Chaos Attraction

I Didn't Actually Think This Might Happen....

2023-05-21, 7:18 p.m.

(written morning-ish)

I took half a sleep gummy last night. I actually slept, but honestly, it didn't feel great? Like I didn't sleep 8 hours still and was still awake on relative "work time" but at least I didn't wake up in the middle of the night, and it just kind of makes you feel some weird kind of sluggish while sleeping. Not the miracle drug I was hoping for. We'll see if this continues after more night gummies, I suppose.

(written around 11:30 a.m. right now) Speaking of experiments in gummies, I took 1/4 of an anxiety gummy around 8:20 a.m. I don't think it did anything because two hours later, nothing noticeable going on. Per consultation with a guy on my chat channel, he figured I'd be fine to take another 1/4 after 2 hours and would presumably be sober by 5 p.m. So I took the other half at 11, then showered and did dishes just in case I'm not in any state to do that later.

Beyond that, my plans until 5 include watching television and working on projects, to the best of my ability. We'll see if that's doable.

Hm. Well, an hour-ish later (12:07) I'm starting to feel something in my forehead region. I note that if I am actually drunk I feel some kind of "third eye" buzz going on. This is reminding me of that. That said, otherwise...normal...ish? I'm not sure what the hell I'm supposed to be feeling on these things, honestly. I feel pretty damn normal. Seriously, the pot smell from the neighbors probably has given me more of a ... something today.

Later:

Singing lesson: did more "Watch What Happens," that's still hard. After that, she ran off to audition for Assassins and I ran off to audition for Spamalot.

Now, before I begin, I must reiterate: I WAS DOING THIS AS A ONE OFF WITH NO ACTUAL INTENTIONS. My previous audition in 2019 for Puffs was (a) packed as heck, (b) everyone knew each other already, (c) I only read a couple times when almost everyone else read four times, etc.

HOWEVER: this only had one night of auditions, 15 people were in it, AND ONLY THREE OF THEM WERE WOMEN. They were boggled (and asking for more women). WHEN DOES THAT EVER HAPPEN?!? (Morgan said all the women must have been at the Assassins audition.) So all three of us got a callback for Tuesday (which means I gotta rearrange for Much Ado). There may be more women/people doing this than we saw, as they said a few people made early arrangements and they already know those people.

I will note that the list for the parts of men are...tons. The women's parts are Lady of the Lake (nope) and "Laker Girls" who are sexy and in scanty clothing. (In this video, they appear to be cheerleaders.) UH-HUH, I DOUBT THIS. Literally the only part I'd fit is "Dennis Galahad's mother" and I'm pretty sure that's a dude. I'm not even sure what you'd need to do callbacks for.

I note that their show goes on at the same times as Much Ado, DAMMIT. Wouldn't even be able to see it unless I beg to see a dress rehearsal or something...maybe can't even do that...grr. Though I note I could THEN do Something Rotten if I can cram in the audition and then miss the first week of rehearsals (they'd probably let me). HMMMMMMMM.

Okay, I'm gonna recap the audition: fifteen people, three of them women (me, younger woman named Haley, older glam blonde named Julie). The dance captain, Diane (I'm gonna guess in her 50's?), was all "I'm not going to be in it," the theater people were all "She's gonna be in it." Sounds like news to Diane. I note she and one other older woman were all "no parts for me in this." They said it's like Newsies in that the ensemble's in almost everything and constantly running off and changing costumes. No live music because they can't fit that amount of orchestra into that theater.

I think I did a bit so-so--I was a bit choked at the end, not my best, I think I was a bit worn out from doing "Watch What Happens." However, several people straight up flubbed (one guy did "Modern Major General," good LORD that's HARD) and they did NOT care. One kid, Alec, did a fabulously acted "It's Hard To Be The Bard," choked in the middle, asked to finish later. They were very encouraging, said they just wanted to see what you can do.

Notable moments:

* One guy literally did sing Happy Birthday. "I will be singing the death scene from Tosca...actually, it's happy birthday....Now here's the part where I die."

* One guy did his song a cappella

* One guy did "Amish Paradise." At the end the director was all, "what was that song again?" Dude: "I said it like four times." He asked if he could read off his phone and they were all "the point is to make you succeed."

* Julie actually DID sing a song from Spamalot.

* Another kid (Simon) did "No One Remembers Achmed" and REALLY acted it out. Obviously besties with Alec and they have the same haircut.

* Mark did "You And Me But Mostly Me" and pretended that another guy in the room was Cunningham. Dunno if it's his singing range, but otherwise good.

* Connie (director) on one guy: "I had to tell him how to look at girls' boobs." Mark: "Without getting caught?"

Alec: "I don't know why I'm weird today." Me: "I'm weird every day." Simon was clearly about to say same :)

As for the dance number--they actually DID a dance audition--they did the fish slapping song, seen here: In a very cramped space. Again, they were pretty laid back about this, a few guys didn't do it at all, they didn't seem to super care if you got it right off the bat, and two guys were so bad at remembering it they pretty much made up their own thing, and good for them on that.

After that they asked the when we could do a callback (not Saturday holiday weekend morning!) and then had all the guys asked same...but then had them improvise talking like a king, talking like they're not dead yet, and imitating a woman. I wonder why she did that then, and then had callbacks, or why even have any for women at all?

Anyway, I'm still boggling at uh...I might get in this? And not do Much Ado? Hell, I'll have a hard time squeezing in when to audition for it now. I'm totally boggling. In other news, told Morgan all this while trying to schedule next lesson and she said Lady of the Lake was a dream role, but she's currently auditioning at theaters that actually pay money now....apparently Rise Up and Missouri Street do it. Huh.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com