Chaos Attraction

Four Days of Blah

2023-02-08, 8:50 p.m.

I seriously have fucking nothing to talk about, so days are being combined in this dull month.


Sunday: Heard from Melinda today. Things are not going well with her (ex?)-boyfriend coming to stay with her. Things were improving, and then he found out she lied about something very early on in their relationship* and is now claiming he's going to leave at the end of the week, BUT he said he'll meet her (terrible) parents first, which makes me go "um, why would you meet the parents if you're going to leave her?) and...who the hell knows. My best assessment of the thing is that he's flipping out at the idea of leaving his country/family for her (she can't do it the other way around) and is looking for excuses to get out. I feel very badly for her. Anyway, he came back to the house so we'll have to pick up on this later.

I'll put it this way: it was a jealousy issue with an ex-guy-friend of hers making a move on her while married. As far as Melinda was concerned, that issue was over and done with and she wasn't into the person in question, it was clear boyfriend would lose it on this topic anyway whether or not she was honest about it, and sure nuff, he did, now he can just throw in "YOU LIED!" on top of it.

She said that she thinks people come into your life for a reason, it may just not be the reason you think. She said that probably applied to Scott (probably to prove that I could love again), but I don't think so any more.

Other than that, I FINALLY finished my book review and updated the reader's guide for Be The Serpent, and I hung out with Rae at the craft fair for a few hours, and I briefly went to the library but nothing was of interest there. I'm now watching Lockwood and Co.


Monday: Well, at least today was quiet at work other than a few meetings, during which I mostly kept my mouth shut as best I could. The most excitement I had all day was going out to buy stamps since the ones I ordered last week haven't shipped, intending to buy 20 (I ordered some last week and they still haven't put the order through yet, and I got old school bills to pay), and ending up buying 40. And then they shipped me the other ones tonight. Well, I guess I don't have to buy more stamps for awhile and can mail out Valentines or something. Also got groceries. And knit a good chunk. And I tried making breakfast pasta, which boiled down to "buttery pasta," more or less. Not that exciting, I'm afraid. Shame, really, it's the kind of dumbass recipe I'm into.

Watched The Way Home, the rest of Lockwood and Co, then discovered that Hugo and Morgan have done backstage vlogs and of course I had to watch those.

As I said to Ashley earlier, life is boring without a show to do.


Tuesday: So as to have something to write about in this here thing, plus "go see things before it rains again," I am going to theater shows on Thursday night, Friday night, and Sunday afternoon now, while it's dry. Combining that with the audition for Saturday night, that's a lot of driving for four days, bleah, but oh well. Dry driving, at least. I have plotted out the next project to start knitting on, as I need something else to go round and round with in the dark after I finish the last skirt layer, which is probably 1-2 more shows left to finished.

Work was dull and yet pissing me off for petty reasons, as usual, I don't care about talking about it. I will note the following:

(a) "Hey, I know I asked for X yesterday, has it happened yet, because I need to freeze that." Me: "Well, I haven't heard from the Gods yet, so sure, go ahead, you might want to tell them not to sign off on it." Her: "Uh, we're letting this person get X but they aren't totally done with everything yet, is that ok?" Me, thinking "oh shit, please don't ask me this:" "Um.... I dunno, that's kinda up to you...."

(b) I found out today that yet another package of Important Documents, which I had shipped to another office (note: not to Giant Org, to someone's home to avoid the UPS strike), GUESS WHAT, HAVE BEEN LITERALLY BOUNCING BACK AND FORTH BETWEEN THE TWO COASTS FOR TWO FUCKING MONTHS NOW. Like I'm surprised that office hasn't contacted me to complain about it, but it finally got returned here and Vicky was all "what am I supposed to do with this?" and I was all "what the heck IS this?!"

I looked at the tracking number and FOR FUCKITY FUCK'S SAKE: December: package leaves from East Coast. Arrives on West Coast mid-December, "a work stoppage at the receiver's location has prevented delivery. The package will be returned to the sender." Followed by "uncontrollable events have delayed delivery." Then it's shipped randomly within CA, then someone updates the delivery address, then it's shipped back to East Coast. Printer corrects the address.

Then "this package has experienced a sortation delay" twice, then it goes back to the West Coast, then is shipped back once again to East Coast at the end of December. "Sortation delay" again, shipped back to CA by 1/0, then shipped back to East Coast again, sortation delay again...three more times.... then "the package was refused and will be returned to the sender" at the printer's,

UPS IS THE DEVIL.

Singing lesson got moved to today (Morgan forgot she was going to Hugo's show a second time, apparently), which works out better because that way I can square away the audition cut thing earlier. It's fine to not exactly be 16 bars or 30 seconds, so we added on a line to "Adelaide's Lament" ("In other words, just by waiting around for that plain little band of gold," delivered in a more Snow White-y tone before getting more cranky) and otherwise am going with what I rehearsed for "Lost in the Brass." She said after the auditions are done, what do I want to do next, and I said whatever, other than finishing "Lost in the Brass," which um...I may not be able to do the ending so much, sigh. She suggested a patter song and we settled on "Watch What Happens" from Newsies (the other option being "Model Behavior" from Woman On The Verge Of A Nervous Breakdown," but hoooooo boy that's a lot). So, perhaps later.

I keep dreaming about this audition. I know I gotta lower my expectations and really, just the dream (har) is to get to audition for it at all. I may have lessons where I think I'm doing pretty well and then, well, I'm probably not expert enough to have a named part in anything more than that. I need to remember that. (And then remember that presumably Tony n' Tina awaits after that.)

Tonight I watched Wakanda Forever while finishing up the back half of the tank top for my costume.


Wednesday: Work: spent a lot of time on mail drama. But at least it was quiet and I wasn't screaming at home, so there's that. Stuff got resolved, anyway. I actually had very little rage today, which is marvelous. I saved the busywork for in-office day tomorrow and mostly just hung out on the chat channel and doing emails and otherwise chilling. ID's got ordered, the important stuff got done. As for yesterday's mystery, the ID's that showed up after two months (and I counted, SIX CROSS COUNTRY TRIPS) were apparently some random duplicate order the printer did that I did not put in for, and they ordered them after the originals got there. Told that department and they said they'd check on the originals and destroy them if necessary.

I did finish the tank top for the costume today, now the second piece is blocking. I cast on another pretty mindless project to work on in the dark at the theater this weekend, and then was all, "I guess I should go back to working on this vest with the fiddly hem..." except now I don't remember what I was doing on it? Aiee. Maybe I'm still too brain dead to figure out anything complicated, but also I can't remember what the hell I was doing now.

Went to tap class tonight. Did a lot of flaps and working on choreography for a possible dance number. Not too bad.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com