Chaos Attraction

Mrs. Plots

2022-08-30, 8:47 p.m.

No therapy again today, which is unsurprising (she's still sick, of course, Paxlovid, 'nuff said). Which is fine, I don't have anything to talk about other than "really just planning on never talking to Scott again because I'm an idiot" and the job thing, which.... is screwing with my head. I'm a Taurus and sometimes the idea of change fucks with me, and I keep having thoughts like "Waaaaah, I'm going to have to go back to the office FOREVER" and "does this mean I have to give up my Zoom account?" and all the possible drastic changes. Which is really, really jumping ahead of myself and I'm more likely to not get it than to get it, which is why I'm not telling too many people about this anyway.

Karaoke: went with Ashley for an hour, sang "Build Me Up Buttercup" and "I Could Have Danced All Night," so I can say I practiced that this week, hah hah. The owner of the pizza place was having his birthday AND his last day of ownership (looks like three beardy guys who I am guessing are brothers are buying it), so a bit of celebration was going on. Good luck to him, and I hope the new guys don't keep having Fox News on.

Rehearsal: DEAR MOM AND JACKIE PLEASE STOP TEXTING (and in Mom's case calling) DURING REHEARSAL, I HAVE NO ANSWERS FOR THE WEEKEND YET, IT'S ONLY FUCKING TUESDAY. Which is to say, Jackie decided halfway between us and her was Oakland, I said "fine, whatever, you pick a restaurant" and then Mom objected to Oakland for safety reasons. I'm inclined to say "depends on what part of Oakland," but I have been dancing, singing, screaming and running all night AND I DON'T HAVE THE FUCKING BRAIN ENERGY TO PROBLEM SOLVE LOGISTICS RIGHT NOW I DO NOT CARE LEAVE ME ALONE PEOPLE.

Okay, after that....I was booking it to get there on time, which I barely did, and they were still doing pictures till 8. Beast has a big ol' curly wig on and was taking pictures growling. At one point he posed with Jillian as the carpet, with her upside down and being hung onto by a foot. Scott has a very strange blonde wig on with a candle sticking out of it, and for some reason he's the only one who got told to put on white makeup. He gripes all the time about being pale, well, THIS certainly did that. Looked like he could haunt the building. Babette's entire outfit is hot glitter pink, which...strange, and isn't she supposed to be a French maid?! Omar obviously came in late and had to try to subtly sneak his large box outfit across the stage to change into it. The Wardrobe has been rebuilt without sides somehow so it's no longer a stiff box--either that or that's the kid's version of wardrobe, I'm unsure. Mrs. Potts and Chip look great (that's quite a poofy underthingie on Mrs. Potts), though apparently Chip's cart was deemed unusable and halfway through the show Kimmie just had her sitting on some random cart.

Not costumed but still funny: Other Steve that plays Maurice had a SECOND SHIRT that said "Dad Bod" on it, except this time it has a picture of Maurice on it and says "Dad Bod?" LOLOLOLOL.

The second act was just under an hour, so that's nice. After that we sang "Human Again" with Boris, and then there was basically an hour of milling about while half the people did some kind of construction again and the rest of us all vacillated between "do we leave now? can we leave?" (I had a long conversation with Elissa about that and the crazy shit she runs into driving home) and then I eventually just joined in with the people trying to do the dance numbers.

Oh, and I am no longer the wine bottle because Felicia got assigned to it because she is taller. She is fine with that and pretty into it, actually, other than the giant headpiece being wiggly (good luck with that). I am now the cheese grater. (What happened to the corkscrew? No idea.) This is a much more simple costume and it's actually a very cute gold one (I just wanted a gold costume, darn it! The wine bottle isn't really), except (a) the head opening is slightly too small for me and no, they can't fix that, and it hurts to put on, and (b) I have giant boobs so that looks bad because that canNOT flatten out. Oh well, what can you do. Easier outfit to move in at least, thank god. I wasn't looking forward to figuring out how to dance in that. Felicia thinks it will be fine. They still haven't figured out who to get as a wine sponsor yet Jean (actress) and I were all "Turkovich!" after being in Winters, Jean (costumes) just wants to hit up some wine place down the street somewhere? Welp, not my issue to figure out any more, huzzah. Much as I liked making wine aunt jokes, I'm fine with not having to figure out that outfit. On a related note, Jean (actress) and Elissa, playing the plates, decided to trade dresses because the other one's fit better. That's very cute.

Quotes:
"I thought I was already pretty pale, but I put this on and OH MY GOD." -Scott on makeup.
"She is the least feathery feather duster I've ever seen." -me seeing a Babette outfit (I am guessing it was her post-transformation one because it had no feathers).
Maya on the cart: "This role would not be good for someone with trust issues."
Sierra: "Brian, you're understudy for Belle, right?"
Me: "I wonder what the magic mirror looks like?" Eve: "It's a tablet." (I have no idea what it is.)
Kimmie: "I'm covering up my tush.
Steve: "Where are my wolfies?"
At one point Steve said "Mrs. Plots," and I was all, "Are we doing a murder mystery version of Beauty and the Beast?" and Eve suggested "Mrs. Plotz."
Me, as I'm offstage listening to the Beast suddenly figuring out that reading takes you away from everything: "THAT'S THE WHOLE POINT OF READING!!!!"
Steve to Jared on his Batman baseball cap: "Can you wear that hat in the show?" Jared: "Sure, when I transform."
Andee sung "Beauty and the Beast "for the first time. "Sorry, it's my first time running the song!" People clapped. Kimmie: "Andee, it's been two days, what's wrong with you?!" Andee: "I know the Peabo Bryson version!" (So say we all.)
Omar, watching Julia: "Slap him! Slap him!"
Julia came offstage after the Beast transformation scene, commenting that it was kind of hard to take him seriously with the eye makeup on under his eyes. Me: "Looks like he got beat up by Gaston."
Rachelle lost her phone. Does anyone hear it ring? Of course not, because "Probably has it on silent like she's supposed to," said Kimmie. (It turned up.)
Felicia: "Thank you for making me the most beautiful wine bottle ever."
Jean (actress) straight up shimmies sexy without the plate. "I clear the crumbs."
Annie was not getting how to do a pas de bourre and at one point likened it to doing football feet. Felicia: "You're cut from this number!"


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com