Chaos Attraction

Nobody Knows Anything, Again

2021-06-17, 6:26 a.m.

I can once again summarize today's staff meeting as "nobody knows what's going on about anything." "Any questions?" I thought, "why ask questions, you don't know either." The search for BigBoss is of course now on hold indefinitely while they do a search for BigBigBoss, but it doesn't matter because they literally hated every candidate who applied and threw them out. AGAIN. JUST LIKE LAST TIME. The hell? How can these people be turning up their noses and being so effing picky?

Seriously, crap like this is why I hate leaders and leadership in general. What is the point of getting some Big Prestigious Person and paying them enormous amounts of money when they don't seem to do much of anything besides go to meetings? If offices can function for over a year without someone in the position, do we really need them? Why am I supposed to worship at the feet of the Leaders?

Quotes from Interim BigBoss: "You're probably stuck with me awhile longer. I don't know if that's good or bad." "I think this is my meeting, so I should be able to share my screen." (One would hope by now.)

What was entertaining: Interim BigBoss's dogs going off barking incessantly and setting off Dianna's dog to do same, and Teresa's cat waving tail in front of the camera for several minutes. He said the dogs go crazy in the morning and at night every day. Whee.

Also, one of my coworkers (not in my group) started messaging me to change my camera so he can see my entire face. No. Not gonna. I don't want to be seen or heard around here if I can at all help it.* I ignored his requests. He's not my boss, I don't have to, nyah.

Note: between the lack of space on the table, short chair, etc. my camera frequently cuts off the bottom of my face unless I shove myself up high/sit on my feet/something. I do not give a shit about this. Deal with it, dude. It's not like we're buddies here. Also, I'd rather NOT be seen or heard here, and I'd rather my mouth not show in case I do something with it that pisses people off.
There was vague discussion of what to do regarding the office. Remodeling is off the table because no money, and InterimBigBoss doesn't want to give up any space. That's about all I got out of it.

Other than that: still being asked shit I have no idea about. No, I don't know how to fix the computer system that doesn't work. No, I haven't the faintest idea how to do literally any of this crap you are asking me. AAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

Ways I Have Managed To Not Get Written Up For The Last Several Months:
(a) Write all public emails like a robot. "Dear Name. This has been processed. Thank you." Over and over and over.

(b) If I'm responding to something with a longer answer that came into the public email box, switch it to my personal email so nobody can see what I wrote and then complain about it.

(c) Apologize for literally everything, constantly.

(d) Don't tackle things I'm not good at or have no clue about. Seriously, I see it in the public box, I have no idea, I LEAVE IT THERE. Nobody's penalizing me for not getting to things because the workloads are so bad, but I do get in trouble if I tackle something hard and get it wrong. Eventually my coworkers who don't get in trouble will get to it and figure it out and I will not get busted for doing something wrong.

I feel slightly bad about ignoring the "please help me now!!!!" emails about completely weird shit I don't understand, but again, not getting to them is NOT what I get penalized for around here. You don't get a better review* for helping more people, after all. Also, I'm complete crap here so what does it matter about trying to be good at it any more. This job gets no extra from me.

* What do you get a better review for? DON'T ASK ME, I wouldn't know. The only times I've gotten any kudos or extra in reviews, they've also made it clear about all of my deficits, so my review averages out to "Meets Expectations" at best, or my now-usual COMPLETE FAILURE at the bottom.

After work I went over to Jamie's--first time in over a year for that one. It was just like normal. Had pizza and fruit and eclairs, petted the cat, played with yarn, and watched Lucifer. This is a show my therapist recommended I watch years ago (I cannot recall why) and it is total lulz. We laughed our heads off at the whole thing. Sure, let's do this again soon!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com