Chaos Attraction

Much Ado Auditions

2023-05-25, 6:37 p.m.

Work: I was in a rage most of the day. I was the only one there and had to deal with Emergencies that I am not equipped to handle. I probably got myself in trouble AGAIN for asking NewBoss for help because I've fucked up so many times I can't be trusted. I felt angry and fucking stupid and hating my life and my job and everything all day long. I really want a drink or to test those gummies or something, I'm so upset and raging.
(note: took 1/2 an anxiety gummy when I got home, I am calmer now, but let's see.)

Off-topic and on the good news side: I suggested doing a prayer to St. Francis for a lost cat and the lost cat finally turned up a few days later! Darned if that doesn't work if the cat's alive, anyway.

Tuesday audition news: Robert finally reported back on how Much Ado went on Tuesday--it was just him, Cameron, his bestie Jessica and one other guy from last year's Midsummer AND THAT WAS IT. Seriously?!?! Good god. Well, one hopes everyone else comes tonight, I suppose.


Post-audition: Oh, even worse! Literally it was only me, Jessica (returning) and (Redhead) Sarah! The latter was quite surprising, she said she can do it/get sitters during the summer, essentially. Rodney did a good job of holding auditions, having lots of readings and lots of opportunities to read Beatrice and others, different sections, etc, so it felt quite fair. He said we can all read Shakespeare well, so yay there. Sarah and I were both "yeah, we'd want Beatrice, but obviously Jessica is going to get it since she did it before." I note that Jessica also has a strong resemblance to Amy Acker and is some kind of lit professor at the ol' alma mater. She was very nice and fun, though, I'm good with friending her on short acquaintance :P

I asked him: if you don't get enough people to do the show, will this go on? (I did let him know about Spamalot but said this was more my thing. Jessica was all "Do this one!") He said yes, he'll get people to turn up somewhere. I asked if it was going to be a ladies-only show and he said no, he wants at least four parts to be played by men (the main ones you'd figure). I am frankly not sure how he's going to get those people, but he didn't seem hugely bothered.

Re: other men: Jessica volunteered her teen son to be a member of the Watch. Rodney wants to talk Gail into being in the Watch. Dominic (who apparently read Tuesday for Claudio) said the 7-10 rehearsals would be a problem--apparently his grandpa gave him a ride and sat there the whole time. Jessica offered him a ride so he could do it and Rodney said he is more of a 7-9 guy and he doesn't think we stink enough that it would have to run that long all the time. Rodney noted that having a teenage Claudio might be weird/awkward since all the ladies who auditioned were older. He doesn't care about our ages, but the kid is 16 and there is a kiss, so...yeah, I dunno there.

Anyway, it was fun, we all shot the shit, Sarah didn't know the plot of Much Ado so everyone explained it to her. Both Sarah and I were all "we know we're not leading lady material" and Rodney was all no, don't talk like that to me ("Hey, you're my leading lady," he said, Dominic-style, awwww), and it was very sweet and helped after my day.

We'll see how this goes, I guess. He said he'd let people know Saturday.

On the way home, I had the bright idea: MAYBE I CAN DO THIS ONE AND SOMETHING ROTTEN AT THE SAME TIME. I had figured that was a no because there's a month-ish overlap, but rehearsals for Much Ado will only be Monday/Wednesday/Thursday and I could go to DMTC on Sunday/Tuesday until tech week, and if I'm only doing ensemble....HMMMM. Auditions for that are end of June. They'd probably let me since I'm just ensemble. HMMMMMMMM.

On notice of "other people getting into shows:" Morgan got into Assassins as Squeaky Fromme, Eddie, Omar, and my coworker Erik and a few other people got into SpongeBob at Woodland. Alas, my friend Rachel did not, and she was really hyped up for it too.



previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com