Chaos Attraction

Still In The Money

2002-06-09, 8:12 p.m.

I have good news for y'all- I will not be going on unemployment at the end of the week! My boss is going to try to keep me on, give me new stuff to do, etc. They're still waiting to find out about funding by the end of the month, but she doesn't want the department to be completely cleared out, I'm already trained, etc. So I am employed indefinitely. Things may run out at some point, but hopefully things won't. We'll see, but yay! Money! Not to mention big ego boost after my last job, too. And we're all going out for Thai food tomorrow, so yay on that as well.

Anyway... I can't say a whole lot about the weekend because it was um, private time for most of it. It was a very happy weekend, even if we didn't get to see the play. Since he was in town for the entire weekend, we decided to see the play Saturday night... and would you believe the theater was full by the time we got there?! On a Saturday night during finals week, I am shocked. Oh well, we had a good time CD shopping instead.

Glad I wasn't home this weekend, because sounds like the mandatory Saturday grandparent gathering at Auntie D's was nasty again. Mom was stewing that Auntie D. didn't get them drinks, got attitude about Mom bringing over a cake, kept insisting on taking Dad outside when he didn't want to go, etc., etc. I swear, it must be Relative Season for me, because the family shit never ends. Sounds like Alicia's graduation will go ALL night- as in, I have to leave for it immediately from work- and Mom's still saying that she's going to drive home all night long if I won't stay at Aunt Susie's overnight. Nice. Knowing how she WILL fall asleep and Dad can't help her stay awake... she won't listen to me at all about it, though.

Oh yeah, and guess what: MORE family is here, again! Cousin Bill (my cool cousin Matt's dad) is coming in for a visit next Saturday, and Mom of course wanted me to come home for THAT. I said that I'd already said I was going to be here for Hill's big bash. She's disappointed. I swear, everyone wants me somewhere else that weekend. Dave's off that weekend and apparently told Teri that I'd be up visiting then. I was all "Um, no I'm not, remember?" and he agreed to come here again instead. Yay to that. I haven't even told Mom he's off that weekend, I'll break that to her later.

Speaking of family and weekends, sounds like Dave's dad goes all out for the Fourth of July, and I guess by this point I'd be expected to go for the big BBQ and fireworks events. Annoyingly, the 4th is on a Thursday this year. While I do get that day off, I don't have Friday off, so to go I'd have to go back home during said fireworks. I'm debating whether or not to take a personal day or something on Friday so I don't have to worry about that. Who knows.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com