Chaos Attraction

Love Karaoke, Hate Work

2021-06-14, 6:19 a.m.

I went back to Benadryl-ing last night and the foot deflated again this morning. This is reminding me a bit (inappropriately, I'm sure) of people who are all "I'm better now that I'm on meds, does that mean I'm better enough to go off the meds, or does that mean I have to stay on them for life?" Except it's freaking antihistamines.

I got probably 200+ emails by the end of today--at least 190 over the weekend and almost entirely all address issues and then more piled on throughout the day. I finished the pile at 4:35 today. I only have 43 more emails to send, at least. But allllllllll day was mail, mail, mail. Hope was all "I guess the emails worked" and I just...said nothing. Sigh. I really want to brag about all my hard work--OR AT LEAST BLOODY SAY THAT THE COMM DIDNT' WORK--but I can't afford to get myself in trouble for this and being at all honest will do that to me. Sigh.

My biggest fun of the day was getting a survey for the crappy "burnout" class I signed up to watch last week and being anonymously able to say that it honestly sucked. It said the same shit every other seminar said, nothing new, and they ran out of things to say after a half hour. What was the point of this? The best part about it was leaving so I could do something else with the extra half hour. I do enjoy it on the rare occasions when they can't track me about a thing because there's no mandatory identifying info and too many people went to it. Oh yeah, and if someone brings up a gratitude journal to me one more time I'm gonna chuck it at the monitor.

I almost had to answer the phones today, surprise! Except mine and Hope's weren't working at all, and Dianna's almost didn't and my boss's didn't, and oh, never mind, no crisis after all :P Then there was a surprise "Hey, can everyone hop on phones" after lunch, which I did not see since nobody yelled at me personally to do it over Slack, so OH WELL TOO BAD. We get to drill on phones Friday. Can someone shoot me before Friday?

After work, karaoke! Some of Ashley's friends came back tonight, including Rae, who loves me, and we did some dancing. I sang "Makes Me Wonder" by Maroon 5 and then realized about halfway through there was a kid around, and then continued to sing the F-bomb anyway. Ashley was feeling poorly last week--her pacemaker had issues, she was calling all the doctors--but is feeling better now. Frank got to sit next to me, but after awhile I was dancing around and whatnot. I checked on Patty--she said she's been staying in Vacaville taking care of her 93-year-old mother. I also found out that Cathy also lost her house in the fires. Oy, that's three of them now.

Karaoke makes me want to live. My job makes me wish for death. Why can't life be more karaoke and less customer service making me wish for death? I started pondering whether or not to job hunt again, and then remembered "oh yeah, can't find jobs that don't ask me to do budget/payroll/front counter/phone answering" and "I don't want to move to some shitty location for a job" and ALL THAT SHIT MAKING ME FEEL EVEN WORSE THAN I ALREADY DO at the end of the day....

Shrek rehearsal: Jan had specifically said that the guards had to practice the one quick change in the show, but I was literally the only one who bothered to put on the costume (or read that at all, apparently) so uh...never mind, I guess.

"I am old, I am crazy..." Jan "We're all crazy, Jan." -Arthur "Me and Jennifer, we know we're not crazy." -Jan I'm watching Fiona dance to "I know it's today" and she's like, literally spanking her own arse while dancing. Class-ay! Too bad she has to be standing up to pretend to be asleep.

In other news, since the state is opening up tomorrow, the complex pool is opening again, finally. And Jamie is vaccinated and want to come over? And Kelly's farting play made it into Femme Fatale this year!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com