Chaos Attraction

Through The Transom Of My Mind

2004-08-04, 9:18 p.m.

This entry comes from here, which in turn came from here. I decided to go with Coleen's hour of recording thoughts. So here's what I thought today while punching holes in papers from 1:19-2:19 p.m.


1:19 p.m. "This love has taken it's toll on me, she said goodbye, too many times before..." This song has been in my head for days, off and on, taking its toll on me. Really pretty, though. It made me actually think about buying the entire Maroon 5 album, even though I'm really only in love with about 3 or 4 of their songs.

I hardly ever buy a full album of anybody any more. I think the last CD's I bought were Avenue Q soundtrack and Patti Scialfa's album- and frankly, I would have bought that on iTunes too except there's three bonus songs that aren't listed on iTunes but come with the new album.

Incidentally, I find it annoying that "Heavier Things" is being re-released with some bonus songs or something, when I already own it (and can't play the disc at work anyway because animated crap on the work computer = computer whining in much pain). Heck, it annoys ME. I can't play "The Spirit Room" here either. And they wonder why people burn music?

However, I've just been listening to Air America archives, and they played some song at the end of an archived "So What Else Is News?" while I was typing this, and now the song has been driven out of my head. I can't maintain one song stuck in my head while another plays at the same time.

On to listening to Laura Flanders archives...

Never mind, the song's back in my head again. Damn Borders for sending me that link to their online player thingie. I started playing the Maroon 5 selections on repeat because I couldn't find my mp3 of "Sunday Morning" (had to actually rip it off "Love Actually", apparently), and thus, it is stuck.

"this love has taken its toll on me, she said goodbye, too many times before" (ba-dum-bump) "her heart has (somethingsomething...the talk radio is drowning it out now)...and I have no choice, 'cause I won't say goodbye any more."

I wonder if I have subliminal reasons for playing this in my head a lot.

(song repeats incessantly to the point where all thought has been drowned out)

This is now my sing-in-the-shower song, incidentally. It's really making it hard to listen to this talk radio. Maybe I should just give up and switch to playing CD's, albeit after awhile one hears every damn CD one owns while at work and this is why I normally just listen to online talk radio all day. (I try not to listen to the iPod when I'm not walking around because I use the iPod as an incentive to walk for exercise, not lounging on my arse.)


1:30 p.m. Have now started to read the Amalah advice archives as method to distract myself from The Song, and am now debating if it would be a good idea to write an advice letter on what to do with regards to a certain socially awkward situation I am in. Probably not, since the last time I asked someone about it I only managed to royally tick some people off who thought I should just uh, go with what I don't want.


One guy I know has enormous chin pew. Making out with him must be like kissing a Brillo pad. That kind of hair is disturbing. I'm kinda shuddering at the idea of the chin rash his girlfriend must get.


Okay, going by the advice to Beth on her 5-year-old's impending smoochage, Amalah must be smoking some nice kinda crack. No offense, I'm just saying.


1:35 p.m. (The Song returns.)


1:37 p.m. I hate it when websites somehow can only be scrolled down via keyboard, OR mouse, OR whatever, but not all options at once. What the hell DOES that? I'm trying to scroll down while I sit here chomping papers with the hole punch, but it's getting difficult.

Oh, and scroll wheels on mice suck.


1:38 p.m. Why am I listening to this old coot on this show? I have no idea who he is, he sounds very cranky, and he clashes with The Song. *goes to check website to see why she picked this show to listen to in the first place, not to mention check identity of old guy* Oh, it's Jimmy Breslin (reference pretty much whooshes over my head, other than how Jess worships Jimmy Breslin in When Harry Met Sally). However, there's supposed to be discussion about Wal-Mart and chicks and discrimination later, so I guess I'll hang in there. Yay, he's shutting up! Oh, no, wait, he isn't. Dammit. Can't fast-forward too well with WMP set in browser, though.

1:41 p.m. Need to go to bathroom. Think I will leave this playing while I go so as to hope Jimmy Breslin ends soon by the time I return. His voice is so raspy it's bugging me.

1:47 p.m. You know what's nice about our bathrooms here? That there's so many people wandering in and out that I don't know most of who goes in there. As opposed to my old job, where everyone was on one floor and everyone knew each other's business. Because while it's embarrassing as all hell to hear uh, someone else spending time in there, at least it's not like, my boss or something. I don't know how I'd react to that.

What's not nice about our bathrooms: automatic flushing toilets working too well or not at all.

While out, I thought of a cool idea: a Random Thought Check. Set off some sort of device to sound off at random times, and carry a tape recorder with you. When the device goes off, you close your eyes, spin around, then ask the first person you're facing when you stop what they were thinking about just then. Or just ask everyone that, and either way write down the answers. Wouldn't that be cool?! I only wish I could do that right now instead of having to remember to write down thoughts.

Jimmy Breslin is still harshing on. Man, give the guy some lozenges already.


1:52 p.m. Back to reading Amalah and dying laughing at this:

"I am very sad. John Mayer wrote an article for Esquire magazine where he itemizes his AmEx statement and even though I understand that he's trying to air his DNA stained laundry before someone else does, I don't think he knows how this hurts me. That was ME having phone sex with him!! How can he just throw out all we had like it was just a number? Doesn't he know how special that was? I mean, he told me my body was a wonderland and everything!

And now I'll only eve be 'that girl who had phone sex with John Mayer' and I wanted to be so much more. Did Anna Nicole ever have such set-backs in her career?"

Can I just say that admitting to shitloads of phone sex and wearing the same clothes on repeat and having no New Year's date is what makes me think this guy is hot? Sure, he sings good, sure, he's rather cute, sure, I love his lyrics and guitar wailing, but the blatantness and the WEIRDNESS and the rambling when he speaks is what entertains the fuck out of me. I'd love to have a conversation with him sometime just to see how weird and out there the both of us could go. Of course, the two of us in the same room would probably be so weird that it would cause a black hole to spontaneously erupt and suck us both in. I can see it now: "Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus, and John and Jennifer Are From Uranus."


1:56 p.m. Shut up, Jimmy. Shut. Up. And to think it's normally squeaky-voiced men a la Steve on Sex and the City who bring out this reaction in me.

2 p.m. I don't CARE if Jimmy Breslin wants to start his own church. I. Do Not. Care. How much longer can I take this before I look for a CD? And which CD? Stay tuned.

2:02 p.m. More Amalah-related commentary:

(a) Saved By The Bell over 90210, mainly because the one time I ever watched 90210 when my cousin was over, I was bored. (The episode where Scott shoots himself, if you wondered.)

(b) I don't GIVE A CRAP about Gmail. Yahoo offers me 2G, thanks. No wonder I'm not nearly as good about cleaning out my e-mail box as I used to be. I've hardly read any all day, actually.

JIMMY BRESLIN IS OVER! YAY! No, it was NOT fun to have him in the studio!

2:07 p.m. Tedious thing I have to do at work: clean out the hole punch. This is fun because there is no way on earth to do this without dropping hole punch remnants all over the place. Especially when one has to open up a paper clip and use it to slowly dig paper out of the hole punch holes, because it jams in there to the point of immobility.

This is about as exciting as yesterday's emergency letter folding campaign, where we all got dragged down to the basement to fold "please pay your money, dammit" letters so they'd make it out by mail time. Actually, that's more fun than wrestling the hole punch. My job can be so intellectual.

2:13 p.m. Have now finished Amalah advice, so now it is time to check 3WA for something interesting to look at. Let's hope someone's added new and interesting reading since...uh, lunch.

I need to actually try PLAYING Kingdom of Loathing sometime. I need to find a time where I can do it all day long on my first pass, though. Argh.

2:16 p.m. Nope, nothing new, really. Bleah.

I need to remember to buy more AAA batteries. My TV remote stopped working again, and it's decided not to work with any of the AAA's I have in the house. And without the remote, I cannot watch the DVD's on TV. Waaaah.

Also need to see if The Indie Bookstore has Undead and Unemployed, since Borders still claims it's "on order." Jesus H Christ, it's OUT by now, dammit. They already carry something else by that author! They have no excuse!

2:19 p.m. I have such a hard time keeping track of conversations on talk radio. And I'm better at it at work than anywhere else.

Well, it's been one hour. This has livened things up entirely to do in between CHOMP CHOMP CHOMPing the hole punch.

(song waltzes through my head)


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com