and steam. This is a bad idea.

Per Steve, much to Jean's annoyance, we did the second office number in "poor" shoes and actually managed the quick change very well. Yay. "They have a 12 second change," he said to Jean.

Had Kimmie hand me the protest sign, that worked well.

Sofia is straight up just deliberately dropping the baby now, LOL.

Had to smear myself with dirt tonight. Not super thrilled on this. I skipped my face because expecting me to clean my face in a minute costume change is ridiculous, and also I have a mask and bangs so fuck it. I felt like getting that dirty looked like I was trying to do brownface, oy. Sofia put enough on her face that it looked like a beard at first. I note the stuff kinda fades over 2 hours, and I forgot to clean it off before leaving the theater but you can't really tell?

Quotes from the dressing room/backstage:

"What are you doing?" "I have to smear myself with dirt." "Well, all right then." -Isaiah and me

"She said to over dirt? I'm already dirt enough." -Sofia

"I think I doinked up the pregnancy, you guys." -Sofia

"Tonight I will not be too lazy to take off my kneepads. I'm manifesting." -Sofia (clearly on a roll)

Kimmie yells "CLOCKY!" Shorthaired Sarah: "Better him than me." Me thought same.

"I'm going to tie myself up now." -Sierra

I do like that this show is short and fast. Only like 5-6 scenes per act! About an hour! Moves along!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com