Chaos Attraction

Avenue Q

2023-05-19, 4:12 p.m.

Work: watched sheep with Rachel at lunch and talked about next shows, which was fun. She mentioned seeing her theater crush (uh-oh) at a party this weekend. I asked how she felt about having one while happily married. "Kinda sucks." I said I'm going to see the guy who rejected me tonight, so...whee.

Found out that the giant lists of international crap are due, oh, today, and then it turned out all my teammates were allowed to take the day off or go home early today. Grrrrrrrrr. I finished one, but OH WAIT, THERE'S A SECOND ONE and my teammate only did seven of them. Ughhh.

Did another interview panel today. Dude was pretty laid back and chill but at least did somewhat better on answering, albeit he's like 20 and trying to relate answers to his schoolwork, and he got interrupted by someone in the house, so he hit pause, said a bit, then came back on and said sorry. I note I was on the interview panel with the hiring manager and the former hiring manager, so when we finished I was all well, this one did better than other ones, and the former one was all REALLY? and I was all, hey, at least he had answers, more or less. He was deemed pretty chill/possibly too chill, could be trained, I suppose, but they already hired 5 candidates and this one would come in maybe as best, so...never mind. I note the former hiring manager was all, "Does he know he applied for this job? He did not seem prepared."

Oh, and I might have eaten mold because I was putting potato chips into my sandwich and while doing that, discovered it. Um...so far so good? Didn't get sick, anyway.

On the bad news/good news side, Brian is sick and unable to come tonight, Robert asked me if William wanted it, he did. So, huzzah there!

I listened to a video on What is ‘Delicate Dumping? and yes, that's what I'm doing...


After work: Janene and Robert picked me up, followed by Cameron, and we slogged through like 1.5 hours of traffic to get to Rancho Cordova. Robert did entertain by finding weird things on the Internet and told us about his current show, which sounds interesting, if old school (written for the bicentennial). Upon actually arriving at the location, we ate at the nearest restaurant, Straw Hut, which was good and also had entertaining decor, then we got there early enough to snag six seats toward the back and on the left. William got there by about 7:45 (good for him) and told me stories about nudists at his job (pool cleaning). More than one, apparently. Denise barely made it in time and at least I didn't get too much crap on seat saving.

I note the director was going around in a blank sports bra and what I can only describe as "sexy overalls." I did not know it was possible to have THAT TIGHT FITTING OF OVERALLS.

This is much more "audience participation"-y than I was expecting. Small venue, hard to see some stuff from the back, alas, but they had actors coming in the side door and parading through the aisleways pretty frequently. And the lights being brought up on the audience. So yeah, suffice it to say that even though I managed to successfully not cackle laugh during the show--it helped that well, I know the jokes ahead of time and wasn't like, 100% shocked like a newbie--I was probably reasonably spotted by certain people. I presume Scott did at one point, Hugo definitely went by.

Anyway, clearly everyone was having a good time and was good at their roles. I admit people doing the cartoon voices were rather unrecognizable vocally in some respects, particularly Scott. I never tried too hard to brainstorm who he might be in Avenue Q before this (as when I brought up the show to him, repeatedly, he seemed uninterested, so why bother), but I'm so used to his usual voice and voices that him being in that level of high pitch the entire time was different.

Hugo was obviously having a very good time as Brian, at one point pitching underwear into the audience. Morgan is very good at cabaret, obviously, doing two cabaret singers in a row, hah hah. I admired the nipples almost pointing out, and I heard from both her and Scott afterwards that he told her when his dad was going to be there and where and to point the boobies in his direction, and she did, and apparently his dad was tempted to motorboat 'em. He could have gone for it....

I note Cameron said she thought the laugh was awesome--she got my letter on Friday. But I wanted to hold it back...not have people know I was there from it, especially Scott. Which I managed to do since I knew all the laughs already. I kept it quiet, bent over, had my mouth over.

I also note that this had the most dirty, explicit, varied puppet sex I've ever seen, even if it was somewhat hard to see at my angle. He's going down on her, she's going down on him, 69'ing, all the variations and not just humping on top like I've seen in other shows. So good job there. They made it work well in a small space, for sure. Seemed like a lot more people when up there. Honestly, it's just such a good show. The angst of it all plus the humor. "There's A Fine, Fine Line" has always been a song of mine, it is my life (and even more uh, more so with Scott there). I felt bad when Rod and Nicky have the fight and then make up. I teared up a bit a few times too.

Erik who auditioned was also there in front with his SO, I briefly talked to him afterwards about feeling weird about being here.

Anyway...this was a show where I probably couldn't have snuck out very well alone, as the actors come out for picture taking and the like afterwards. So I did greet the people I know. Tried to hang back with regards to Scott, but he wanted a few hugs...and good ones..and at one point he touched my arm when he didn't need to...sigh, I know, I know. Anyway, they were all having a good time, got to hear about various puppet things, told people our favorite bits, etc. A group selfie with Scott was taken.

I miss Scott. Well, duh. He seems to thin nothing is wrong, as usual. Was acting...like usual, again. Affectionate....Yeah, I don't think he's noticed anything was wrong. He was back to hugging me in *that* way again and touching my arm...I know, it means nothing, but that's the sort of thing he did before. Makes me slightly wonder.

Is there any point in saying anything? Will it ever come up?

I'm taking a pot gummy at 12:12 a.m., 1/4 this time. LET'S SEE IF THIS DOES ANYTHING.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com