Chaos Attraction

Musical Improv Performance: I Have To Have Some Kind Of Oral Fixation.

2016-12-18, 11:41 p.m.

Previous class here.

I did make it to my musical improv performance, which was in in some doubt at times because every freaking highway I was on was having slowdowns or accidents at some point on Saturday. I think it took about 2 to 2.5 hours to make it to Mom’s (usually that’s about 1.5 hours) and then when we left on a different freeway there was more traffic incidents. But we made it to Sac with fifteen minutes to spare, so yay on that.

This was pretty different from the usual style of improv show I’ve done so far. Lincoln basically wrote up what we were to do ahead of time: he had everyone do Gibberish Opera at the start, then divided the nine of us into teams and had us doing various games.

1. Gibberish Opera: he had us doing Cinderella, which went a lot better than on Thursday because there’s certainly enough parts for everyone to come up with something to do. I played a mouse (that also gets turned into a horse), and I got to bite people during the climactic shoe scene. That was fun. Also fun: the narrator saying that Cinderella lost all her clothes--at which point everyone started laughing their heads off in the audience. The dude was all, “let me finish, she lost all her clothes WORTH LOOKING AT.” Mom later reported that she had no idea what was going on in this one, and she didn’t end up recording like half of it. I don’t know what she was doing for like the first 5-10 minutes, but I desperately wanted to get her attention and couldn’t.

2. Four Headed Pop Star--I got assigned to this one, which was my least favorite of the bunch (and we’d hardly practiced it), but ah well. The guy in the audience who was called out was some kind of consultant and likes comedy shows and tacos, so we didn’t have much to work with. (And one of my classmates called that out.) It’s...very hard to do any consistent like, sentence in that game, so it was weird. We got through it, but it wasn’t my favorite. I kept singing about how consulting was boring, the aforementioned classmate would just sing the guy’s name a lot....ah well.

3. Sing It: This one ended up with a scene at Target and arguing about ten items or less (what the fuck). The showstopping song number was, “I have to have some kind of oral fixation.”

4. My Musical: subject matter included (a) turning grapes into garbanzo beans, (b) extraordinary hair, (c) computer virus infecting the system-- “so who likes anthropomorphic viruses?” And my favorite, “I joined a band because I was going to get all these chicks with my xylophone.”

5. That’s Not A Musical!- I got assigned to this one, which ended up being Jurassic Park: The Musical. I played a dinosaur. It was delightful. I probably didn’t live up to Eric acting out a pterodactyl (which is probably the funniest thing I’ve ever seen at the Comedy Spot, and really, who could live up to that?), but I did my best as a crazy T-rex.

It did occur to me afterwards that I hadn’t really done much in the way of making songs up. According to my mom (I don’t think this was her thing), she said not too many people did.

Ah well, I had fun at least.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com