Chaos Attraction

Solo to Dixon

2012-05-07, 10:12 p.m.

Today I did a solo drive to Dixon. Which isn't as big as the usual ones considering that I can drive to that town without having to hit the freeway and occasionally did that during lessons back in the day, but still counts for something, I think. Especially when I haven't gone there in years.

I wasn't shooting for Dixon--I was trying to find the riparian reserve, which had about four different possible parking lots to drive to. I picked the easiest one to head to, but apparently the directions ah, weren't so good and I never found the place. So I ended up driving along the old country roads that I used to practice on back in the day. I was delighted that I actually found Dixon without any directions--plus found my way back without 'em either.

As usual, there ain't shit to do there, but I did find the Goodwill and picked up a few books. So there's that.

Pretty good for one of those days where I wasn't in the damn mood to do driving and had nowhere I was massively interested in going, really.


The weekend went well, I ran into my new CC friend on Sunday while well, at the CC, and we arranged to meet up later to go see The Avengers. It was amazing. I wore my "Joss Whedon Is My Master Now" shirt, which was much appreciated in geekdom. The movie is hilarious and we are pondering seeing it again this weekend after Whole Earth. We're also going to go to that Ira Glass Fathom Events night thing on Thursday, which looks really cool. I am looking forward to spending more time with her, since that pretty much went by the wayside for various versions of busy in April.

Teaching my mosaic class has been fun, and I did manage to finish enough mosaics for demo purposes this weekend as well. Huzzah. Though I do look forward to getting another weeknight free again. I know technically speaking I've only been doing the "busy all damn day and night every weeknight" for about 3 weeks, but...yeah, it's feeling a little crazy.

I really look forward to post-Mother's Day. And taking a trip to go eclipse-watching. That shall be cool.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com