Chaos Attraction

Jennifer Jewelry Whore

2002-07-26, 10:59 p.m.

Glass beadmaking went pretty well last night. Out of five beads, four survived (one cracked), and while three of those came out deformed, one came out nearly perfect. A gorgeous cute little green bead with flowers in it! I was delighted. I still want practice for that damn class, though. Oh well, maybe now that I'll be having my "impromptu vacation," as my boss calls it, I can head on down to the center and practice during the day. Dave, oddly enough, thinks the deformed ones are great. I may make him some kind of wall decoration of them after I'm done with the class, since I'm not sure they'd look so good in a necklace.

While I'm passing on weird stuff he said, I'd just like to comment on the oddness of this one. My normal dressing style these days is pretty dressed up. Mainly because I spend five days a week at work, where you're not exactly supposed to go around in jeans and shorts (though I've seen people going around in jeans lately, which makes me wonder...) and skimpy-ass tops and dresses like I used to go around in. (The newspaper really didn't care much about what you wore. Though in all honesty, they don't much care here if you're me either.) Anyway, my particular dressing style these days is either (a) a dress, (b) long skirt and T-shirt or other nice top, (c) short skirt and T-shirt or other nice top. I rarely wear anything else and have gotten into the dress habit on weekends a lot of the time.

So, what does Dave tell me this morning that he thinks is really hot? Me in raggedy-ass jeans and a T-shirt. Of all things. Boys. Always wanting what they don't see much of. Though this may have something to do with his whole "I'm not as dressed up as you are" thing again too. So I ended up packing my most shredded, worn-out, hole-in-knee-and-ass jeans for the weekend. And my white T-shirt that says "Princess" and has a rhinestone tiara on it. Can't be too slobbed out, you know...

I am SO zonked today. I don't really get a lot of sleep when Dave's here on a weekend anyway because we don't see each other much during the day and end up staying up kinda late, plus I have to get up at seven. This problem only got compounded last night when Scott and Demma called at 12:30 last night to leave a silly message. Only they called on the cell phone, and Dave started freaking out. Demma is going to visit her dad this weekend, and was supposed to be staying in town until Dave got back in case anything happened with his grandma and she needed to call somebody. Anyway, upon hearing this message, Dave started thinking that she'd decided to leave for her dad's that night and was bailing out on him, and what if something went wrong with his grandma and grandpa, he'd be in deep shit, etc. and spent the entire night freaking out about that. Suffice it to say, not a lot of sleeping happened. And of course, it turned out he was eventually right. She hadn't left for her dad's at 12:30 at night, but she called him back while she was driving to his house this morning. I get so sick of people flaking sometimes.

I got the jewelry catalogs I ordered yesterday and I am delighted. I keep flipping through the pages and drooling all over the pretty, pretty stones. Dammit, and now would have to be the time when I go broke. But I still need to order supplies for my class, so... Mom has offered to chip in some (maybe all, I don't know) for a gold star sapphire ring for Dad. Which would cost a ton right now, so her paying for it would be welcome. As for me, I am thinking of making a flower ring. Cut some petals out of sheet metal, set a cabochon in the center, and make a fancy twisted band or something like that. I found a gorgeous rainbow topaz stone (blue-green) that I love, and I'm thinking of doing the metal in copper so it'll stand out.

Remember the advice column I was complaining about the other day? I started writing a letter to the guy, but never sent it. Good thing, because the people who did send theirs wrote a whole lot better than I did.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com