Chaos Attraction

HR Is Terrible

2022-05-09, 3:38 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Cat Facts - 2022-05-14
You're Too Little To Be Kissing! - 2022-05-13
Week Three Drama - 2022-05-12
Flying Supercow - 2022-05-11
I Can't Do X - 2022-05-10

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I actually slept really well last night, over 9 hours. Go figure. Two days in a row so I'll probably sleep for shit tonight, most likely.

Work: my new coworker was supposed to start today. Did that happen? OF COURSE NOT. Why? Because HR IS TERRIBLE. They had 2.5 weeks to get her an ID number. Did they do that by her start date? NOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! So now it's been rescheduled for Wednesday, but we'll see if that happens.

On a related HR note, I got cc'd on a giant email contacting the CEO of Giant Org, payroll, HR, people I don't even bleeping know of, from a lawyer who changed their name/gender identity awhile back, I redid their paperwork, all was fine on my end. WELL. Apparently this person (I'm guessing) used to also work at Giant Org rather than just using the services of Giant Org, and HR still hasn't changed their name on their end. Lawyer sent a legalese email about the whole thing with a lot of quotes and then cc'd me on it to uh, verify that I changed it, I guess? My guess on this whole thing is that people (not just this one) think that if you change your name in the database I work on, that changes it in everything. Which it does not. I have found out from previous experience (and hearing from other people in other areas of Giant Org who are all "What is your database?") that some other offices have completely different computer systems, and apparently HR is one of them. This came from some drama awhile back when someone wanted us to change their name and my database CATEGORICALLY REFUSED TO, and apparently that's because they were only an employee and had to be done with HR. I was not permitted to write back to this (which I would have saying, "yes, I changed this, but I don't have access to HR"), but told my boss about it, she said to send to her and Grandboss, and then was confused on the whole thing. I was all "yes, we did what they wanted, I think they just want verification to HR," and I never heard anything else about it.

Also, we are short staffed once again as most of the public service team was out today and one of them is now sick all week, and I'm going to have to go in and work the front counter KILL ME NOW.

Other than that, I finished Quarterly Project and turned it in. My boss made a big deal of notifying the assistant to the Gods of Giant Org to sign it ASAP. Was it signed? No. Someone asked me "will it be done by next week?" and I was all "I presume it'll be done by the end of this week," but who knows with them.

I did not go to karaoke--Ashley definitely sick (of course), sigh. I did a brief online meeting with Emeri to get the paperwork set up on the hub website and chatted a bit about theater stuff. After that, I sucked it up and cleared out the bedroom of all of the food and utensils. I put the food back into the cabinets (minus the alcohol, I haven't found that in the living room pile, which I'm not even starting on yet) and did some of the dishes and actually made some pasta dinner and lunches for the end of the week. Probably even better was that I got rid of the expired food/half-eaten food that had been in there. You know how packaging is designed for families of four? Well, as a permanently single woman I get sick of eating that stuff. I threw that out. And I got rid of some of the nonperishables that I'm never going to get around to eating--put it out in the laundry room. Hopefully the starving students might want that stuff, and frankly I'm never going to haul it to a proper pantry.

So, that's probably doing pretty well for me household-wise. And now it is 8:50 and I feel tired and am seriously considering going to bed again. Oy. Probably won't sleep if I do that, but I might anyway. Eh, what the hell.

There is an official party invite to the cast party next Sunday. Apparently they live in El Dorado Hills, which is an hour away from here, uck. (They made it sound more like 40 minutes?) Oh well....Scott is going, ahem.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com