Chaos Attraction

Work Is More Dramatic Than The Theater

2021-06-18, 6:29 a.m.

I would like to go outside today, but it's 108. I had rehearsal today but someone canceled and Kelly then canceled the entire thing. So now I'm off work, ready to party, but nothing to do in the house I care too much about doing.

Because I can now return to the gym without having to get tested first as of today, I booked appointments at the gym for the next couple of afternoons. I haven't worked out or done much exercise in a few weeks between the bee sting and the weather, so might as well go somewhere with AC.

I sent out play invites to people, which I assume will be properly ignored by most of them. Oh well. I at least wrote out some funny descriptions of the plays I'm in, which amused ME, anyway. Linda (former director Linda) wants to watch! Huzzah! I was hoping she would.

Robert also texted that Cameron's dad died last night and she wants privacy but "will contact everyone in WTC in time. She wanted the WTC family to know though." I will leave her alone, obviously, but she has my sympathies. I didn't really meet her dad--I think I saw him at TnT at least--but she had funny stories about him. I wonder if it was sudden or gradual, sigh.

Work: first off we had Share Day, in which I showed crafts, Adventure Girl showed her engagement pics, Penguin Girl showed Hawaii pics, another guy showed his racecar pics, another girl showed baby pics, you get the drift. People asked multiple times if anyone had anything fun scheduled this weekend and everyone was all "No, it's hot out."

Then we had a 20-minute meeting (seriously, that's it) with the second in command of Giant Org to address our questions. This went exactly as I figured it would, i.e. "This only happened this week, we know nothing, but we felt like we should have a meeting to reassure you anyway." Notable moments: * They will not make any changes or budget reductions, so that's nice. * "There's a lot going on with vacancies and interims." They don't want to move fast on filing them and in fact, won't be bothering to fill anything below BigBigBoss any more because "I don't feel comfortable taking a job when I don't know who my boss will be." She did not seem to know what had been going on with those recruitments anyway. * Actual question: "Will there be an interim interim?" * One guy (chief of staff for BigBigBoss) was given 10 seconds notice that he was going to be put on the spot, and "we've gotten to be best friends over text." We were told that "keeping a secret is literally part of his job function." I'm sure. I can't recall what he said though. Must have not been anything of remote substance, I'm guessing. * A few people mentioned in chat that "feedback was not really welcomed before" and that nobody had been transparent/communicating directly before this. Wowza.

And happily, today's meeting about answering the phones got canceled because nobody bothered to set up the phones. HUZZAH!

Other than that, still dredging through things as ever. Everyone was ready for the week to end. However, we did get a surprise announcement that we will be celebrating Juneteenth....on the 28th. Better late than never, I guess!

Quote from Dawn during lunch today: "Work is more dramatic than the theater." Certainly true.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com